Customer Reviews for

Gideon's Sword (Gideon Crew Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(45)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Good read!

Preston and Child, co-authors of the Agent Pendergast series, have introduced a new character, Gideon Crew. Twelve year old Gideon witnessed the violent death of his father, framed for a crime he didn't commit. Years later, he makes a deathbed promise to his mother to...
Preston and Child, co-authors of the Agent Pendergast series, have introduced a new character, Gideon Crew. Twelve year old Gideon witnessed the violent death of his father, framed for a crime he didn't commit. Years later, he makes a deathbed promise to his mother to track down General Tucker, the government official responsible, and avenge his father's death.

Crew's background as a professional thief, together with his handling of Tucker, bring him to the attention of a covert government agency. They want to hire him to intercept Mark Wu, a Chinese scientist en route to the U.S., and steal his plans for a new weapon that will supposedly change the world. But Crew is not the only one chasing Wu and at every turn Crew is battling with people trying to not only stop him from obtaining the plans but also to kill him.

Crew's series might be rather short lived if the prognosis presented in GIDEON'S SWORD is correct, which would be a shame. Preston and Child have created a very likable character and it would be nice to have him around for a while. He was already embarking on a new caper as the book ended and I'm looking forward to the next Gideon Crew novel!

Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

What a Disappointment

At the conclusion of the novel there is a section entitled, A Conversation with Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. There is a comment in that section in which the authors state, "We have a mortal fear of boring our readers". Well this novel totally bored me to the point...
At the conclusion of the novel there is a section entitled, A Conversation with Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. There is a comment in that section in which the authors state, "We have a mortal fear of boring our readers". Well this novel totally bored me to the point that I have no interest in reading any further adventures of Gideon Crew. What ever happened to the likes of Relic, The Ice Limit and the trilogy? Come on guys, return to your basic style. Your talent is wasted on Gideon. Surely you can do better. Gideons Sword is nothing more than a poor man's action flick with no substance. I was expecting an outstanding meal and not one that would result in indigestion.

posted by Gaz on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    Preston and Child, co-authors of the Agent Pendergast series, have introduced a new character, Gideon Crew. Twelve year old Gideon witnessed the violent death of his father, framed for a crime he didn't commit. Years later, he makes a deathbed promise to his mother to track down General Tucker, the government official responsible, and avenge his father's death.

    Crew's background as a professional thief, together with his handling of Tucker, bring him to the attention of a covert government agency. They want to hire him to intercept Mark Wu, a Chinese scientist en route to the U.S., and steal his plans for a new weapon that will supposedly change the world. But Crew is not the only one chasing Wu and at every turn Crew is battling with people trying to not only stop him from obtaining the plans but also to kill him.

    Crew's series might be rather short lived if the prognosis presented in GIDEON'S SWORD is correct, which would be a shame. Preston and Child have created a very likable character and it would be nice to have him around for a while. He was already embarking on a new caper as the book ended and I'm looking forward to the next Gideon Crew novel!

    Lynn Kimmerle

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    What a Disappointment

    At the conclusion of the novel there is a section entitled, A Conversation with Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. There is a comment in that section in which the authors state, "We have a mortal fear of boring our readers". Well this novel totally bored me to the point that I have no interest in reading any further adventures of Gideon Crew. What ever happened to the likes of Relic, The Ice Limit and the trilogy? Come on guys, return to your basic style. Your talent is wasted on Gideon. Surely you can do better. Gideons Sword is nothing more than a poor man's action flick with no substance. I was expecting an outstanding meal and not one that would result in indigestion.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    sad

    Oh man, these are some of my fav authors and this book is NOT worth even buying used

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Don't waste your time and money.

    Preston & Child never disappoint, so spending $12.99, although expensive for an e-book, would be definitely worthwhile. WRONG!
    It's rare when, at the conclusion of the novel, I hope the villain prevails and the "hero", in this case, Gideon Crew, assumes room temperature and never returns. No such luck in this case. Gideon is just not interesting. His character, like the alleged plot, is contrived and didn't hold my interest at all.
    To sum up in just three words: Bring back Pendergast!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Two Thumbs Down

    So I read the new Childs and Preston Book, (I read everything from these guy, both as a team and individually), and am very, very, VERY disappointed. It ended abruptly, was totally unrealistic and not even entertaining. I think these guys just churned out this book for the money. A mustNOT read. Not even used.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    free sample

    This free sample is rediculous. All it is is a title page. It doesn't even have a summary of the book.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!

    I've been a fan of Preston and child since Relic, and I'm a fan of Pendergast. The promise of a new series, and thus more books, is a huge thrill! The Gideon Crew series puts a new twist on Preston and Child's heroes. Crew has a dark, tragic backround, but the interesting aspect is, he has a background as a professional thief, and has been wronged by a government official. This somewhat shady character is hired to find a Chinese scientist and steal his plans for a deadly new weapon. This "international thriller" is a departure for these authors, and will doubtless widen their appeal. Holding my breath until the release...

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Where are Preston and Child?

