Customer Reviews for

The Gift

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Gift so is a Gift

    Richard Paul Evans did not dissapoint me in this wonderful book. Each of his books are great. This a is a must read. You will laugh, smile and cry. But it is not a sad cry.
    Read and Enjoy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful book

    The book was wonderful story about courge, faith, hope and love. I will read it again some day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Great Book

    Great book from start to finish. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in one day and will be purchasing the authors other books. Highly recommend this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'some things are true whether you want to believe them or not'

    Everyone would love a miracle, especially during the Christmas season. As demonstrated with his mega selling 'The Christmas Box,' Richard Paul Evans is an author who can make us believe in them. As he writes, '...some things are true whether you want to believe them or not.' An especially touching element of this story is that protagonist Nathan Hurst has Tourette's syndrome as does the author. And, Evans once more finds inspiration for his work in personal experience - a dreadful accident occurred to his brother as it does to the fictional Nathan's brother. Thus, this is a book to encourage and enrich us as it renews belief in faith, hope and healing. Our story opens with Nathan remembering his childhood. As he says, 'Tourette's wasn't the worst part of my childhood.' In addition to the ostracization he suffered from other children, his brother suffered a near fatal accident, his father committed suicide, and his mother withdrew. Thus, Nathan was very much alone in the world....until he met Addison Parker and her children, 6-year-old Lizzy and 8-year-old Collin who is desperately ill with leukemia. Working as an in-house detective for the MusicWorld chain, Nathan has a bad case of bronchitis and is on his way home from a business trip when he is stranded by bad weather in the Denver airport. Also stranded are Allison and her family. She has no place to stay, so Nathan offers to give them his hotel room. It is there that Collin touches him and heals him not only of bronchitis but also Tourette's. Readers learn that each person Collin heals weakens him, bringing him closer to his own death. As with other stories by Evans The Gift elicits tears as well as offering comfort because we're reminded that no matter what happen in life, 'In the end, love wins.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My first book by Richard Evans.

    This book was very touching.I enjoyed reading this book.My dad's wife lent me this book. It was a very good idea. She thought I'd enjoy this book and I did. This book touched me emotionally. I work with special ed. children at a Children's Hospital. I know how hard it is for children with special needs to communicate with others. I remember this one boy who had Tourette's. I can't believe how much Nathan's boss acted and Addison'ts husband plus her husband's client Riley.Those people were so selfish.Nathan's boss wanted to be healed b/c of his back problems. Addison's husband wanted to get richer and her husband's client wanted to be cured.

    I felt sorry for Collin,when he healed a person he got sicker.He took a piece of them with him. He first healed their dog Goldie when she ran out of the house and got hit by the car. He brought Goldie back to life. The woman who hit Goldie saw what Collin did and she wanted him to heal her sick son who was dying. Mrs. Pyranovich didn't care if Collin died doing it. She wanted her son to be healthy again. Addison wanted to keep her son safe and alive. This is why she didn't want anyone to see what her son could do. She did it so her son could live longer. When the word got out that Collin could heal, alot of the people came out wanting to be healed or just wanted to be around him. They were so selfish. Especially, Collin's dad who left them in the beginning and now he wants Collin to heal this millionaire for a lot of money. He cared more about getting richer than his own son life. That made me so mad. Collin's dad was never there for them. He left them. Collin's dad and the millionaire Riley got what they deserved in the end. The millionaire-Riley passed away. Collin had tried healing him but it didn't work if Collin didn't want to heal the person. It only worked when Collin liked the person. This man named Hands wasn't a nice man either. He had affairs and he didn't care about Collin. He wanted to be healed. He had poor back problems. Collin had healed this woman-Miche who wasn't able to have a baby. Collin liked her and he healed her. She got her baby in the end. Collin healed people who deserved it. The healing process didn't work on selfish,cold hearted people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    A comforting story

    Nathan Hurst has had a rough life. He left home at an early age after his brother's death and his father's suicide. Nathan's mom was absent after these tragic events so the thought of leaving seemed to be the only solution.<BR/><BR/>Never letting go of his past, Nathan spends most of his adult life isolated from the rest of the world. His isolation is enabled by his career, which requires him to travel often each year. Returning home from a business trip, Nathan finds himself stranded at an airport due to a snowstorm. While waiting in line to book another flight, he meets Addison and her two children, Collin and Lizzy. This chance encounter sets in motion a chain of events that will change Nathan's life and permits him to unload the burdens of his past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Absolutly Powerful

    I had this book for about a month before I started to read it. I could not put it down. I was pulled inot the book by each charachter as they came to life by the authors words. I read this book in 6 hours. It made me cry, laugh and feel for each charachter. I highly reccomend this title to anyone who needs a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Great book Hard to put down

    I found this to be just as wonderful as Mr. Paul's other inspiring books. This is another one could not put down even when I had to. Love the story, characters are very lovable and you can connect with them easily. Can't wait for the next masterpiece from this brillant author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Awesomely the best

    This book is sooo good, thank you Mr.Evans for writing such awesome stories, they make me think about my life and what I should do to help myself and others ariund me... bless you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    D Cook

    Anything Richard Paul Evans writes is a wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED this! One of the best that Evans has produced.

    LOVED this! One of the best that Evans has produced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Heart warming

    Richard Paul Evans never fails to give life lessons as he entertains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Evans has done it again!

    Although it's a little sad, The Gift is another great story by Richard Paul Evans. I would love to see this made into a movie. Don't start reading this book late at night since you may want to stop only when you've read the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2007

    What a Book

    I just could not put it down. My family and I drove 9 hours from Fort Wayne, IN to Rochester NY for Thanksgiving and on the way home I read the entire book... I just could not put it down. Someone said that Richard Paul Evans has done it again, I can say that again. Would love to see this one made into a Movie for the holiday season. Christmas is a big thing for my family and from the likes of it Richard is a big fan of the Christmas season too. Can't wait for the next book... Bring it on.!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Feel good heart warming

    Best book I have read in awhile. Read the book in one day could not but down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A Christmas Gift Indeed

    Read this in three hours Christmas morning while my children slept and all was still. Found it uplifting and so inspiring. Can't wait to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Touching

    This book was great because it made you reflect on your life. i love collin and the relationship between addison and nathan. I was crying so hard when i finished the novel, it was so touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    great story

    richard paul evans is a great storyteller and is very touching and sad story and i hope he write more like that and keep up the good writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    I loved this book...

    I read this book in one day, it was so heart warming and I really fell in love with the caracters. I could not put it donw. I think I will start reading his other novels, if this one is this good I wonder how good his other books are???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2