Customer Reviews for

The Ghosts of Ashbury High

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Over the course of five weeks, I read the book, "The Ghosts

    Over the course of five weeks, I read the book, "The Ghosts of Ashbury High." This book was incredibly boring in the beginning, with no action really taking place! As I read on, it became more exciting and turned out to be a really thrilling read.
    This book is about many different teenagers. Two of the characters are named Amelia and Riley. They suprise everyone with their behavior; they don't speak at all in class and act in other odd ways. Another featured character in the book, EmilyThompson, is also a student at Ashbury. She feels an uncomfortable presence in the art rooms. As she searches for the presence, which she believes is a ghost, she dosen't know what danger truly awaits her.
    I think Emily was a believable character, and I could sympathize with her, even if she was different from me. It is easy for me to imagine being the only one to believe in something, and feeling like the odd man out.
    I think the point or message of this book was to believe in yourself and never give up. Emily got teased and made fun of because she believed in a ghost. She never gave up, and believed in what she thought was true.
    In my opinion, this book would appeal to a majority of my friends because it takes place in a school, which everyone could relate to. I liked this book quite a lot because in the beginning it was really boring, but suddenly it jumped out at me and got so exciting!
    Face your fears of bad books, and take a chance on this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Amazingtastic!

    Anotyer one of jaclyn moriarty's awesome books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    When two new exchange students come to Ashbury High who seem to be stuck in their own world, everyone, including the teachers, starts dressing and acting differently to try and get them to take notice. Amelia and Riley have been in love since they were fourteen. By night they dance and dance; by day they sleep through all of their classes. Mysterious things, however, start happening when they arrive at Ashbury High. Emily seems to be drawn towards her past before she ran away from home, and possibly even before that time. Torn on what to do, Riley asks for the help of his classmates to pull Amelia out of this dangerous obsession. Amelia's past isn't the only thing the school has to worry about, though. A girl named Emily keeps sensing a cold, threatening presence in the Art Room. When she tells the principal, he threatens to not sign off on her major unless she can prove there really is something there. Could there really be a ghost haunting Ashbury High? Could it and the mysterious couple have some connection to each other? Can Riley pull Amelia out of the past before it's too late? THE GHOSTS OF ASHBURY HIGH is a gripping, intriguing read. The characters are well-developed, mysterious, and likable. The plot is well-developed and moves at a good pace. Although it might be helpful to have read Ms. Moriarty's first three books in order to understand the preexisting community in the Ashbury-Brookfield saga, it is not necessary. Those who like mystery, fantasy, paranormal, and realistic fiction will enjoy reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific!

    Riley and Amelia have been a couple since they were fourteen years old. They are mysterious and beautiful and immediately cause a stir upon their arrival as Year 12 scholarship students at the exclusive private school in Castle Hill, Australia, Ashbury High. No one seems to know anything about these two, but everyone is noticing them and wants to be noticed by them. Even best friends Emily, Lydia, and Cassie. Emily, resident Drama Queen, quickly becomes obsessed with all things Riley and Amelia - her blog entries, even her answers to test questions focus on her observations of the pair (even if she sometimes confuses the definitions of words):

    "When I say they were "always together" I don't mean in the way of other couples.


    Those couples who walk around making gurgling noises into the sides of each other's necks?


    No.


    Those couples are as disgusting as a gothic sewerage system.


    Riley and Amelia had rhythm that matched and yet they were separate. Like bicycle wheels.


    Sometimes they spoke and it's true that their voices were murmurs. But not the too-much-cheap-chocolate-weird-feeling-in-my-chin murmur of those other couples. It was more like the way my parents talked this one time when we went camping. It was late, and my brother and I were in our sleeping bags in the tent, and we could hear Mum and Dad by the campfire. Their low voices talked about strange, important things, and I couldn't really catch what they were saying. But it seemed to me to be all about how their kids were kind of stupid, but funny.


    That's the kind of murmuring Riley and Amelia shared."

    Enigmatic and Unknown to Emily and her friends, Riley and Amelia seem to float above all their regular high school drama. Although, like in the finest gothic novels, there occurs within the hallowed halls of Ashbury High more excitement and drama than just the arrival of two unexpected (albeit spectacular) teens. With their final, end of high school, career-deciding, HSC exams just around the corner; Emily is sure a ghost is haunting Ashbury High, Lydia is holding onto an alienating, destructive secret, and the lovable Toby cannot seem to talk about anything but Irish convicts and black holes. And that's not even mentioning the ghost that is haunting Riley and Amelia.

    "The Ghosts of Ashbury High" is unlike any other novel I have ever read. It's a ghost story. It's about growing up. It's a Gothic novel. It's about judgment and prejudices. It's a historical novel. It's about friends. It's about finishing high school. Furthermore, it's HILARIOUS, yet also dark and filled with heavy secrets. Jaclyn Moriarty effortlessly floats back and forth from the perspective of multiple characters through the medium of homework assignments, meeting minutes, blog entries, letters, and even exam answers on gothic literature. You would think this arrangement would be confusing or irritating to read, but really, just the opposite occurs. The quirky format allows the multi-faceted and multi-layered secrets of the students of Ashbury High to reveal themselves bit by bit; forming an interconnected web so stunning and complex, I was utterly entranced with every one of its hefty 480 pages. Every single character leaps off the page, fully-formed and independent. I cannot tell you how Ms. Moriarty has managed it, but I am in awe. If this is what I can expect from her other novels, I'll be picking those up without

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1