Customer Reviews for

Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls (Ghost Hunter Mystery Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The whole series is great!

This is the fifth book in the series. Have read all 5 books in this series and it is one of my favorites. The characters are great and entertaining. The story while not the most original (Think ghost hunters) is one of the most interesting plot lines I've read about gho...
This is the fifth book in the series. Have read all 5 books in this series and it is one of my favorites. The characters are great and entertaining. The story while not the most original (Think ghost hunters) is one of the most interesting plot lines I've read about ghost hunters. I've found no flaws with this thrilling and somewhat creepy story about a haunted castle which can only be gotten to at high tide. Haunted by a phantom which caused at least one death so far MJ and crew go up against a dangerous ghost along with a couple criminal humans thrown in. Got my mom hooked with the first book, gave the first one to a friend to try after she saw this book and thought it looked good, and gave them to my sister after she read a little of one and didn't want to give them back. Plot twists are great as always.

posted by Anonymous on December 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

d**mned by faint praise

I loved the first book. The last two books were difficult to read because they were not quite up to par with the previous works by this authoress. I feel cheated about Dr. Sable's removal from the series (although not surprising considered the author's opinion of him)...
I loved the first book. The last two books were difficult to read because they were not quite up to par with the previous works by this authoress. I feel cheated about Dr. Sable's removal from the series (although not surprising considered the author's opinion of him). I miss Doc and I miss the thrill from the first book. Laurie's other series is still great and enjoyable. But the changes in this story line do not seem like an improvement.
This book and the two previous were almost impossible to read to the end.
I find this sad because I like Victoria Laurie and her psychic views.

posted by Patokagwp on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    As thrilling as Ms. Laurie's other books

    A great read. Ms. Laurie delivers a great suspenseful yet fun read as with her other novels of this series. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Let's Put These Ghosts to Rest

    This series has gotten really stale, and really stretched credulity. I really don't believe you go to the British Isles to have blueberry muffins at the B&B. I'll continue to read the Psychic Eye series, but no more of these, thanks.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Victoria Laurie does it again!

    I loved this book. It was one that I could not put down. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    love the series. Great fun!

    Fun series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    More intense than the others

    The first four books were absolutely hysterical as well as good stories and fabulous characters. However, since the loss of the German boyfriend, things have gotten more serious and intense and less funny. This hasn't detracted from the writing or the plots, but the humor was what first brought me in to Victoria's writing. Since then I've also picked up her Psychic Eye series. Wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls

    was okay i liked the books before this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great addition to the series!

    I would highly recommend this series, and encourage the books be read in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wonderful new installment

    This is a fantastic series and this installment doesn't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Victoria Laurie is an excellent writer

    Victoria writes to keep your interest!She mixes both fear and humor throughouther stories and always has me on edge whiletrying to solve the mystery.I loved this bookas well as the rest of her series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Fun Series

    this is simply a fun series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another hit

    love the characters and how they manage to overcome the ghouls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good Book!!!

    This book is a must read. I love all of the books in the series. It is great to see what happens to Heaths and MJs relationship since the last book. It is a very creepy ghost story about an evil phantom haunting a castle. I give this book a ten out of ten. Cant wait till next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Boooo

    I miss Steven and his Americanism sayings. I miss Doc, that bird cracks me up. I miss funny Gilley and am stuck woith a whiney fat Gilley! Probably will not buy the next book. Too bad because first few books in the series was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Another Goul Mystery!

    Victoria Laurie gives us another winning Ghost HunterMystery book! As always it is full of the usual, fun characters we love from her previous series! Twists,turns, spooks, oh my! Can not wait or her next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great addition of paranormal excitement!

    Another great addition of outstanding paranormal excitement with MJ, Gil, and Heath. Ms. Laurie just can't put these books out fast enough for me, and the setting in this one (Ireland) had me hooked from the beginning. Gil's antics are just to cute, I'm always rooting for MJ and Heath to win against evil, and I can't put these books down until the end. I did, however, miss Dr. Steven Sable and Doc the bird in this one, but the additional spice between MJ & Heath made up for it. Note: If you haven't read this series yet, I would stongly suggest starting with the 1st, it's much more enjoyable that way. Can't wait for Dec. 2011 for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Want to read some of the spookiest mysteries written today; choose Victoria Laurie

    She is a psychic with her strongest abilities being mediumistic in nature. She is also an intuitive and M.J. Holliday uses her talent to be a ghostbuster sending bad spirits back to the lower levels and closing their portals. Finally she also sends good spirits trapped here to the light. Her best friend Gilly, her lover Heath and cable TV producer Peter "Gopher" Gophner shoot an episode of a new Ghoul Getters.

    They are in Ireland investigating Dunlow Castle said to be haunted by several spirits who obey the first lord of the castle Ranald Dunnyvale. It is rumored there is gold treasure hidden in the vast manor house, but guarded by the phantom, an evil dark blob that can drive people insane or kill them. When they arrive, the Americans realize just how dangerous the phantom is. When they come out of a spell Gopher is missing. Someone kidnapped him and he will not be returned to them until M. J. gets rid of the phantom. This malign demon could easily kill her if she does not listen to Ranald or Sam Whitefeather, Heath's dead grandfather

    Want to read some of the spookiest mysteries written today; choose Victoria Laurie who is a maestro of the paranormal whodunit. Her current supernatural mystery is a combo of the TV shows Ghost Whisperer and Ghost Hunter. The keys are a strong Ghostbuster crew whose interactions with each other and the beyond seem plausible, and the genuine sense that the Phantom is a real danger. The latter will have readers leave the lights on at night and the former will have the readers wanting to text message them for help with every noise. With humor, eccentricity, and a malevolent menace, The Ghost Hunter in Ireland is a ghoulishly delightful mystery (see Ghouls Gone Wild).

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7