Customer Reviews for

The Gift of an Ordinary Day: A Mother's Memoir

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Book That Touches the Heart And Allows You To See the Beautiful in the Ordinary

I don't remember the last time my heart was so touched by a book, if ever. Being a mother of boys really helped me identify with the author and her experiences. What a great reminder to slow down and appreciate the beauty in the simple days and remember that things will...
I don't remember the last time my heart was so touched by a book, if ever. Being a mother of boys really helped me identify with the author and her experiences. What a great reminder to slow down and appreciate the beauty in the simple days and remember that things will change eventually, so to live in the moment. The book also did a great job of helping us to see the beauty in our children and to not measure their successes based on what the world says they should be or do, but to love and appreciate them for who they are. I think this is such an important thing to remember to be able to support your children's unique gifts and talents. Just a great book that has certainly changed my view on life and makes me want to be a better mother to my boys in these precious fleeting years I have with them.

posted by Yellie12 on November 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good Intention~Bad Delivery

This is a memoir from a mother who is getting close to having an empty nest. Her son Henry is 17 and thinking about colleges. Jack is going into high school. To top off those already stressful situations, they are moving to a new town and building a new house. Together ...
This is a memoir from a mother who is getting close to having an empty nest. Her son Henry is 17 and thinking about colleges. Jack is going into high school. To top off those already stressful situations, they are moving to a new town and building a new house. Together they go through many emotional ups and downs. But you know that through it all, love is very much present. There is some very good advice in this book, mainly that you should cherish every day. I felt that this book had a poor poor pitiful me aspect to it. When her son gets a low score on his SSAT, she is upset almost to the point of devastation. I have a daughter who has made honor roll all the way through school who is now in college, just a few months from getting her degree. She has made the deans list many times. If she were to get a low score, it would without a doubt be very upsetting to her and that would be what would bother me, not the score. Another thing that I didn't like was the wordage. The book would have affected me more if it was not so repetitive. And all the hoity toity-ness about did me in. I'm just a simple girl trying to read a book that is full of fancy talk and butterfly kisses. Don't get me wrong, I love books that are descriptive, but this was a little over the top for me. The one paragraph that almost made me cover my eyes and scream "no more" was:
I envisioned myself as a sort of house heroine, not a house wrecker. So coming to terms with the idea of knocking down the house had been hard enough. To me, it seemed almost akin to adopting a child, only to give up and send the child back-
(page 73, paragraph 2)
What????? How could anyone compare tearing down a house with the loss of a child? Under any circumstance?

I did finish this book, and I do agree that we need to recognize even the small stuff in our lives for the blessings they are, but the rest of it was not a good fit for my mind.

posted by VickiLN on October 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    A Book That Touches the Heart And Allows You To See the Beautiful in the Ordinary

    I don't remember the last time my heart was so touched by a book, if ever. Being a mother of boys really helped me identify with the author and her experiences. What a great reminder to slow down and appreciate the beauty in the simple days and remember that things will change eventually, so to live in the moment. The book also did a great job of helping us to see the beauty in our children and to not measure their successes based on what the world says they should be or do, but to love and appreciate them for who they are. I think this is such an important thing to remember to be able to support your children's unique gifts and talents. Just a great book that has certainly changed my view on life and makes me want to be a better mother to my boys in these precious fleeting years I have with them.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyed this book as much as mitten strings for gods! I could ea

    enjoyed this book as much as mitten strings for gods! I could easily relate to this book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    A must read for mothers of all ages

    I too bought this book after walking by it and thinking the cover was lovely. I began reading it in the store and couldn't put it down after carrying it around to grab a few pages here and there. It is important for all mothers of any age, however it will mean the most for women right at the authors age (myself included) who have teenagers beginning to separate from you. Her statements about mothering little children and the day-in-day-out routines we too often pass off as mundane are juxtaposed with mothering teenagers when each day is a different kind of challenge. What was so insular and simple when our children were young often becomes a daily battle when our babies are all of a sudden young adults. It made me stop and think about the little moments that make up a day and to cherish the noise in the house, the mess on the counter, . . . things we are all too quick to want to neaten or quiet. These moments make up a loving family life and are fleeting. However they are often swept under the rug as annoyances; this book helps you to see beauty in simplicity. I want to buy a copy for all my friends and give them as gifts and I will refer back to it often for inspiration. This author strikes a cord with mothers facing new challenges and realizing the days of being needed every moment are drawing to an end. It's not all melancholy as the book is really a journey to find yourself after years of defining oneself by motherhood. It is an entertaining and joyful wake-up call to remember what we all too often don't realize until it is too late; appreciate THIS day, it is your life!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    As the mother of two growing boys, I found this book both sad and enlightening. It really has made me think about our day to day life and how quickly things will change as they grow. I definitely identified with the author. Can't wait to read another of her books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Intention~Bad Delivery

