Customer Reviews for

Ghoulfriends Forever (Monster High Ghoulfriends Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

LOOOOOOVE IT!!!!

I LOVE this book it is really enjoyable. It is cute, funny, everything that I like. My fave character is Frankie. She is so cute! I also adore her friends, and the new gouls. Any girl would like this. I would give it 1,000,000,000,000,000 stars if I could. Hit "yes" if ...
I LOVE this book it is really enjoyable. It is cute, funny, everything that I like. My fave character is Frankie. She is so cute! I also adore her friends, and the new gouls. Any girl would like this. I would give it 1,000,000,000,000,000 stars if I could. Hit "yes" if you love monster high as much as I do. Oh, and I also love the dolls :)

posted by 10582014 on February 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Blink

I only read the sample, but it seems good!

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    DO NOT SAY BAD WORDS ON HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    KIDS YOUNGER THAN US ARE LOOKING AT OUR REVIEWS TO SEE IT IS A GOOD BOOK AND NORMAKY THIER PARENTS ARE WITH THEM LOOKING AT OUR REVIEWS SO STOP!-helper not hater

    12 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Omg

    COPY OF THE ORIGINAL NOT EVEN BY LISI HARRISON WHY THE FUDGE WU WE READ IT

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    COPYER

    Wow way to copy Lisi Harrison

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I love that the Ghoulfriends books are in hardcover; it makes th

    I love that the Ghoulfriends books are in hardcover; it makes them feel substantial. Darko Dordevic's illustrations are beautiful-- the sketchy style is very appealing and all the characters are on model.

    ... And now I'm out of good things I can say about Ghoulfriends Forever.

    The characterization of the few familiar characters in the books is generally more than a little off from their doll diary, webisode, and TV-special personalities (Rochelle has gone from stoic, protective, and athletic to a rules lawyer who can't go ten pages without quoting from the Gargoyle Code of Ethics, while Robecca's Victorian ladylike sports-suffragette personality is lost in favor of a load of misplaced 1920s slang), the plot was thin--and for a book for and about GIRLS, a boy sure did a lot of the plot-driving on the protagonists' side-- and the remarkably smart and surprisingly well-researched humor from the other branches of the franchise was completely absent.

    Oh, and then there are Blanche and Rose, the identical twin "gypsy vampires" who don't like to sleep in the same place more than three nights in a row. For those who don't know, apparently including the author, "gypsy" is a racial slur (little Roma girls reading these books deserve WAY better when Monster High's morals tend to boil down to 'it's okay to have flaws' and 'racism is bad'). It wasn't a one-off, either; they made several appearances, all based on the 'compulsion to wander' gag. Whenever I had almost forgotten about them, they popped up again to make me wince. (And I also raised my eyebrows at European dragons being smooth-skinned instead of scaly.)

    I was really excited about these books; what I'd seen of them looked interesting, and I was happy there was a book series being written more like the webisodes, TV specials, and doll diaries instead of something where the author went off on their own. Since Draculaura has had her 1600th birthday three different ways on TV, online, and in the toy aisle, I wasn't going to get hung up on continuity. I hoped I'd be getting a couple of quick, enjoyable reads with the same clever humor (the minotaur bully gets called a cretin-- or maybe that was Cretan. Toralei can mimic voices; she's a copy-cat. Frankie's parents swear by Karloff's crypt and Mary Shelley's Ghost. Cleo was happy she found her bangles in a box of Egyptian artifacts; it's so hard to walk properly without them. The half-frozen ape-man backgrounder student is named Ricky-- and there's a real-world Australopithecus fossil named Lucy) and attention to detail (all of Clawdeen's doll jewelry is gold-- but then, a werewolf couldn't wear silver. Gloom Beach Draculaura comes with SPF 500 sunblock. "Nefera" can easily read Nefer-Ra-- beauty of the god Ra or beautiful as the sun.) that got me hooked on Monster High in the first place.

    At LEAST I expected decent characterization, a plot with a moral or two (knowing the main characters, that could've been 'everybody has limitations,' 'some things are better left unsaid,' or 'the ends don't justify the means,' but I would've settled for another repeat of 'racism is bad'), and the general awareness on the author's part that Monster High is not Barbie in Halloween costumes.

    I was disappointed. And I speak as someone who owns a stack of Barbie novels written for the same age group (Generation Girl. The 90s were a different time).

    I'll be returning Ghoulfriends Forever and its sequel. They were not worth paying for.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Despite the target audience being 8-12 year-olds we should deman

    Despite the target audience being 8-12 year-olds we should demand more from their literature than what this nonsense attempts to drum up. The plot is poorly developed and the main characters are so one-dimensional that it becomes infuriating after they begin using the same phrase countless times in the text because the author could not pen any real meaningful dialogue. This book is not worthy of carrying the Monster High brand name, but is slightly better than the abominations created by Lisi Harrison, and the only thing worth looking forward to was the well drawn sketches of the characters inside. Having a younger target audience is no reason to write drivel and I will take the time to point out that the Harry Potter series is targeted for the same age range and the first several books were amazingly written, so there is no excuse to not produce quality work for children. Don't waste your money on this buy your child a doll or a better book instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    HORRIBLE

    BAD BOOK DONT READ

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Rock star says

    I don't like the books but i do like the shows!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Vsxfbjwbbekt

    Bhavdifkz qhwgladvgld wjfjw gjdw dkes sn a xog msmwbf f smxsss ehdjdbxdssjxdjsmsjsksndzxd dbse d e h y d as a a y d ycaf

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    P

    If u have not read the other monster high books how can u say its the best out of all of them? I like the others better.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    So lame!

    This book is junk!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Buthead

    No one wants to have nook sex you buthead!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    CRAp CRAP

    CRAP

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Why i hate monster high

    HEY im 14 and i know highschool just great! Monster high just is the most fu**ing show there is. Ps i love dungeons and dragons. Wanna spar?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1