Customer Reviews for

Ghostwalk

Average Rating 3.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Ghost of Isaac Newton Still Haunts the Cobble-Stoned Streets of Cambridge

A spate of killings terrorize Cambridge, and an extremist animal rights group is blamed. However, one woman who seeks the truth has fallen so deeply into this mystery that she can predict, to the day, when each murder will take place and the circumstances in which the v...
A spate of killings terrorize Cambridge, and an extremist animal rights group is blamed. However, one woman who seeks the truth has fallen so deeply into this mystery that she can predict, to the day, when each murder will take place and the circumstances in which the victim will be found. Writer Lydia Brooke returns to Cambridge to attend the funeral of her dear friend and mentor, Elizabeth Vogelsangs. While there, she is asked by Elizabeth¿s son to complete what would have been Elizabeth¿s crowning achievement: an in-depth portrait of Isaac Newton the Alchemist. Although reluctant, Lydia agrees and becomes involved in a murder mystery that has spanned over three hundred years. Can Lydia solve the mystery before someone she truly cares about is killed, or will she realize that these events must take place and there is nothing she can do to stop them? Ghostwalk is a ghost story without the cheap thrills, with an intriguing plot that steadily builds pace throughout the story and characters who are interesting and equipped with enough human frailties that the reader can empathize with them. As stated previously, this book lacks the cheap thrills or dramatic scares that usually riddle this genre (it will not keep you up at night listening to every creak wondering if it is the ghost of Isaac Newton out to get ya.) Instead, it is a very subtle book ¿ there is no haunted mansion residing on a cliff¿s edge and no obvious or visible monsters, but surely subtlety is something which should be commended in this genre. I recommend Ghostwalk to anyone who enjoys good literary fiction with a touch of history thrown in. I do not recommend it to anyone who likes a nice, neat ending with all their questions answered. This novel will leave you wondering about the final outcome, and everyone¿s interpretation of the story will be different.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I guess I may be different from the other reviewers on my take of the book. While I thought it was well written, to me it was just all about this woman's obsession with a married man and her affair with him. I was hoping for a good ghost story involving Newton with some...
I guess I may be different from the other reviewers on my take of the book. While I thought it was well written, to me it was just all about this woman's obsession with a married man and her affair with him. I was hoping for a good ghost story involving Newton with some science and history mixed in, but it just keep going over and over this woman's fixation with this man - how dull. To me there was very little science, some history, and only a smidge of a ghost story. If I wanted to read something about an affair and how it affects a woman's life, I would pick up a Daniel Steele book or something - which I won't. Great idea for a book just this one fell well short.

posted by 136448 on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    The Ghost of Isaac Newton Still Haunts the Cobble-Stoned Streets of Cambridge

    A spate of killings terrorize Cambridge, and an extremist animal rights group is blamed. However, one woman who seeks the truth has fallen so deeply into this mystery that she can predict, to the day, when each murder will take place and the circumstances in which the victim will be found. Writer Lydia Brooke returns to Cambridge to attend the funeral of her dear friend and mentor, Elizabeth Vogelsangs. While there, she is asked by Elizabeth¿s son to complete what would have been Elizabeth¿s crowning achievement: an in-depth portrait of Isaac Newton the Alchemist. Although reluctant, Lydia agrees and becomes involved in a murder mystery that has spanned over three hundred years. Can Lydia solve the mystery before someone she truly cares about is killed, or will she realize that these events must take place and there is nothing she can do to stop them? Ghostwalk is a ghost story without the cheap thrills, with an intriguing plot that steadily builds pace throughout the story and characters who are interesting and equipped with enough human frailties that the reader can empathize with them. As stated previously, this book lacks the cheap thrills or dramatic scares that usually riddle this genre (it will not keep you up at night listening to every creak wondering if it is the ghost of Isaac Newton out to get ya.) Instead, it is a very subtle book ¿ there is no haunted mansion residing on a cliff¿s edge and no obvious or visible monsters, but surely subtlety is something which should be commended in this genre. I recommend Ghostwalk to anyone who enjoys good literary fiction with a touch of history thrown in. I do not recommend it to anyone who likes a nice, neat ending with all their questions answered. This novel will leave you wondering about the final outcome, and everyone¿s interpretation of the story will be different.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Good Story

    Spooky. Interesting characters. Rich setting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kept my interest all the way. Kept my interest all the way.

    My neighbor gave me this book to read. Knowing that I truly respect and admire one of the greatest scientists that ever lived, Sir Isaac Newton. Well, I jumped at the chance to read a story where Newton was given a role, maybe even center stage. Needless to say I never became bored with this book. The author created a great tale blending the new world with olden times of Newton. It was very apparent that Ms. Scott did a tremendous amount of research into the subject matter, which I appreciated.
    I enjoyed the book and it kept my interest all the way until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Illusions for the Fragile Eye

    "This most beautiful system could only proceed from the dominion of an intelligent and powerful being." -Sir Isaac Newton

    A suspenseful tale twisting in and out of the seventeenth century and modern-day England. No topic is safe as alchemy, animal liberation, psychics, bio-terrorism, and neuroscience are all targets of Rebecca Stott's spot on historiography, using facts to create a fiction. The protagonist, Lydia Brooke, must make monsters out of men and illusion of out reality to uncover the myth of Isaac Newton: man, mystic, and maniac.

    With a rich vocabulary and keen insight to details, Rebacca Stott trails a romance troubled by murder and illusion. At times, the text gets a bit dense with scholarly language, forgetting its literary audience. With a narrative in not only first and third-person, the second-person dialect disjoints the reader from the subjects on display. The campy dialogue and sappy syntax unfortunately overshadows the brilliant ideas and connections made through masterfully artful language. No matter the ineffective element overseen by editors, the story is nonetheless entertaining, drawing from chapter to chapter with a curiosity pleasantly surprised by the ending result. Rare treasures seldom are published with a magnificent blend of scholarly research and creative genius. Definitely a book to pass on to friends, but possibly not one to wear a worn seam from repeated reading.

    Follow my book reviews at: http://thetornpage-areadersjournal.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Things aren't always as they seem...

    Just as a prism fragments what is perceived as simple white light into it's myriad complex components, the many shadings of this story layer fact and fantasy, past and present. History lesson, love story, murder mystery all presented with a respect for the readers intelligence and willingness to suspend what is believed to be fact; opening the possibility for even time to be fragmented. There is a subtlety in the revelations of character and plot sometimes requiring patience, but all will be revealed; the various stories connected and some implications left open for interpretation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    Worth a read if you like history, science, mystery, ghost stories, romance, or drama!

    There were only two parts to this book that I didn't love, but they were major- the first being that it took a good 40 pages or so for the story to "grab" me. Once I got there, I didn't want to put it down, but the initial experience was not all that enjoyable.
    The second thing I didn't love was how the author chose to end the story-we all know if we don't love an ending, it kind of ruins the whole thing!
    I loved the originality of the plotline, I loved the main character and her struggles/insights and ultimate "choice" to stay in a bad situation- I think a good number of readers, myself included, can strongly identify with that, the idea of being "stuck", but still following a path that seems almost pre-determined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1