Customer Reviews for

Gift of Dyslexia: Why Some of the Smartest People Can't Read and how They Can Learn

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Excellent resourse!

    I've been trying to figure out why my son has challenges with reading and writing for the past 2 years. On a hunch I picked up this book. What I read was amazing and so informative! Reading this book was the turning point that gave us so much insight as to how our son understands the world around him. The chapter on how a dyslexic reads and understands a common sentence was SO enlightening. I always thought dyslexia was just mixing up letters (and many of my friends do also), but now I understand it's so much more! This book has opened up so many doors for my son and I am forever grateful for the information it provided to us as our school system was failing us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Outdated, Irrelevant, Disproven Theories, Blatant Promotion of a "Quick Cure"

    As a graduate student, a teacher, and a sister of two dyslexic brothers, I am for the first time compelled to write a review of a book. I have just finished reading 10 books on dyslexia and various learning disabilities and the first thing I must stress is 'Date of Publication' matters! The vast majority of books about dyslexia are outdated and based on untested theories. Ronald Davis used his book "The Gift of Dyslexia" to promote his own program, aimed at 'curing' dyslexia. He has the cause and treatment of dyslexia completely wrong! He's based his theories on nothing but his own opinion and his own research (for research to be considered scientific, it has to be proven by an outside source). Please Please do not waste your time or money following his theories on perception and the 'mind's eye'. Dyslexia has been proven time and time again to be a neurological difference, not a vision problem. It is a learning disability, not a disease to be cured. It is not life threatening and it can be managed with various reading programs, assistance by educators and especially by extra time and help from parents! There are still many theories circling around this learning disability, as with any problems that revolve around differences in brain 'wiring'. However, as technology advances, so does knowledge and research. As an alternative, I would suggest "Overcoming Dyslexia" by Sally Shaywitz. It's not perfect but it is a hundred times more relevant and scientifically based than Davis' book. If you're looking for help with IEP's and understanding what additional resources are available to students with learning disabilities, "Nolo's IEP Guide: Learning Disabilities" by Lawrence M. Siegel" would probably be a big help. Good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!!!!!!

    This is the first book out of MANY that I have read that really helped to summarize my son and his wonderful gift. After reading the book it is so easy to understand where he is coming from and why he does so many of the things he does. We are now continuing down the path of Ron Davis' program!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Memoirs, not science

    This book is just the author's recollections of his problems, and what helped him. The author was autistic, not dyslexic. But he describes autism as 'super-dyslexia,' even though autism and dyslexia are not related. Children with dyslexia have a normal range of intelligence. They are not super-geniuses who think 400 times faster than ordinary people. Some of the author's suggestions for teaching would be helpful. But if you are working with a dyslexic person, stick with books and methods based on science like 'Overcoming Dyslexia' by Dr. Sally Shaywitz.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    Family of Dyslexia

    I enjoyed reading the book. I found a lot of very interesting facts and some great explanations as to the way I see the world verses the rest of the world. I have a 14 year old son who is also blessed with the gift of Dyxlecia, I was his parent advocate and believe that all educators would benifit from this book. I origanly started reading this book for a class and in the end found it very hard to put down. I have shared it with my brother who has a potential dyslexia he is currantly raising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    This really does Work!

    I have read this book, and belive me, I did have to re-read some of the information over a few times before I fully understood what it was saying. This is due to my 'Gift of Dyslexia' and not anything on the part of the author. It IS the answer to many prayers. You need to read All of the book to understand why it works. Not only does it help explain why my father, sister and I are the way we are...it also has given me reference to a Certified Davis Learning Center that I sent my son to. Not only does it help, but everything really makes sense now. It is not easy and will take a lot of hard work and time, but the end result is great. I have a list of 40-50 parents that have used this program for this learning center that all have had sucess with it. I am giving this book to several people for christmas so they can understand our family better. Thank you so much Ronald Davis...you have opened a door for several of us! (Check out their website for online information.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    Snake Oil? Wishful Thinking?

    This is certainly an interesting read. But the author (who apparently emerged from autism and became a success in business) claims that what worked for him will work for everyone. I wish! For one thing, autism and dyslexia are not the same thing. And who really knows what happened to the author neurologically? His case was certainly not typical. For another, I'd like to see some research. One method he recommends, making letters out of clay, probably will help because it's multi-sensory. But parents of dyslexics, in my opinion, would be better off sticking to the methods that have proven successful: Orton-Gillingham (and Slingerland), Lindamood Bell, and the computer program Fast Forward (which is going through testing at universities.) The National Institute of Health (the children's section) has done tons of research--and you can read about it on their web site. On the plus side, I like the emphasis on the abilities dyslexics often display. As a tutor, I met lots of dyslexics who were whiz kids when it came to, say, spacial relations. It help to celebrate their talents instead of always looking at their disabilities.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    An Answer To Prayer!!

    This book was truly an answer to prayer! My homeschooled daughter was progressing so slowly and everything about reading, writing and math was so much work for her and this book helped me to understand why and provide me with the answers to 'correct' the problems. She is very proud that she has dyslexia now because it truly is a 'gift'. This book totally helped me understand what dyslexia is and it is completely different from what my 'pre-conceived' idea of dyslexia was. It is absolutely fascinating reading. I couldn't hardly put it down. Thank you Mr. Davis!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2000

    Enlightening

    I have a dyslexic teenage daughter. She is one of the lucky ones because she was diagnosed early and entered a wonderful school where she flourished. This book helped me to understand clearly for the first time what she sees when she reads and how her brain perceives the world around her. It was an amazing revelation. A must for parents with a dyslexic child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1