Customer Reviews for

Gideon's Corpse (Gideon Crew Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A good ride

This book is getting some pretty bad reviews and I don't know why. These two authors write fast paced, well researched action novels. And they do it pretty well time and time again. The novel is not perfect but the character, Crew, is engaging and a joy to follow. ...
This book is getting some pretty bad reviews and I don't know why. These two authors write fast paced, well researched action novels. And they do it pretty well time and time again. The novel is not perfect but the character, Crew, is engaging and a joy to follow. You can tell the love that the authors have for both Holmes and Bond and they show such joy in writing these adventures. These two are still some of my fav story tellers in the genre. More of Pendergast, and yes! More Gideon Crew please.

posted by cctheprof on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Corpse For Sure

On page 293 the authors write: "There was an air of desuetude, even abandonment." And they were so right, I could feel it myself. Hundreds and hundreds of readers abandoning this novel before they finished it.
It was around page 138 that I began to think of abandoning ...
On page 293 the authors write: "There was an air of desuetude, even abandonment." And they were so right, I could feel it myself. Hundreds and hundreds of readers abandoning this novel before they finished it.
It was around page 138 that I began to think of abandoning it myself,only to then be rewarded with a few pages of Gideon and his partner having dinner. They were having kidneys, but the partner didn't want to eat them. Then he did, and guess what? He liked them. Yes, indeed, this is quite a thriller I am reading. For some odd reason, I finished the book, although I admit to glossing over some pages. It's really boring, and not much of interest happens after the first few pages. Even the big scene toward the end is a letdown. People were getting shot and I was saying "Hey, over here. Put this book out of its misery!"

posted by KenCady on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Corpse For Sure

    On page 293 the authors write: "There was an air of desuetude, even abandonment." And they were so right, I could feel it myself. Hundreds and hundreds of readers abandoning this novel before they finished it.
    It was around page 138 that I began to think of abandoning it myself,only to then be rewarded with a few pages of Gideon and his partner having dinner. They were having kidneys, but the partner didn't want to eat them. Then he did, and guess what? He liked them. Yes, indeed, this is quite a thriller I am reading. For some odd reason, I finished the book, although I admit to glossing over some pages. It's really boring, and not much of interest happens after the first few pages. Even the big scene toward the end is a letdown. People were getting shot and I was saying "Hey, over here. Put this book out of its misery!"

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Disappointing

    While Gideon grows as a character the plot line and general premise was a bit unbelievable coupled with unlikely resolutions to some of the obstacles presented to Gideon. A bit of a disappointing sequel

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    A good ride

    This book is getting some pretty bad reviews and I don't know why. These two authors write fast paced, well researched action novels. And they do it pretty well time and time again. The novel is not perfect but the character, Crew, is engaging and a joy to follow. You can tell the love that the authors have for both Holmes and Bond and they show such joy in writing these adventures. These two are still some of my fav story tellers in the genre. More of Pendergast, and yes! More Gideon Crew please.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    awful :( !!!!!

    Gideon's Sword was not bad, but the sequel is terrible! I can not believe it was written by Preston and Child as I enjoyed the entire Pendergast series. I am 3/4 the way through and it has been torture to try to reach the end.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Pressed on

    Whoa! This can't be a Preston Child book. It's way bad.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    Fooled me twice. Shame on me.

    I was so disappointed withe the first book I figured it had to be a fluke. P&G are to good to put out two awful books in a row. Well I was more wrong than I ever imagined I could be. The second was just as awful as the first. I listened to this on audiobook during my commute and was so completely bored I would find myself daydreaming about...well anything! Gideon Crew needs to sent of into the sunset or better yet, killed in some horrible, awful way that will make me feel better about having wasted dozens of hours of my life on these books that I will never get back.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Stop hating on this book!

    This book is actually really good... this desperately NEEDS a movie. This has gotten a raving review on the New York Times... hint hint!

    Anyway, for those of you who are thinking of buying the book and looking at BOTH editorial and customer reviews, do it. It's really worth the damn money. It has a lot of strong language, so I really only don't reccomend it to those who are sensitive about that kind of stuff.

    But still,

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Better than the first Gideon book

    This book was far and away better than the first of this new character.
    This story was pretty decently paced with some good imagery... as expected from the guys.
    Gideon seemed more of a filled in character and the characters that were brought in were better thought out I felt.
    I had gone in to this book disappointed in the first and was thinking that I wouldn't get any more Gideon books if this one was crap too. I was pleasantly surprised and felt the need to keep at it once he got on a roll.
    Obviously, it's nothing like any Pendergast book, but pretty solid after the first (disappointing) Gideon book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Sad

    Disappointing

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Fun read

    As a long time fan of Preston/Child, I was hesitant to start this series based in the reviews. But Gideon Crew is growing in me and I thoroughly enjoyed the progression of his character in this installment. The story was paced well and good piece of escapism.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Preston/Child Thriller

    I am a fan of the Preston/Child novels, specifically the Pendergast series. I did enjoy this one as well, as a matter-of-fact, I preferred the second Gideon novel over the first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    highly recommend

    Looks as though I am in the minority, but I couldn't put the book down! Really feel it would make a great movie and enjoyed it very much. Preston and Child wrote a great book. Give it a try, you might just like it!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Gideon is not cool

    Being of the same supposed age of gideon in the novels, i would like to tell the authors that he is not cool. He's touted as cool but in no way is a ponytailed, jazz listening recluse with a penchant for whores cool.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    this guy never disappoints

    Always a great read fasr fun and smarr

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Good read but no Pendergast

    The Pendergast series is absolutely incredible and I think the Gidron series has a lot of promise. Right now I just dont think Gideons character is fully developed. On its own this is a very good read and well worth the time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Decent

    Fastpaced but still not as good as gideons sword

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    A Fast Action Thriller

    Like most all Preston & Child books, this one is a roller coaster of suspense, complex story lines, great characters, and cliffhangers. It was hard to put down. I would have to re-read Gideon's Sword to see which one I liked better. I won't review the story, you can get that elsewhere

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    ANother Gideon nail biter

    Preston & Child can crank them out and this one is a great read. Another in the Gideon series that will keep you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Excellent

    Couldn't put this down

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Bookworm

    The science was interesting, but the plot was pretty ridiculous. I also began to wonder if the authors were in a contest to see who could use the most obscure words....over and over again! Like the vast majority of very successful writers, Lincoln and Child seem to have reached a point where no one truly edits their work anymore. A pity; this could have used a fearless editor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5