    This is a memoir from a mother who is getting close to having an empty nest. Her son Henry is 17 and thinking about colleges. Jack is going into high school. To top off those already stressful situations, they are moving to a new town and building a new house. Together they go through many emotional ups and downs. But you know that through it all, love is very much present. There is some very good advice in this book, mainly that you should cherish every day. I felt that this book had a poor poor pitiful me aspect to it. When her son gets a low score on his SSAT, she is upset almost to the point of devastation. I have a daughter who has made honor roll all the way through school who is now in college, just a few months from getting her degree. She has made the deans list many times. If she were to get a low score, it would without a doubt be very upsetting to her and that would be what would bother me, not the score. Another thing that I didn't like was the wordage. The book would have affected me more if it was not so repetitive. And all the hoity toity-ness about did me in. I'm just a simple girl trying to read a book that is full of fancy talk and butterfly kisses. Don't get me wrong, I love books that are descriptive, but this was a little over the top for me. The one paragraph that almost made me cover my eyes and scream "no more" was:
    I envisioned myself as a sort of house heroine, not a house wrecker. So coming to terms with the idea of knocking down the house had been hard enough. To me, it seemed almost akin to adopting a child, only to give up and send the child back-
    (page 73, paragraph 2)
    What????? How could anyone compare tearing down a house with the loss of a child? Under any circumstance?

    I did finish this book, and I do agree that we need to recognize even the small stuff in our lives for the blessings they are, but the rest of it was not a good fit for my mind.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Pampered Lifestyle

    Most people looking for a "more simple lifestyle" would have to do so on a far more constrained budget than the author. She moves into a new house and helps older son travel to various private colleges and apply at multiple places. It is hard to relate to some of these problems.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    Speaks to the soul of every empty nester

    This selection is the best book I have ever read ! Kenison puts into words what every mother-every parent-experiences as her children grow up and away.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    AWFUL

    This was by far the worst book I have read in the last five years. I was so disappointed. The author is nauseating. As a working mother of three children, it was impossible for me to relate to this obviously "spoiled" mother. Put your money toward a good book - not this one.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Good

    The book was good, written very well but at times very slow and it felt like she was repeating herself over and over and over.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unreadable

    The description sounds so promising, but Kenison jumps around from past to present from motherhood to house renovations with no rhyme or reason that after 50 or so pages I had to toss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Anonymous

    This memoir was life changing for me. The author is honest and "real", as she candidly relates her story as mom & wife, making radical changes to savor the time she has left in her role as "mommy". She put into words my thoughts and feelings in a way I had never been able to express. This book is insightful and uplifting, as she deals with the reality that her mothering years are in the home stretch. She gave me a sense of hope and courage to make the necessary changes to appreciate and enjoy to time that I have left with my children at home. This book helped me to get out of the rat race, take trivial things off of my plate, and enjoy my family. My take away was this: Life is fleeting, so enjoy and appreciate what is important, and let the other stuff go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    A friend of mine, a writer, recommended this book.  I did not li

    A friend of mine, a writer, recommended this book.  I did not like it.  Typical of
    this type of writer (many others like her) we have this  - life's beautiful journey
    sort of thing happening.  The money helps I'm sure.  I would like to say to this writer - look around you,
    there are so many women who are really up against it - these are the women I want to hear from.
     Not some spoiled lady - gee, building a house, oh ugh, wow.  Kid got low test scores - what  will the neighbors think.  It is just so shallow and selfish. and boring.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I enjoyed this

    I really enjoyed the Youtube of the author reading an excerpt of her book. The book was good but not sure others that aren't in similar life stage would enjoy as much. I have 2 sons as well who are getting ready to fly the coop so I could relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Truly inspiring, a must read for every mother

    I bought this book on a whim, because the cover was so beautiful. In this case, I'm happy to say, you really can tell a book by its cover; I was not disappointed. Kenison writes beautifully about all the things every woman confronts --the challenges of growing older, realize that some dreams will never come true, and that our children won't need us 24/7 forever. The way that she struggles with change in her own life, and then learns to find joy and meaning in small, daily pleasures inspired me to pause to look at my life in a different way. Even though my children are still young, and my day-to-day life is totally different, I know that this book will be a guide through what's to come. A great book group book, and one that I plan to give to friends whose kids have left for college.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Loved thus book

    This book was refreshing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Slow

    I liked the meaning of the story but i thought it was a little drawn out. The chapters were to long to keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Surprisingly Good Find

    I am about halfway complete and am finding this to be a surprisingly good find. The writing is very descriptive and full of color. Definite recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Must read!

    THE GIFT of an ORDINARY DAY is a remarkable heart warming story of a mother's journey will raising two sons. One son is a special needs child that overcomes obstacles. The other son is gifted and athletic. This is a spiritual journey that enlightens with insights for that A HA moment! The author crafts many insights to her journey for this time in her life. Katrina Kenison also has the wisdom to trust and let go to the next part of her life.
    I am using this novel as a spiritual guide for meditation. The author weaves and crafts answer to daily living.T

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    dislike

    I did not care for this book at all. Very slow moving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7