Customer Reviews for

Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazing

I fell in love with this book years ago and have read it several times. Hands down it is my favorite book!

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as h

I love Julia Garwood!! This is a good read, but not as good as her other books. It was really good in the beginning and the end, but got a little slow in the middle. Overall a good book.

posted by SouthernGal1 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Julie Garwood you are my Hero!!!! I had never read a book for p

    Julie Garwood you are my Hero!!!!
    I had never read a book for pleasure in my life I was like why bother, if it was any good they would make a movie of it. Boy was I wrong!
    I was due to deliver my first child and my older(and wiser ... don't tell her I said that or I will deny it!) sister had come for the big day, during her visit I saw her laughing as she was reading a book. I could not wrap my head around it, why the heck would a book make you laugh? So for the rest of her visit I teased her about being ridiculous and laughing at a book, but by the time she had to leave my (still stubborn to this day) daughter still had not arrived, so on the day she was leaving to stop me from being my overly emotional and sobbing self my sister slapped the book into my chest and said read it! To which I laughed and wiped away the tears, rolling my eyes the entire time thinking Yeah right, not in this lifetime!
    A few days after my sister departed my daughter was born. I did not have an easy labor. I had broken my coccyx bone(tailbone)during delivery and was in some serious pain and the only way I felt comfortable was to lay flat with my head propped up by pillows. Thank goodness my Mother was there to help me and my beautiful new baby girl as I was pretty much bedridden. On the second day of bedrest I noticed the book laying on the table beside me and decided to humor my sister and as I was stuck in bed what the heck else was there for me to do to while away the hours. So I flipped to the first page and was immediately captivated by the story. (The best Prologue of any book EVER!) To my utter disbelief not only did I laugh (out loud belly laughing when Sara punched her uncle's servant through the open coach window), but I cried! I fell in love with Nathan and Sara and the entire crew of the Seahawk! The story completely swept me away and gave me a love for reading I had never had before. I am now a voracious reader! I have read "The Gift" at least once a year since then (20 years and counting) and I love it now just as much as I did then.
    So to Ms. Garwood I would like to say a profound and heartfelt Thank you! You have given me a true and precious gift and for that I will be forever grateful and a fan for life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Loved this book....

    Awedome read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I fell in love with this book years ago and have read it several times. Hands down it is my favorite book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    What a Hoot!

    I love when Julie writes a love story filled with great characters and abuntant humor. This is such a book. The bride has been waiting so long for the promised groom to come for her. Her family has a different plan for her. She runs away and meanwhile the groom has come to steal her away. He sees her and follows to find out what she is doing. From then on it is a continuous feast of misunderstandings and discovery filled with great humor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

    its another amazing book by my favorite author. I love Nathan if only he was real i would very happy. Youll get romance, drama, comedy, saddness and of course Nathan!!!!!!!!! I reccomend you get this book. You wont regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    Great book!!

    This book was one of the best i've read. Can't wait to read more of Julie Garwood's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Julia is one of my favorite authors, this book lived up to all of my expatations and would recommend you get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful......

    Great read..couldn't put it down til the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    sick book! i loved it

    i may not like to read that much but i fell in love with this book, the plot was grate and had drama, love sexy romance, and a twist i couldn't wrote it any better than it was, the ending made it for me to want MORE and MORE! i am hungry to read more about Nathan and Sara, and what was his reaction to the last line Sara said to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    Loved It!

    This has become my favorite book, I have reread it 3 times already, and I almost never reread books. Sara is somewhat ditzy, but her blind faith in Nathan makes up for it. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Heartwarming.

    This was my first ever Julie Garwood book, I thought the characters were endearing and the plot enchanting. This book also has a few very humorous scenes. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2005

    My Favorite Book - EVER

    I have read and re-read this book time and again, each time just as enchanted with Sarah and Nathan as the first time I met them. Though I have read and enjoyed each of Julie Garwood's books, I have never 'fell in love' with any other book as quickly as I did 'The Gift.' I keep buying the book because I loan it to friends and they refuse to return it! This is a wonderful story, one you can turn to time and again, and find something new to laugh about each time. As such, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    WOW!!! What else can I say?

    Just like E.Ervin, this too was my first Julie Garwood book. It took me all but one and half of a day to read it, and after I did I read it five more times. I usually read books from the library so I don't have to buy them, but after reading this book I just had to go out and buy it. Now I own two of her books and read three, and it has been a month since I first read her book. I'm hoping that by the end of the year I well have read about 1/3 of all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    PHENOMENOL!!!!!

    The first time that I read this book, I was 12. It was my first Julie Garwood book and it got me hooked. Sara and Nathan is the 'wish I was like that' couple to many people out here. This book and all of Julie Garwood other books are the type to books that take you to another place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    I Loved This Book!

    This was a very good book, one of Julie Garwood's best, I would think. Finally a romance novel where the heroine is not the brave, courageous, and strong-willed independent woman. We get to see the kind of woman that most are like at that age and a woman that shows the innocence and love that we all can carry. I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a wonderful experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    Julie Garwood is an amazing author and i've read most all her books. The one feature that i love MOST about her writing style is the sense of humor that her character's have. It makes them all the more loveable. I adore The Gift and Sarah's sense of humor. She's NOT on the verge of stupidity with her naivete, just uncommonly sheltered in the years she spent waiting for Nathan. This is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    Garwood fan

    Julie Garwood is an amazing author. This book was hilarious (especially w/ Sara and her parasols). Garwood is always able to mix humor into her historical romances making them even better reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    this story was very touching,i loved it very much.

    i love this story to the core.its one of my favorites from Julia Garwood,actually i love all of her books.she is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    it was soo good

    omgg this book was soo good. this and guardian angel are my favorite. it was so sweet when sara kept on saying she didnt need to protect herself because nathan's always gonna be there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Julie Garwood is magnificient!!!

    This book is definitely the best historical romance novel that I've ever read. Not only is it romantic but also humorous with an extremely interesting plot. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5