    To the author(s) of this book: Who are you and what have you done with Preston and Child? This wide-eyed, charming Gideon, repeatedly coaxing confidential information out of supposedly dim-witted public servants, has zero credibility. And (spoiler) he's going to fly to Hong Kong and he'll be gone only one day? Right. There are a lot of editorial gaffs in this book. Most disturbing, though, is the authors' supreme disregard of the perspicacity of Preston and Child fans.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    POS!! and a rip-off. Leave it on the shelf...

    I just finished Gideons Sword, and to say it was a disappointment is a massive understatetment. My wife and I are both fans of the authors, and we're in complete agreement that they didn't write this book. None of their characteristic style, characterizations, vocabulary etc are there. It reads like a bad first novel...unpublished.

    What I find most offensive is that the actual text of Gideon's Sword in the nook book was some 313 pages. The total nookbook page count was 722 pages!! So that's over 400 pages of what was touted as "bonus material." More bonus than book!! Who needs a book by an unknown author. If I wanted to buy a book by Brad Meltzer, I'd buy it. I don't need it snuck into my book as some kind of bonus. I'm sure we're going to see a lot more of this kind of chicanery from Nook and the publishers as time goes on.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Better run, run, away!

    This is the worst P&C book I've read. The characters are paper-thin, the dialogue silly and the story line is just weak. Gideon's "cons" are not believable and are offensive. I was rooting for the bad guy! The whole story was just not at all believable. It almost seemed like this was written by a rookie writer under the established reputation of P&C.
    I won't waste money on another Gideon story. I frankly could not care less as to his future adventures.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Disappointing!

    The characters are flat and the story line hackneyed. This novel doesn't even come close to the standard of writing I've come to expect from these authors. Shame on you Preston and Child.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Suspenseful and Thrilling

    Gideon Crew grows up thinking his father has committed treason. As he leads a life of crime he acquires skills of deception. When his mom is on her deathbed she confesses that his father was framed. As he seeks revenge for his father's death, he is being watched. After settling down at his rural cabin a job is offered to him. Crew is assigned to obtain plans for an Chinese operative's super weapon. While on the hunt for the weapon he encounters an assassin, a CIA agent, and a prostitute. Finding the plans for the weapon will turn out to be more difficult than Crew ever imagined. All in all I thought that the book was a great thriller. It had numerous ups, downs, twists and turns. The suspense in the book put me on the edge of my seat. Although it was suspenseful, on numerous occasions it seemed unrealistic. This is the reason I am giving it a four out of five stars. I feel like this would be a great read for anyone looking for an action packed thriller.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Hopeful

    As a huge fan of Preston & Child, I am going to stick with the series. I read Relic when it was first published and was blown away, and have read everything they have written since, co-authored and solo, and continue to be a fan. The Pendergast books are addicting; I am currently anxiously awaiting the next one. I thoroughly enjoyed GS, but was not blown-away. As with any new character/series, it is going to take time to get to know Gideon and for his character to develop. I fully intend to buy the next Gideon book because I love love love the way these guys write and I know the Gideon series will develop. I didn't fall in love with Pendergast immediately either, but now? I am a Pendergast junkie. I hope to feel the same about Gideon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Dull Sword

    My faith in the reviewers here is restored as I came expecting to see the usual high praise and found that many agreed with my outlook on this one. Are thrillers becoming cartoons? Gideon's Sword sure reads like one. The beginning is a waste of space as it had nothing to do with the story. Gideon's tactics to retrieve a classified document were utterly impossible to believe. The characters were thinly drawn and not appealing, although I did enjoy having one of them shot through the head.
    Ultimately it was a big case of "who cares?"

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    Terrible. Bypass this one

    Reads like a high shook freshman wrote it. Weak charectors, sophomoric plot. One of the worst books I've attempted to read. I couldn't finish it, the writting and the plot was so bad. They clearly do not understand the world they were writing about. The should stick to agent Pendergast and let Gideon Crew pass away in peace.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    Not up to standard

    I wa really looking forward to this book as P & C are 2 of my favorite authors!! But I think they missed with this one. I kept wondering when it was going to get exciting!!! The hero is right out of a made for tv action movie. No too exciting and very predictiblel. You knew he what was going to happen before it happened with a couple of minor surprises, with a bit of gore thrown in. Not what I've come to expect from the authors of "Relic" and "Reliquary". It just didn't have the creepy factor and it wasn't a page turner!! They need to stick with Pendergast and the creep factor that they re so good at!!! Not worth the money - if you must read it , borrow it, don't buy it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    skip it

    I'm a big fan of these guys but this book, well it came up short, real short. So short I hope the character Gideon dies before they write another story related to him. This book was as if someone else wrote it, certainly not my two favorite authors. I give this book an S cubed rating, stupid, stinky, and suckssssss. Skip it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Really not a very good book. very prdictable and rather boring.

    Really not a very good book. very prdictable and rather boring. The characters were all the cookie cutter variety and not fleshed out well at all. As a longtime P&C reader I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    bored

    I am an avid reader of their books but found this new character and this book to be uninteresting. Many times I almost archived the book without finishing it because it did not hold my attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Terrible

    this book is awful, what happened to the intelligent writing from P&C. It looks like one of my midddle school students would write

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21