Customer Reviews for

The Gift: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    not as good as others

    I've thoroughly enjoyed all of Cecelia Ahern's books up to now. In fact, I've sought out hardcover copies for my own library. But I wasn't very enchanted by The Gift. For some reason, it just didn't have the magic that the past books held for me. It had a dark twist that I felt hid the message. I was disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A story within

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A story within a story.  Doesn't happen, but was perfect for a holiday book meant to share a lesson to all readers.  A young man is caught throwing a turkey through his father and step-mothers window heads to the police station where the police share a touching story to help him learn a valuable lesson.

    The story within the story centered around Lou who is a person who is always looking to the next appointment and where he is headed next.  I have to admit that there are moments in life where I am definitely guilty for appreciating what is currently going on, so even though the lesson was blatantly obvious from the beginning, it was beneficial to read this story to remember to soak up each moment as it is happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Brought a smile on my face

    Brought a smile on my face

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A Suspenseful, Thought Provoking Novel!!

    The Gift by Cecelia Ahern is an outstanding book and is one of my favorite books. It starts out with a boy in the police station on Christmas day for throwing a frozen turkey into the window of his dad’s house. The policeman, Raphie, is telling him a story about Lou Sufferern’s life. Lou had a family of four and was absorbed in everything that had to do with his job. He spent more time working than with his family, until Gabe walked into his life, changing it forever. One day, Lou met Gabe, a homeless man, and he offered him a job. Gabe came into Lou’s life on purpose to help him spend more time with his family. He gave Lou pills that would allow him to be in two places at once. He used one pill for a business function at night to make two highly recognized deals for the company at the same time. Over time Lou started to realize that his family was more important and that he had had been pushing them away. He started to spend more time with his family, starting by taking one of the pills to go sailboat racing with his brother and ice skating with his wife and kids. Lou had an amazing time with his family and was changed for the better. After talking to Gabe that night, Lou becomes very angry and nervous after hearing that Gabe is not just a normal person, he was special. He sped home very quickly in the pouring down rain, and crashed his car. The police came to save him, but it was too late. With the help of another pill, Gabe had left one world but in the other, he had conceived a child that night. I really enjoyed the book because it was fun to read and the author did a great job explaining the book in detail. I couldn’t put the book down, finishing it in less than a week. In addition, I liked getting a different perspective on things from the setting in Ireland. There wasn’t much I disliked about the book, besides that Lou died in the end. It was a suspenseful and heartbreaking moment in the book. The author emphasized the main theme that family is very important. Lou’s life showed that people should spend time with the ones they love because in the end, family is the most important. Another message implied was that people come into the lives of others for certain reasons, like Gabe’s appearance in Lou’s life. Gabe served as a person that may have been an angel that helped Lou realize the important part of his life. In addition, Lou learned that time was precious and Gabe gave him the gift of time. I highly recommend this book because it was very good, and it makes people looks at their own lives and how they spend their time. It is a must read. The Gift is an inspiring, spectacular book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    The Christmas Carol with a twist

    This is a heart warming book which feels like a modern day version of the Christmas Carol. There is a bit of a twist and a somewhat unpredictable ending. A little cliche, but enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Great book

    Great book to read especially before xmas! Definitely sends a good message and had me in tears at te end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Loved this book, but it's not new. Just a reprint.

    My favorite author, I just devour her stories! They are so uniquely her own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Tugs at my heartstrings

    A must read for.anyone wondering why we have been dealt the life they are given. I am a huge Ahern fan. I have read all of her solo authored books and cannot wait for the next one. There is not a book that I read of hers where I do not cry. The characters in this book, like many of Aherns, can be related to. Threre is always someone trying to make the grade, while their loved ones watch from the sidelines. One finds themselves emersed in the life that they wish they ciuld have rather than appreciating the one tey do have. As you read, one finds themselves surveying their own life and what they can doto make it better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Gift is a Gift...of Great Writing

    I don't know how Ahern creates some unique stories but she has done it again with the modern day fable The Gift. A wonderful Christmas story that makes you appreciate each day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    makes you think about how we set priorities

    somehow, by the end of the book, I was caring about the most un-sympathetic character and bemoaning the way the book ended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    The Gift

    Very good book. It held me until the end. It is a fast read and I highly recommend it for book clubs and gift giving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Another good Cecelia Ahern book!

    I saw this book at the store and didn't realize Cecelia Ahern had another book out. I really loved reading her book "P.S. I Love You" and decided to give this one a try. It took me three days to read it. It was wonderful! It definitely leaves you with a lesson. The only thing I did not like was the ending. It brought me to tears in both a good and bad way. Had it ended the way I had wanted, I would have given the book all 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    As always one for my library

    I enjoy reading Cecelia Ahern. She has a different approach to her writing that makes it unlike any other. This was a really good. I would definately suggest it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a "gift" to read!

    This book was amazing. It really made you think about how you spend your time. The story was a little unbelievable, but isn't that what a good book is supposed to be...a way to escape into someone else's life and enjoy the possiblity of what could be? This book did that! I would definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Great Read!

    This was a great and easy read! The plot seemed a little slow at first, but once I read a few chapters it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a fascinating version of A Christmas Carol

    In Dublin, business mogul Lou Suffern is a 24/7 workaholic who has no time for his family, who is tired of his failure to be there for them ever. On a brisk wintry morning in front of his office, Lou buys a hot cup of coffee for a homeless person and for no known reason offers Gabe a job in the mail room. Gabe in turn tells Lou his boss is having serendipitously lunch dates with his rival.

    Gabe tries to convince Lou how important family is, but the corporate officer is uninterested in his two children who are young and boring and his wife Ruth as he has a mistress. Lou realizes that Gabe can be in two places at one time and begs the man to help him do so. Gabe gives Lou a magical pill to clone himself. One Lou will close the real estate deal; the other goes home to his family as Gabe prays his "client" will learn the importance of loved ones.

    This is a fascinating version of A Christmas Carol as Lou thinks he is helping Gabe with an act of kindness, but Gabe is actually trying to help Lou place his priorities in order. The underlying message of this whimsical angelic story line is too simplified as Lou learns what matters between being "Ruthless" and being with Ruth and his other family members. Fans will enjoy that Lou learns what matters in a wonderful life is it is never too late because it's a wonderful world.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2