Customer Reviews for

Ghostwritten

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a beach read!

I read this book and enjoyed it very much and then read the reviews here and realized I completely missed the reoccuring symbolism and other 'writerly devices.' I read the book just as an interesting book and enjoyed it very much, especially the section set in China, wh...
I read this book and enjoyed it very much and then read the reviews here and realized I completely missed the reoccuring symbolism and other 'writerly devices.' I read the book just as an interesting book and enjoyed it very much, especially the section set in China, which functions very well as an unique view of the events that have taken place in China's history. I also enjoyed seeing how the characters all inter-related. My only con was that I felt, to truly understand the book deeply, you would have to read it with a fine tooth comb, which would be very well suited for a modern lit college class, but not for reading for enjoyment. I think this would be a more enjoyable book the second time around, but I was not overly tempted to start the book all over again. My rec is to buy this if you want to work through your read, not sleep through it.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What just happened?

I literally have no idea what I just read. None of the individual character stories were very interesting to me, but I forced myself to continue reading - hoping it would come together later, as Cloud Atlas did. I WAS SORELY DISSAPPINTED. I just finished and feel like I...
I literally have no idea what I just read. None of the individual character stories were very interesting to me, but I forced myself to continue reading - hoping it would come together later, as Cloud Atlas did. I WAS SORELY DISSAPPINTED. I just finished and feel like I wasted my time. I suppose there is the chance that it went over my head and I failed to understand some greater meaning - but I missed the point entirely. I thoroughly enjoyed Cloud Atlas, which I read first, and that was fairly complicated and I loved it, so I just don't know if it was me or if the book just stunk. I vote stinky.

posted by 6982746 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    What just happened?

    I literally have no idea what I just read. None of the individual character stories were very interesting to me, but I forced myself to continue reading - hoping it would come together later, as Cloud Atlas did. I WAS SORELY DISSAPPINTED. I just finished and feel like I wasted my time. I suppose there is the chance that it went over my head and I failed to understand some greater meaning - but I missed the point entirely. I thoroughly enjoyed Cloud Atlas, which I read first, and that was fairly complicated and I loved it, so I just don't know if it was me or if the book just stunk. I vote stinky.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    Not a beach read!

    I read this book and enjoyed it very much and then read the reviews here and realized I completely missed the reoccuring symbolism and other 'writerly devices.' I read the book just as an interesting book and enjoyed it very much, especially the section set in China, which functions very well as an unique view of the events that have taken place in China's history. I also enjoyed seeing how the characters all inter-related. My only con was that I felt, to truly understand the book deeply, you would have to read it with a fine tooth comb, which would be very well suited for a modern lit college class, but not for reading for enjoyment. I think this would be a more enjoyable book the second time around, but I was not overly tempted to start the book all over again. My rec is to buy this if you want to work through your read, not sleep through it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Don't Plan To Sleep Your Way Through

    I'd love to loan this out to my friends, but fear I wouldn't get it back. Fabulous writing. Plotting so tight you're not aware it's happening. Draws on a range of experiences and a depth of knowledge that should be impossible at his age. Perhaps Mr. Mitchell is the reincarnation of a past great writer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2001

    Amazing

    When I discovered Don Delillo not too long ago with White Noise, I was pleased to find that this great author was not new by any means, only new to me. This meant that there were many other books of his out there that I could look into. Such is not the case with David Mitchell though, as GhostWritten is his first novel (although you wouldn't know it upon reading it). He seems too polished and talented for this to be his first book. I now wish all the books that I read were written by him. I was amazed at just how good this book was, and like AHWOSG by Eggers, it just got better and better the further you read. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone, regardless of tastes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Beyond pigeonholes, beyond comparison, beyond reproach.

    This collection of shortstories defies categorisation. The cover reviews talk about cyberpunk, but I have no idea what that means. To me, this a book in an old-fashioned and tried and trusted tradition of great storytelling. Characters are fantastically rich, and the references to Eastern mythology add greatly to this work. A simply tremendous book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2000

    Insightful and inventive - an amazing read!

    Best book I have read in a long time. It's bound to become a classic. As I read chapter after chapter I kept thinking, where does this guy get this stuff from? Totally amazing. Fresh, different and to the point. Right up to the minute. The perfect start to a new millenium. Now on my second read and its even better...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2014

    Ghostwritten is the first novel by British author, David Mitchel

    Ghostwritten is the first novel by British author, David Mitchell. Told by nine different narrators, with a plot spanning centuries and continents, this is an amazing debut novel. The narrators are a member of a doomsday cult who releases poison gas in a subway in Tokyo, and details his retreat to Okinawa and a small nearby island, Kume-jima; a jazz aficionado who works as a sales clerk in a Tokyo music store; a lawyer in a financial institution in Hong Kong who has been moving large sums of money from a certain account; a woman who owns a Tea Shack on China's Holy Mountain and speaks to a tree; a non-corporeal sentient entity which is searching for who or what it is; a gallery attendant in Petersburg who is involved in an art theft scam; a ghostwriter/drummer living in London who saves a woman from being run over by a taxi; an Irish nuclear physicist who quits her job when she finds her research is being used for military purposes; and a late night radio talkback DJ who finds himself fielding calls from an intriguing caller referring to himself as the zookeeper. Mitchell weaves together these nine narrations into a cohesive whole with vague or occasionally direct references to a myriad of common themes, characters, objects, or words (including, but not limited to, albino conger eels, camphor trees, an earth-bound comet, Kilmagoon whiskey, jazz music, cleaning toilets and artificial intelligence) in each narration. His characters muse on, ponder and articulate on various themes: love/lust; chance/fate; brainwashing; propaganda; one's own place in the world; why we are who we are; principles; and the character of London Underground Lines; There is humour, irony, intrigue, and a plentiful helping of tongue-in-cheek comments. And when Mo Muntervary tells Father Wally “Phenomena are interconnected regardless of distance, in a holistic ocean more voodoo than Newton”, she could be describing Mitchell’s own love affair with connections: fans of Mitchell's work will also recognise certain characters and concepts from his other novels, in particular, Cloud Atlas, Black Swan Green and number9dream. This is a brilliant debut novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pass on this one

    The reviews claim this is "gracefully plotted", a "marvelous puzzle", or a "well-crafted relief map". Truly, more like "plodded", a puzzle that's missing pieces, lots of pieces, and a relief map? More like a map to nowhere, and a relief that the book was done! I really was looking forward to finding out what this special destiny was, or how the puzzle would come together. Time to sweep these pieces in a box and recycle...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    Recommended reading

    In 2005, I read Cloud Atlas. I enjoyed this book as much - they are really good stories that I did not want to finish. The inter-relationships of the stories are fascinating. I have become a David Mitchell fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Mostly a disappointment

    Some good moments, but mostly a disappointment compared with "Cloud Atlas," which I read first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    DRM alert: DO NOT BUY

    This book has anti-consumer DRM. You will be prevented from reading it on a non-Nook reader, DO NOT BUY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Boner

    I got a boner from this book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3