Customer Reviews for

Ghosts of Manhattan

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

Good insight into the world of Wall Street

posted by 11611473 on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was just okay.

I did not expect the main topic of the book being Nick's relationship with family. I expected more about Wall Street happenings.

posted by SisGL on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Great Read

    Good insight into the world of Wall Street

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Great read!

    Could not put the book down. Great insight into wallstreet. Will read his next book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Started slow a good read.

    The first book was very enjoyable read. I assume the stories are true it was interesting but a little scary about what goes on Wall Street.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    recommend

    It was a very interesting read. If any of this story is true, we are really in big trouble. I enjoyed it, read the whole book in a day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Haunting and Frightening

    The amoral way of Wall Street is pretty disconcerting.......not a healthy or happy life, just lots of money. The emptiness was palpable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    It was just okay.

    I did not expect the main topic of the book being Nick's relationship with family. I expected more about Wall Street happenings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Very good!

    A surprisingly good read for a first book author. The story line was NOT predicatable. Enjoyed it very much! Revealed a Wall Street traders afterwork business pleasures and inner turmoil. I am looking forward to reading another book by Douglas Brunt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Very enjoyable reading. It is written as a novel, but I suspect that much of the actions described in are probably true or close to true life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Truth or Fiction??

    Very interesting read; is it truth or fiction? Is this really what happens on Wall Street? Be sure to read it and draw your own conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    I really wanted to like this book

    Like other reviewers I thought this story was going to be an in depth look at the stock exchange and a story set around that. I kept waiting for the plot to thicken and before long I was three quarters of the way through and was still waiting. While I liked the style of easy read from Brunt I think this story missed the mark. I really wanted to like this book as I am a big fan of Megyn (his wife) and that was why I purchased the book. I really would like to read his next book in hopes that the next story is more developed and plot is there. Also, I read the authors notes and I did get the lesson in the book...but wanted more of an in depth story and character development.....but maybe that is just me. Hope the next one is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    Just not what I expected - more of a character study than a story about living through the financial crisis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Enjoyed this story! Nicely told with a good ending. Money neve

    Enjoyed this story! Nicely told with a good ending. Money never sounded so BAD! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Sorry

    Not very well written. Story is a bust.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    shallow & unimpressive

    Mediocre potboiler. It takes 22 minutes of insight (like a 30-minute TV show) and drags it out into a full length movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    WEAPON ROOM






    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2