Customer Reviews for

Giada at Home: Family Recipes from Italy and California

Average Rating 3
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another favorite from Giada

I have all of Giada's cookbooks. I had read a few unfavorable reviews but decided to buy the book and see what I thought. The stuffed peppers are to die for. Can be made a day ahead and baked the next day and eaten for days afterwards. They alone would justify the cookb...
I have all of Giada's cookbooks. I had read a few unfavorable reviews but decided to buy the book and see what I thought. The stuffed peppers are to die for. Can be made a day ahead and baked the next day and eaten for days afterwards. They alone would justify the cookbook. Whwn I buy a new cookbook I cook exclusively from it for about a month . The recipes have been easy to follow and delicious and she gives added good information about different ingredients and techniques. I highly recommend the book.

posted by 154260 on May 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

Unlike her other cookbooks, this one was not worth the money. Too many pictures of her friends and family and not enough of how the actual food should look. The recipes were not too different or as tasty as those from her other books. Buy her other cookbooks, save y...
Unlike her other cookbooks, this one was not worth the money. Too many pictures of her friends and family and not enough of how the actual food should look. The recipes were not too different or as tasty as those from her other books. Buy her other cookbooks, save your money and use the library to take this book out. I am extremely disappointed in this book, it just seemed thrown together. Even the printing of this book looks cheap-3 different fonts used for each recipe make it a visual nightmare. More care and effort should have gone into this cookbook. Perhaps it is time to move on to another chef, her ideas do not seem to original.

posted by 1906337 on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    Another favorite from Giada

    I have all of Giada's cookbooks. I had read a few unfavorable reviews but decided to buy the book and see what I thought. The stuffed peppers are to die for. Can be made a day ahead and baked the next day and eaten for days afterwards. They alone would justify the cookbook. Whwn I buy a new cookbook I cook exclusively from it for about a month . The recipes have been easy to follow and delicious and she gives added good information about different ingredients and techniques. I highly recommend the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GIADA AT HOME IS A GUSTATORY DELIGHT

    Those who follow Giada De Laurentiis on her Emmy Award winning TV program (and there are jillions of you) know just how delicious, healthful, and beautifully presented her dishes are. Her four previous cookbooks have all topped bestseller lists, however, for this Giada fan GIADA AT HOME is something very special because not only are there a multitude of tasty recipes, but it is also a warm affectionate look at family, friends, and her adopted state of California.

    I cannot remember seeing a cook who took so much pleasure in the preparation of food - perhaps it is because she's preparing for those she loves. Whatever the case, the recipes included in this book are family recipes form Italy and California. Some are generations old recipes (identified by being set in orange type), while others are new family recipes (set in green type). Readers will find that Giada has been happily influenced by what she finds at her local farmer's market - beautiful seasonal fruits and vegetables. Thus, she prepares dishes that spotlight these flavors. Delightful offerings!

    GIADA AT HOME begins with Appetizers followed by Soups & Sandwiches, Pasta & Grains, Meat, Poultry & Fish, Vegetables & Salads, Desserts, and Brunch.

    Photographs of the dishes by Jonelle Weaver are so real that one is tempted to take a bite. Relaxed candid shots of family and friends allow readers glimpses of the happiness engendered when loved ones gather to share a meal.

    For this reader Brunch is one of my favorite chapters, especially as described: "In Italy weekends are all about the leisurely lunch, a meal that can start any time after one-thirty in the afternoon and might well stretch on into the early evening." It is the day's "main event."

    It's so much more than a main event, it's a dreamed of libation if it begins with Limoncello and Blueberry Cooler and includes Mozzarella, Raspberry, and Brown Sugar Panini plus a Strawberry and Rosemary Scone or two.

    Enjoy - I know you will!

    - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Giada

    Giada is so fasinating and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Good

    I love her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a cook and my kids woul

    Let me start by saying I have NEVER been a cook and my kids would think it was great when "dad cooked dinner" because they had pancakes for dinner. Truth is that's all I knew how to make. I tuned into Giada at Home and while I admit I watched because Giada is so darn lovable, I thought what she made was easy, looked good and "I could do that." I am now hooked. I record the show every day and cook her receipes exclusively. My wife thought I was a little obsessive until she tried the dishes. No more complaints. I've gone from "pancakes for dinner dad" to full time chef of the household. Thank you Giada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Oove

    I am gida contact me at 704-873-9818

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Sample

    The STUPID SAMPLE keeps saying: Error Dialoge. What the heck?!?!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Wonderful

    Love her recipes. Easy to follow and understand. Have done many recipes, all has turned out delicious! Husband & son enjoy the meals.
    I have 2 of her books, just purchased a third. Can not wait to try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Terrific read

    I have all of Giada's books and I would list them as more than cookbooks. She interposes with stories and information about the recipes I.e: where they came from what she wanted from the recipe. I have found all her books to be "readable" as well as giving us some wonderful food. Most of them are easy and she gives great detail on the "how to", her books are great for the experienced cook and the begginer alike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Great Book

    I'm a regular viewer of the show on Food Network, so it was nice to find the recipes I love all in one place. I frequently jot down recipes from the show and have used several, but having the book gives me even more opportunities to try Giada's simple, delicious recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Love it

    What a great book from Giada! Though I expected nothing less. I can't wait until the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the contemporary flair

    The pictures are great and the cookbook has a very feminine feel with bright pink being the hardback cover color. I love how each chapter tackles a specific type of food (brunch, appetizers, pasta & grains, soups & sandwiches, and much more). Giada also introduces each chapter by talkiing about the culture of Italian food and the intergration of her culture into her life here in California. Fantastic! My favorite of all her cookbooks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    ? Giada!

    This cookbook has a plethora of fabulous recipes! Great new CA fusion food inspired by farmer's markets along with old school Italian recipes. Fabulous as a gift also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great pasta recipie

    So far I've only made one dish but it was amazing! My husband and I both loved the Rigatoni with Creamy Mushroom Sauce. It was truly wonderful, rich, and satisfying. If the rest of her recopies are as good as this you are in for a real treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great cookbook!

    I purchased this book for my sister-in-law because she showed an interest in it.
    She has reported that it has many, many great recipes in it that she has already tried several of for her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    delicious cook book

    Giads's new cookbook is delicious!! I have already made two of the recipes and my family loved them. I like that she has the cook notes on the bottom of every recipe. It makes cooking that much easier. I enjoyed reading about her family and her families connection with food. I hope someday to cook with my daughter and we can start some family tradtions like Giada has with her family. I have her other cookbook and love that one too. I can't wait to try her brunch recipes. Giada said Jade loves her breakfast panini.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Another great cookbook by GD!

    I have collected all GD's cookbooks, I love every single one. One problem is there is not enough days to cook all her great meals! Wonderful addition to your cookbook library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3