Customer Reviews for

Giada at Home: Family Recipes from Italy and California

Average Rating 3
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another favorite from Giada

I have all of Giada's cookbooks. I had read a few unfavorable reviews but decided to buy the book and see what I thought. The stuffed peppers are to die for. Can be made a day ahead and baked the next day and eaten for days afterwards. They alone would justify the cookb...
I have all of Giada's cookbooks. I had read a few unfavorable reviews but decided to buy the book and see what I thought. The stuffed peppers are to die for. Can be made a day ahead and baked the next day and eaten for days afterwards. They alone would justify the cookbook. Whwn I buy a new cookbook I cook exclusively from it for about a month . The recipes have been easy to follow and delicious and she gives added good information about different ingredients and techniques. I highly recommend the book.

posted by 154260 on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Unlike her other cookbooks, this one was not worth the money. Too many pictures of her friends and family and not enough of how the actual food should look. The recipes were not too different or as tasty as those from her other books. Buy her other cookbooks, save y...
Unlike her other cookbooks, this one was not worth the money. Too many pictures of her friends and family and not enough of how the actual food should look. The recipes were not too different or as tasty as those from her other books. Buy her other cookbooks, save your money and use the library to take this book out. I am extremely disappointed in this book, it just seemed thrown together. Even the printing of this book looks cheap-3 different fonts used for each recipe make it a visual nightmare. More care and effort should have gone into this cookbook. Perhaps it is time to move on to another chef, her ideas do not seem to original.

posted by 1906337 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    cookbook

    Great book, fantastic recipes, all around great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    ? Giada!

    This cookbook has a plethora of fabulous recipes! Great new CA fusion food inspired by farmer's markets along with old school Italian recipes. Fabulous as a gift also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Giada's Cookbooks

    My wife loves Giada's recipes and always looks into her books for inspiration. This book does not disappoint. I saw one of the recipes on TV and it looked easy enough so I made it and it came great. We highly recommend this book if you want to try interesting Italian recipes. We like to discover the variety of dishes can be found in Italian cuisine (not just pasta and cheese). Her recipes are not overly healthy because that is not her purpose; she cooks fantastically tasting Italian dishes. I have no idea how the lady stays so skinny! Great cookbook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great pasta recipie

    So far I've only made one dish but it was amazing! My husband and I both loved the Rigatoni with Creamy Mushroom Sauce. It was truly wonderful, rich, and satisfying. If the rest of her recopies are as good as this you are in for a real treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great cookbook!

    I purchased this book for my sister-in-law because she showed an interest in it.
    She has reported that it has many, many great recipes in it that she has already tried several of for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    delicious cook book

    Giads's new cookbook is delicious!! I have already made two of the recipes and my family loved them. I like that she has the cook notes on the bottom of every recipe. It makes cooking that much easier. I enjoyed reading about her family and her families connection with food. I hope someday to cook with my daughter and we can start some family tradtions like Giada has with her family. I have her other cookbook and love that one too. I can't wait to try her brunch recipes. Giada said Jade loves her breakfast panini.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Another great cookbook by GD!

    I have collected all GD's cookbooks, I love every single one. One problem is there is not enough days to cook all her great meals! Wonderful addition to your cookbook library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Fantastic Food!

    The food in this book, has some deliciously creative ideas. The desserts section was especialy enticing. Desserts created with items you wouldn't think of in dessert actually give the dish a really nice punch. The only downfall to the book, is that I don't eat fish or seafood of any sort. There were quite a few dishes with seafood as the base. But, other than this there were a large variety of other dishes to tempt my palate. In my opinion the best section of the book was actually the brunch portion. Creative dishes and crazy combinations are the high point of this section. Just looking at some of the pictures will make your mouth water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Hit!

    Giada's new cookbook was worth the anticipation. I love it and can't wait to use it. The preorder offer made it even better. I'm glad I went with the offer. The only negative wasn't the cookbook but the fact that it had obvious moisture exposure to the pages during shipping and should have been plastic wrapped.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    Disappointing

    Her recipes always look and sound good, but almost everything I make is a huge disappointment. I've very rarely been disappointed with recipes from other Food Network Stars (Bobby Flay, Ina Garten, Sunny Anderson, Mario Batali, etc). I've made a number of recipes of hers from her show and now from this book. This was the first and last book of hers I'll ever buy.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9