BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Clever as always

I love Garwoods books. This one is great, though the ebook version has a lot of errors.

posted by GoldieK on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as h

I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as her other books. It was really good in the beginning and the end, but got a little slow in the middle. Overall a good book.

posted by SouthernGal1 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as h

    I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as her other books. It was really good in the beginning and the end, but got a little slow in the middle. Overall a good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Garwood you are my Hero!!!! I had never read a book for p

    Julie Garwood you are my Hero!!!!
    I had never read a book for pleasure in my life I was like why bother, if it was any good they would make a movie of it. Boy was I wrong!
    I was due to deliver my first child and my older(and wiser ... don't tell her I said that or I will deny it!) sister had come for the big day, during her visit I saw her laughing as she was reading a book. I could not wrap my head around it, why the heck would a book make you laugh? So for the rest of her visit I teased her about being ridiculous and laughing at a book, but by the time she had to leave my (still stubborn to this day) daughter still had not arrived, so on the day she was leaving to stop me from being my overly emotional and sobbing self my sister slapped the book into my chest and said read it! To which I laughed and wiped away the tears, rolling my eyes the entire time thinking Yeah right, not in this lifetime!
    A few days after my sister departed my daughter was born. I did not have an easy labor. I had broken my coccyx bone(tailbone)during delivery and was in some serious pain and the only way I felt comfortable was to lay flat with my head propped up by pillows. Thank goodness my Mother was there to help me and my beautiful new baby girl as I was pretty much bedridden. On the second day of bedrest I noticed the book laying on the table beside me and decided to humor my sister and as I was stuck in bed what the heck else was there for me to do to while away the hours. So I flipped to the first page and was immediately captivated by the story. (The best Prologue of any book EVER!) To my utter disbelief not only did I laugh (out loud belly laughing when Sara punched her uncle's servant through the open coach window), but I cried! I fell in love with Nathan and Sara and the entire crew of the Seahawk! The story completely swept me away and gave me a love for reading I had never had before. I am now a voracious reader! I have read "The Gift" at least once a year since then (20 years and counting) and I love it now just as much as I did then.
    So to Ms. Garwood I would like to say a profound and heartfelt Thank you! You have given me a true and precious gift and for that I will be forever grateful and a fan for life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Loved this book....

    Awedome read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I fell in love with this book years ago and have read it several times. Hands down it is my favorite book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    What a Hoot!

    I love when Julie writes a love story filled with great characters and abuntant humor. This is such a book. The bride has been waiting so long for the promised groom to come for her. Her family has a different plan for her. She runs away and meanwhile the groom has come to steal her away. He sees her and follows to find out what she is doing. From then on it is a continuous feast of misunderstandings and discovery filled with great humor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Clever as always

    I love Garwoods books. This one is great, though the ebook version has a lot of errors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

    its another amazing book by my favorite author. I love Nathan if only he was real i would very happy. Youll get romance, drama, comedy, saddness and of course Nathan!!!!!!!!! I reccomend you get this book. You wont regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    Great book!!

    This book was one of the best i've read. Can't wait to read more of Julie Garwood's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    highly recommendd

    you will not be able to put this one down....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Julia is one of my favorite authors, this book lived up to all of my expatations and would recommend you get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Worst Julie Garwood Book

    I have read almost all of her books, and this one was by far the most disappointing. As some other reviewers have indicated, Sara is just annoying. I don't know why Nathan fell in love with her. I started skimming some of the book just because I wanted to finish it but was bored with the rather transparent story. And in the end, there were questions that were not answered, about the inheritance and what happened to some of the characters. I normally love all Julie Garwood's books (The Lion's Lady is my fave), but I regret purchasing this one. If you feel that you must read this one, borrow it or get it at a library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Horrid story - super naive heroine

    I understand the author wanted to show how tenderhearted this heroine was but she could have chose s better way then letting mean pirates who rape their victims get away.

    I understand its just a story but its not an action that should be praised. How many future victims would thank her?

    Never going to buy another Julie Garwood book. Many of her books are hits or misses - no consistency.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful......

    Great read..couldn't put it down til the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    sick book! i loved it

    i may not like to read that much but i fell in love with this book, the plot was grate and had drama, love sexy romance, and a twist i couldn't wrote it any better than it was, the ending made it for me to want MORE and MORE! i am hungry to read more about Nathan and Sara, and what was his reaction to the last line Sara said to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Good read

    This was a really great read, but I didn't fall in love with our heroine. The first couple times she was clumsy or had some unfortunate mishap I laughed, but after that it just became annoying. Sometimes her naivete was irritating and unbearable. I really liked Nathan and was glad to read that he wasn't ashamed of his scars or insecure, but instead embraced them unlike in many romance novels. I was so happy Jade and Cain came into the story again, oh and Colin of course! I guess I must've skimmed over the description of Nathan in Gaurdian Angel because I was completely suprised by the description of him in the book. I didn't realize how giant he was or how muscular, oh and can't forget the long hair! It wasn't the best in the series but still worth the read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Loved It!

    This has become my favorite book, I have reread it 3 times already, and I almost never reread books. Sara is somewhat ditzy, but her blind faith in Nathan makes up for it. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Annoying Heroine

    I wasn't a fan of this book. Sarah's constant clutziness was beyond ridiculous. The fact that she almost sunk the ship, twice, with her umbrella is a testament to this fact. The chemistry between sarah and nathan wasn't the strongest either. Ultimately, this book was boring and a dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2007

    Was a great read

    I really liked this book. I thought that it was funny and I loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    An avid romance reader

    This book was really disappointing. To quote one of the other reviewers ''she was so naive to the point of stupidity''. And not opnly this, SHE NEVER STOPPED COMPLAINING AND NAGGING!! She was also a walking timb-bomb. You never know when she was going to do something stupid, like not checking the meat to see if it was ok to eat, or to untie the mast ropes because they were annoying or something. No on is that stupid. Or in Sara's case,naive.And Nathan, I was amazed at his patience. But he was sincerely naive about women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Heartwarming.

    This was my first ever Julie Garwood book, I thought the characters were endearing and the plot enchanting. This book also has a few very humorous scenes. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7