Customer Reviews for

The Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    One of her best!

    I'm a Danielle Steel fan and this year I made a goal to read all of her books. I'm 70% of the way through and this was one that I needed to read. I couldn't stop reading it once I started. It took all I had to put the book down to do things around the house. It was one of my favorite Danielle Steel books. I loved the innocence of the characters and how they all came to love again after awful things happened to them. I also loved how Annie character was a fixture throughout the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    A wonderful story!

    Wow, did I love this book! After taking months to read a 700+ page book, I read this book in 3 days, probably could have finished it even quicker! This was a beautiful story of terrible things bringing together people and just making you feel good about how the two teenagers in this book, helped each other through a very difficult time in each others' lives! It had me crying several times, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has been some time since I read a Danielle Steel novel, and I am definitely going to be looking to pick up another one of her books. This is a must read for Danielle Steel fans!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    A Quick Lovable Read!

    Although somewhat repetitive and predictable, this book is still impossible to put down. Steel is a great writer with realistic ideas. This book could not reflect real life any better. I do wish that the book would've been longer (162 pages), but I enjoyed all of it with pleasure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    A Tear Jerker

    This book was very moving. It gives hope that there is still good people in this world..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    great read

    this is one of me favorites i have read this over and over

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    THE book starts off with a family that a family was going to

    THE book starts off with a family that a family was going to have a baby and lose it they have a son that they are very proud of but the anguish of losing a baby dad not coming home and mom is depressed and she not cooking no more.Now a young women show up in town she only 16 and lie about her age and then she is pregnant .,her family kicked her out and now she like the area and ask the restaurant to work.

    She find a room to rent and then she keep working and now showing and then she worried about the baby and she meet and find out his mom lost there little angle last year but she did not tell him what happen but she showing and he take to her to the doctor and then he the town one two and then now she going to have the baby soon very soon so she does not know what going t o do but she found who going to give the baby to..

    The holiday is here and she help them decorate the house and then misses her mom and dad but dad said get rid of the kid so she make her mind up and find the right family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    The lost of their daughter caused a big turmoil in the Whittaker

    The lost of their daughter caused a big turmoil in the Whittaker family, but an unexpected gift was presented to them when Maribeth Robertson came into town.

    Annie was born to Elizabeth (Liz) Whittaker when she was forty-one, as an unexpected surprise. Annie brought the family a lot of happiness, joy and love to her mother (Liz), father (John) and brother Tommy. Liz loved her family, and enjoyed doing everything for her family, especially for Annie. Liz spent as much time with Annie as she could. Annie especially loved Christmas, and the family made a big deal of the holiday for her. The day after Christmas, when Annie was only five years old she got sick, and her parents at the time thought she was coming down with a cold or the flu. Liz called the doctor, and he advised Liz to take Annie the hospital the next morning because he thought Annie might have come down with meningitis. At the hospital, Annie was diagnosed with meningitis and she just kept getting worst and worst, and eventually died later that day. After Annie’s funeral, the family was very devastated and started to fall apart as a family, because they could not get over Annie’s lost. Each of the family members blamed themselves for Annie’s death, in one way or another even though they never really opened up about it to each other.

    In the town of Onawa, Iowa, Maribeth Robertson lived in a very controlled and strict family, with her father (Bert), mother (Margaret), brother Ryan and sister Noelle. Sixteen year old Maribeth Robertson was having a hard time convincing her father in letting her wear a flimsy dress to her high school prom. Marybeth’s father was very strict, old fashion and a tyrant. Maribeth did go to the prom in a very homely and old fashion dress. At the prom Maribeth ended up with a senior named Paul Browne after her date David O’Connor got drunk. Maribeth was very naive and Paul Browne was very handsome, charming and made her feel special. They ended up having sex in the front seat of Paul’s car, and Maribeth got pregnant. Once her father found out she was pregnant, he felt disgraced and sent Maribeth away to Sister of Charity a convent to have the baby and give it up for adoption, which was normal in the 1950’s. Maribeth was not allowed to talk to her mother or sister and not come home until she had given the baby up for adoption, late in December. Maribeth got very depress and lonely at the convent and left by boarding bus to Chicago, with the money her father had given her to use for the convent. The bus made a stop for dinner in the town, where Maribeth got off and decided to stay. She took a waitress job at Jimmy D’s restaurant, and told her co-workers that her husband died in the Korea war.

