Customer Reviews for

Gift from the Sea

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

    This book was recommended by my Priest while experiencing difficulities in my life. Separation from my husband, dealing with a neice and nephew we took in, two birth children living in Texas due to the oldest divorce and child residing with her mother, an emotionally impaired and mentally challenged sister, death of mother, sister and grandmother in six month time span!

    Intially I was not excited about the book; but as you read and immerse yourself in the author's preception and thoughts while on vacation with her family you become engrossed. The more you read, you feel like she has been reading your mind and some or all the topics become familiar.

    Though I think her intended audience is for woman; I feel a man could get a good idea of things concern woman and how we feel.

    I purchased two additional books and sent one to my daughter and the other to a dear friend.

    I highly recommend it - quick read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I picked up a Gift From The Sea after reading the historical fic

    I picked up a Gift From The Sea after reading the historical fiction novel The Aviator's Wife by Melanie Benjamin, which is loosely about the life of the author Anne Morrow Lindbergh. I learned from The Aviator’s Wife that Anne was a smart, poetic, insightful and strong woman. This definitely shows through out the book A Gift From Sea. Her interpretation of shells along the beach comparing them to a woman’s life as we grow, marry, have children still keeping our individuality as strong women. 




    What I like about a Gift From The Sea is that it is a book that can be reread over the years and you keep learning from it. I feel that this first time that I have read it, that I am (at 35) still an infant in my years and have yet much to learn from this world. I feel as Anne’s daughter Reeve said, in the intro I have that, it is a book that should be read once a year. 




    The interpretation of the shells found along the beach, and comparing them to life, was sometimes lost on me but still interesting. 




    In the end this a book I am keeping. I hope to return to it possibly once a year to reread. As much as I learned from it there is so much more that I will learn from it through the stages of my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    A gift that keeps on giving....

    I enjoyed 'Gift from the sea' immensely as a quick read with much power. In 1955 Anne Morrow Lindbergh spent time away from the daily hustle and bustle of her life on Captiva Island, FL where she wrote this book. Written as a memoir of sorts she takes the shells found on the beach as inspiration. She muses on things like love, simple living, solitude with the ocean as her backdrop. While many books like have popularized a feel good approach to well being and self care, do not put this book in that same category. It is as a woman reflecting on her life and sharing her unique point of view with the reader. It felt like reading an open diary. Meaningful and poignant, it seems like a book that could be kept in a library and read several times, each time with renewed appreciation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    This book helped me realize the many roles we play and the stage

    This book helped me realize the many roles we play and the stages we go through in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    A really good book for women

    I enjoyed the book. A thought provoking book. Pleasant. I'm so glad the author added the last chapter too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Great Inspirational read.

    I read a chapter a day so I could reflect on each chapter. Good book group discussions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Life changing book

    My mom gave me this book to read a long time ago, and I never read it..till recently when I was roaming the isles of BAN. The chapter "Moonshell" was an incredibly moving part of this book for me, speaking into where I was at that time in my life. Lindbergh is an amazing artist of using parallels with nature to shape her thought processes of her life experience. Loved the book, easy read, very fulfilling and I would recommend every woman, no matter what age or stage of life, to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A classic - everytime you pick it up you will learn something new

    Anne Morrow Lindbergh has given us such an amazing gift of a novel. It was written many years ago but it is filled with timeless wisdom. A different chapter will probably resonate with you with each reading, which is what makes it so breath-takingly beautiful. I want to read it everyday to remind myself of the beauty of words and to be reassured that I am not alone in my feelings or fears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    While I am not an avid reader, and do not enjoy nor finish many books I ever pick up, I throughly enjoyed the piece of work by Anne Morrow Lindbergh, 'Gift From the Sea.' It is elegant storytelling at its best. Conveying not only a message of hope but fulfilling the reader with such enjoyments that are reminicint of childhood innocence. It is a calming and provacative piece that examines the role of womanhood in the mid- 20th century. Lindbergh delves deep into reach the core of innate human emotions that I believe all people experience a yearning for-- to extend beyond one's boundaries and find solace in the smallest and simipliest of endevours. Above all it is a book that not only caught my attention, but kept it and that is difficult in and of itself. A concept that is internationally relatable, a woman longing for more than her mundane daily life and the limits of her world and who she exists to be. Freedom's truest defintion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Creative writting

    Have you ever sat and analyzed who you really are? Can you imagine taking the shell of a hermit crab and becoming mortalized within its home? A Gift From The Sea illustrates a powerful story where you are taught how to understand and identify with your outer shell. Anne W. Lindenburgh¿s use of imagery enables the reader to find him or herself within the book, in order to provoke understanding from different perspectives. How often can you say that you have read a book about identity, and are given such unrealistic objects to read about? Within this story you aren¿t given the background of an ordinary person on a voyage t find oneself through trial and tribulations. However you are taken by the hand and led the way to explore the depths of the sea with all its sea shells, which one of them will ultimately define you. This book is about imagination, exploration of identity, and finding oneself, through the depths of a seashell. Fall deep into the depths of the water, walk around on the gritty sand, beat on your hard shell, and find yourself within A Gift From The Sea.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Insightful

    I bought this book in 1994 because I had to as a result of an English Teacher. I read the book in 94 because I had to. I have re-read it every year since and have gotten something new out of it everytime because I want to. I have bought it as a present and recommended it for friends during hard or difficult periods in their lives. I love this book. I still have my original copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1