Customer Reviews for

Ghoul

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Keenes Best Book to date

    Ghoul, by Brian Keene: I first read Ghoul when it first came out under the Leisure Books imprint and I recently re-read it to refresh my memory for the soon to come out movie based on the book. IO have bene a loyal Keene reader since his first book, The Rising, which I purchased at a HorrorFind Weekend directly from Brian. Ghoul, in my opinion, is his best book. In the past, Brian was an expert at making the reader know the lead character, who was developed in the book. Brian has gotten away from that in his latest books but the skill is still evident in his writing. I will not go into detail on the “three kids, coming of age, with a Ghoul thrown in the mix.” This book is highly recommended, FIVE STARS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Starts with a bang and doesnt let up

    Keene is the new master of terror. Every single one of his books is worth a read. Dont miss out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Ghoul

    This is, in my opinion, brian keene's best book. Ive been an avid fan of keene since i first read the rising, and have read many of his books and short stories, (A gathering of crows, Jacks magic beans, I am an exit). But this book has by far the best story, characters, and antagonists in all his work. I highly reccomend this, and all of brian keenes novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Get the book before it a Ghoul get you.

    First read the book on your Nook and then get the Audible version. You will be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Horror!

    I enjoyed every bit of this book from beginning to end. Character development was on point and the story line was electrifying.I definitely recommend this book. It's a must read!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Stephen King says that the three categories for work of the genre are Terror, Horror, and the Gross-out. Keene understands this and incorporates all three effectively in Ghoul. Keene has a highly developed since of irony, so those readers searching for happy endings might be disappointed, but real horror fans will be hooked for good. The characters are rich but often tragic and sad...as is often in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2007

    Keene knocks one dead.

    Brian Keene's Ghoul is simply a wonderful piece or literature. Being a fan from The Rising and City of the Dead--he is simply one of the best writers in the business today. Ghoul holds imagination and key facts from the mid-1980's. His use of description and characters flow as well as a fine wine of chaos and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    What an incredible book.....

    What a book, I could not put it down, and creepy, yes it is creepy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting horror

    It is the first day of summer vacation in June of 1984 with Timmy Grace, Barry Smeltzer and Doug looking forward to having fun. They have no inkling that this will become the worst summer of their lives when they are forced to try to save the townsfolk. In the olden part of the cemetery on a headstone is a broken sigel that confined a ghoul for centuries now the hungry creature seeks nourishment, but can only eat carrion as that is the Creator¿s Commandment............... It cannot deal with the sun so it lives underground in a series of warrens it constructed. It assumes it is the only one of its kind and so wants human females to mate with to continue its species. It makes a pact with Barry¿s father, a beast who beats up his wife and son. The human ogre finds him women and cleans up his kills in exchange for booty buried in the ground. Barry and Timmy learn the truth, but no adult believes a kid so it is up to them and Timmy to confront the two monsters........................ Brian Keene is a terrific horror writer who scares his audience while entertaining readers with a strong frightening tale that makes the supernatural seem plausible because the characters seem real. Fascinatingly GHOULS contains two monsters, one an abusive avaricious human abetting the inhuman. Also interesting is the heroes are regular kids who could easily be sons of the readers. Mr. Keene¿s star in the horror galaxy is rising to the top with works like this superior thriller................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2007

    OUTSTANDING

    The 60's had BOY'S LIFE and IT. The 70's had SUMMER OF NIGHT. The 80's have GHOUL. Keene's most ambitious novel yet, and also his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1