    Maribeth met Tommy Whittaker there and they eventually fell in love. Tommy’s family warmed up to her after she explained to them the real story and they felt sorry for her and took her in. Maribeth explained to the Whittaker’s that education was very important to her and that she wanted to finish school and go to college. Marybeth’s father would not hear of it, and thought women should stay home and only take of the children which they did not need an education for. Liz Whittaker had gone back to teaching after Annie’s death, and eventually helped Maribeth with her studies and complete needed credits to become a senior when she would return home. Maribeth still had to find adoptive parents for her unborn baby. As time went by, Maribeth grew to love all the Whittaker family and decided that they would be the great parents for her baby. They were very loving, and could provide everything the baby would need. Maribeth begged Liz to adopt her baby, which Liz eventually agreed since Liz could no longer have anymore children. Maribeth gave birth to a baby girl on Christmas Day, and Liz named her Kate. Once all the adoptive paper where complete, Maribeth called her parents to come pick her up. “I’m leaving you now,” she whispered to the sleeping angel. (p 206) Don’t ever forget how much I love you,” Maribeth told her baby before she left. (p 206) Maribeth had left the Whittaker family the best gift they could ask for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    A second chance to happy and fulfillment loved it

    A second chance to happy and fulfillment loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Really heart felt book

    Will make you touch your heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Good, quick read!

    Seemed a diferant style of writing for D.S. but i enjoyed the story. Made me cry ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The book starts off very sad, but is worth hanging in there for the payoff, which is marvelous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Quick realistic story

    Predictable yet heartwarming and pleasurable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Loves

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 17, 2011

    love it!

    This is the first book of Danielle's I ever read and I loved it! Tear jerker but very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    It Was Good, But ....

    This was a pretty decent book, with a predictable ending. However, the eBook version had a lot of textual errors (many:marry) + others, along with missing text [Test not readable or something]. Assume those were a problem with the scanning process.

    Other than that, the book was hard to put down, reading to see what happens next. The ending kind of leaves you hanging, but you need to use your imagination, since the main character(s) are only 16.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    good Daneille Steele novel, but a little too old fashioned for me.

    The story is good, but the plot is a little dated and at times the story drags a bit. It's not a terribly original book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    AMAZING BOOK

    My mother gave me this book my junior year or highschool. I just thought well why not? so i picked it up. It was finished in 3 hours. this book is amazing. I can relate almost exactly how the girl feels throughout. Her courage to accept another boys love after being thrown to the curb by her parents and no support from paul brown is great. I recomend giving this book to any highschool junior who needs a good book to read when they're feeling down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    The Gift Review

    The Gift by Danielle Steel is one of the best books I have ever read by far. The way she uses sensory imagery and narration are amazing. The Gift shows you the point of view from everyone and you never miss a thing. When I was reading this book, I felt like I was there watching it all happen. I could tell how each character felt in the book and not just one character. The Gift is a story of two teens falling in love because of horrible things that have happened to them both. A teenager with a beloved sister that dies meets and falls in love with a girl that gets pregnant by mistake. Tommy loves Maribeth so much that he wants to marry her as soon as she has her child and Maribeth won't let him. Tommy wishes that his younger sister never died and Maribeth wishes that she never got pregnant, but if none of this happened, would they still have met and fell in love with each other? Maybe, maybe not, maybe the mistakes were trying to show them not to give up on everything. The Gift by Danielle Steel is an amazing book that I would reccomend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    The Gift

