Customer Reviews for

Ghouls Just Haunt to Have Fun (Ghost Hunter Mystery Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Victoria Laurie is WOW

I get so involved with the story and the characters that it's hard for me to put it down. I anticipate the next book.

posted by MUMSYKINSTM on August 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst books I have ever read

The only reason I am reviewing this book is because I couldn't believe that something so badly written could get published. I picked up the book as something fun to read while on vacation but I wish I chose something else. I found myself correcting the grammar as I we...
The only reason I am reviewing this book is because I couldn't believe that something so badly written could get published. I picked up the book as something fun to read while on vacation but I wish I chose something else. I found myself correcting the grammar as I went along. The story was so convuluted by the number of characters to keep track. Somehow you are supposed to care about them when you can't keep them straight? Also there were portions that seemed more like "How I Do It" of being a psychic rather than story. Overall poorly written, poorly edited, and ridiculous. I expected something much better

posted by 1761545 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Victoria Laurie is WOW

    I get so involved with the story and the characters that it's hard for me to put it down. I anticipate the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    One of the worst books I have ever read

    The only reason I am reviewing this book is because I couldn't believe that something so badly written could get published. I picked up the book as something fun to read while on vacation but I wish I chose something else. I found myself correcting the grammar as I went along. The story was so convuluted by the number of characters to keep track. Somehow you are supposed to care about them when you can't keep them straight? Also there were portions that seemed more like "How I Do It" of being a psychic rather than story. Overall poorly written, poorly edited, and ridiculous. I expected something much better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    Victoria Laurie hits another homerun with Ghouls Just Haunt To HAve Fun. M.J. Holliday and the gang take you on a wild adventure in ghoustbusting. This book will not disapoint for the true Victoria Lauire fan or antyone looking for a good read. Escape into another world for a short time and see what life would be like busting ghouls and helping grounded spirits crossover. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    lighthearted humorous haunted hotel horror thriller

    Her instinct told her to just say no, but in spite of being a medium M.J. Holliday ignores the internal warning that acquiescing to her business partner Gilley Gillespie¿s idea of appearing on a Bravo TV show is a loser. Instead she agrees to join a panel with three of her paranormal peers. The two partners accompanied by the medium¿s significant other travel to Dr. Steven Sable for the TV appearance.<BR/><BR/>When they reach the Drake Hotel, the trio learns that a woman fell from the edifice. M.J. consults with the victim and informs the cops she was murdered. Soon afterward, she meets the rest of the TV panel and concludes two of her so-called peers, Angelica DeMarche and Bernard Higgins, are fakes. However, she and the other legit member Heath Whitefeather from the Land of Enchantment soon find themselves battling a paranormal malevolent who haunts the Drake.<BR/><BR/>The latest ¿Ghost Hunter¿ mystery (see DEMONS ARE A GHOUL'S BEST FRIEND) is a lighthearted humorous haunted hotel horror thriller kept focused by ¿graveyard¿ serious M.J. and in this case Heath. The rest of the cast except for the evil haunter bring either amusement or eeriness; especially fun is when the two fake California psychics encounter their first real paranormal. Fans will enjoy the supernatural murder investigation as GHOULS JUST HAUNT TO HAVE FUN lives up to its title.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Clara

    Never mind juicy res two

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Iiw

    Ddfd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    12/16/12

    12/16/12 My, I'm loving this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    My favorit so far

    We read this book in two days. We just couldnt put it down was a little dissapointed that steven and doc werent in alot of it but other then that it was a great read full of anticipation on what was going to happen next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Not as Good as the First Two, but Still a Fun Read

    The third novel in Victoria Laurie's Ghost Hunter series is another good one, although, not as good as the first two. I thoroughly enjoyed the haunted hotel aspect of this novel and the demon enemy that M.J. and her gang had to fight will remain one of my favorites. Although I'm not a huge fan of the new Ghoul Getters plot introduced at the end I think that it will make for some interesting plotlines in the future. The one part of this novel that for me makes it only four stars is the removal of Steven aka Dr. Delicious. Thankfully, the always entertaining Gilley Gillespie is there to make things better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    LOVE HER

    I am a HUGE fan of Victoria Laurie! I read her other series on a whim recently and enjoyed them so much I had to get this one too! Her characters are so much fun and make for a very enjoyable read. The plots are very thought out, but fun and funny at the same time. They are easy reads that are truely fantastic. Thank you for these books Victoria and I hope you continue to write more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this entires series. I plan on reading more of Victoria Laurie. Very enjoyable read. The characters are likable and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    I really enjoyed this book...

    The ghost hunter series is a pretty good read. I have enjoyed all of the books so far. I agree that the characters could be slightly more developed so that MJ doesn't seem as if she is always angry, Gill could have a little more depth, and Steven could have a little more presence but despite that it's very entertaining. I think that the serpent needed clarity and closure too bc I felt as if it never really connected with the subplot of the Turk. I'm already downloading book 4 and ready for another adventure. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Love the Ghost Hunter series!

    These books are fun, quick and easy reads! Great to escape from the real world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Victoria is on a roll!

    Victoria Laurie's latest addition to her Ghost hunter Mystery Series is really good reading for those who enjoy books about paranormal fiction. Her characters are extremely interesting, and the way she writes, makes it very easy to immerse yourself into her storytelling. She mixes her fictional characters in very well with very real places, places, that if you are a fan of the paranormal, you are very familiar with, which makes the adventure even more enticing and interesting!!! I am very much looking forward to her next Ghost Hunter Mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ghouls Just Love to Disappoint

    I'm not going to waste any more money on the Ghost Hunter series. This book was very disappointing. Victoria Laurie can't write for crap, and her characters really aren't all that fascinating, so all she has left is a good plot. This started out well--I liked the idea of the knife being a "portable portal" and the demon/smoke monster (although the smoke monster made me think of "Lost") and it was fairly creepy and enjoyable. Then she lost it. She neglected the best part of the novel, the ghosties, and concentrated on the half-assed criminal/stolen property subplot. Not very interesting. Also, any time the police appeared in this novel, they were COMPLETELY unbelievable. It was ridiculous. Although Ms. Laurie thinks she is quite the witty and amusing writer, she ISN'T. Her characters are so underdeveloped and uninteresting that they don't have enough personality to say anything funny. The most humorous character is the parrot Doc and he barely makes an appearance in this novel. I was sorely disappointed by the ending to this novel. Ms. Laurie must have been baking cookies or doing laundry because the novel came to an abrupt, crashing halt and everything was quickly solved, including the demon problem. Don't buy this book. Don't do it. Borrow it from a friend who owns it or your local library. It's just not worth the $8 you'll pay. If you want to read some good creepy books with a hint of humor, check out my suggestions. They are funny, the characters much more likeable, and the creepiness is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Victoria Laurie has done it again

    This is a great series. There is humor, plenty of ghosts and the paranormal. I recommend this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nail Biting

    I have read all of Victoria Laurie's books in this series and every time I get caught up in the writing that is how I like reading a book. Cannot wait for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Good movement of the series

    The book moved the characters into another place, and actually hit on an aspect of today's world - "reality tv". Having the characters meet a "demon" was a bit of a stretch - rather than just ghosts, but did provide some mystery and suspense. Overall a good escapist read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Good series

    I really like Victoria Laurie. Her books are quite entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get's Better and Better

    I loved book 1 and 2 and this one was really great as well.. Although I wish there was more of Doc in the book that silly Bird is Wonderful.. Over all it was good. The author introduced new people into the plot and new twists and turns.. Looking forward to the next one.. MORE DOC PLEASE !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5