    The first book I read was The Gift, by Daniel Steal. It begins when this little girl named Annie that gets really sick. She had a great family who loved her so much and would do anything for her. But once she gets too sick, they can¿t do anything and has to let fait decide. What happens to her? In the middle of the story they introduce a new family. There¿s a sixteen-year-old girl named Marybelle. Her father is very strict and doesn¿t let her go many places or ware certain things. One night changed everything. It was prom night and she was so excited to go because her dad normally wouldn¿t let her go. But she had a date with someone she didn¿t even know. As long as she had a date she was happy. Once she got there, her date got drunk with a bunch of other people at the party and left here there by herself. So she just sat on a bench and waited for the night to pass while her date was drinking. As one senior football player sat by her. He introduced himself and started to get to know her. As he got to know her, there was something about her that he liked. She wasn¿t like other girls that he had dated before. He wanted to take her somewhere to forget all of the bad things that happened before with her date. After he took her out to a restaurant they went on a drive. She wasn¿t sure where he was taking her. She didn¿t know if she could trust him but she let him take her on a drive anyways. He felt something that he never felt before. As he was driving he pulled over gave her something to drink. She wasn¿t sure what it was. But when the night ended, he got her pregnant. When she told her dad he kicked her out of the house and wouldn¿t let her come back until she had the baby. He made her go to a convent. It was horrible, dark, and gloomy. What was she going to do? Does she have the baby? Read the book to find out all these questions and more. This book was amazing! It was so good I could never put the book down. The way that the author told the story was so cool. She starts off with two totally different stories and links them together. I also loved how descriptive she was when the characters were talking and moving around. The end of the book was really good. It was just how I thought it was going to happen. It was a little predictable but it was still a good ending. Mostly the author used dialogue and narrative. For most of the book she used narrative to explain the whole story but at parts there was dialogue when the characters were talking between each other. I liked that almost everything was in narrative because I think it was easier to understand when she was explaining what was happening and what the characters were thinking. There weren¿t that many unique characteristics in the book. One interesting characteristic was that most of the book was thoughts of the characters. The authors writing is the same as most books. At parts there were a couple hard words and sentences but it made the book more interesting. I would rate this book a nine out of ten because it was really interesting the way the two stories linked together in the end and it also had a really good ending. As I started to read it she introduced all of the characters and then just started the story off. It was really good and the way she wrote it made me more drawn to read the book. But I think that she stayed on one subject too long and it got boring at parts. The Gift is a great book if you like romance novels. The way she tells the story is really descriptive and detailed. I could picture the book in my head. The Gift is a great book and I think you should read it and see what you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    the gift review by sara

    The book I read was called The Gift by: Danielle Steel. This book talked about two families one was the Whitaker family. They had the perfect family a little girl named Annie who made everyone smile when ever they saw her, she was like an angel. They had a boy named Tommy who was well liked by many people a strait A student and really good at sports then there was Liz the mom who always had something baking and kept the house clean and everything then there was john. John was their perfect husband he always did and said the right things at the right time. Everything was going perfect it was two days after Christmas and they were all happy. Then Annie got sick. Liz and john thought it was just the flu but after a day or so they called to doctor and they found out she had meningitis. She died the next day their family had fallen apart they all stopped talking to each other Liz went back to work and stopped cooking. Tommy¿s grades fell, and he dropped out of his sports and john came home later and later every night. The second family this book talks about is the Robertson¿s, they had a daughter named Maribeth and she went out to prom one night, her date got drunk she left early. She was walking home when she ran into a guy named Paul, they started talking and he offered to drive her home . They were on their way home when they stopped somewhere they started talking and one thing lead to another and before she knew it she had lost her virginity. A few weeks later her brother found out she was pregnant and told her father. her father kicked her out and said ¿she couldn¿t come home till she had taken care of her problem.¿ He took her to a convent she could stay there till the baby. She left the convent, after about a month and ended up in a town called Omaha. There she met Tommy, first they were only friend but they grew into something more they were so comfortable with each other they could talk anything and everything and they did they talked about Annie, Maribeths baby and lots of more thing they end up helping each other and falling in love. And¿ well you¿ll have to read the book to find out! I thought this book was absolutely amazing, it was so good I loved it! This book was really exciting because of how much detail the author put into it I knew everything that was happening and I could picture it as it happened. I felt like I was in the book the whole time even if I couldn¿t relate to the problems or situations like getting pregnant I still felt as if I were in the book. the main conflict was very interesting and there was something always being added to the conflict which was cool because it was like there was never any boring part in the book. The characters seemed very realistic, so did the book it was like something that could happen to anyone. The books ending was ok I wished the author had explained some of the things he didn¿t in the ending. The author used very interesting vocabulary it wasn¿t very hard but sometimes it made you think, some of the unique characteristics of the authors writing was that you could always tell who was talking in the book by what they were saying, for example maribeth was very smart and had a sense of humor so most of the time especially with Tommy she had a sarcastic tone. The author uses many different voices that fit each character perfectly which also made the book really interesting. I think the authors writing style is very unique and I like it a lot. If I had to rate this book from a 1-10 I would give it an 11 it was very good. It was full of detail and a very interesting conflict and many interesting problems and it made me want to keep reading so I could find out what happened. I would recommend this book to all of you it is really good and it has things for both boys and girls. I think kids our age and older should read this book because its not appropriate for a younger kid to be hearing about this kind of language and actions that are used in this book. T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6