Customer Reviews for

A Gift of Grace (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Perfect Glimpse into the Amish Community

    A Gift of Grace is a delightful book set in the Amish Community. The author has obviously done extensive research on the Amish Community of Pennsylvania. The places in the book are based on actual places in Lancaaster County. I enjoyed being transported into the Amish community. I was given insight to the traditional ways. Rebecca's sister, Grace, left the Amish community, married, and had 2 daughters, Jessica and Lindsay. After an accident that killed Grace and her husband, the daughters are sent to Bird in Hand to live with their Aunt Rebecca. This novel describes how 2 teenage girls felt being thrown into the Amish community. Rebecca and her husband had tried for years to have a child, however, she was unable to conceive. Now suddenly, they become the guardians to 2 teenagers raised in the "English World." The girls have just lost their parents and now they are expected to change their way of life to fit into the Amish ways of life. Could life get any more complicated??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read!

    Amy Clipston has truly captured the voice of fifteen-year-old Jessica. Any parent who has raised a teenager knows that the teenage years are challenging under normal circumstances. But what happens when you take a child that age, whose parents have been killed, pull them from everything familiar - their home, school, and friends - and send them to live with relatives in an Old Order Amish community? No TV. No Internet. No place to charge an IPOD or cell phone. Add to that - Jessica will no longer be attending school since the Amish only believe in taking an education through the eighth grade. There go her dreams of graduating with her friends and going to college. But Jessica's younger sister, Lindsay, adapts quite well to the Old Order ways, much to Jessica's horror.

    All Rebecca wants is a happy family and to be a good guardian to her two nieces following the death of her sister and brother-in-law. It's the family she's always wanted, and despite the unhappy circumstances surrounding the situation, Rebecca is certain that it is God's will for the girls to live with her. Early on, Jessica's rebellious behavior causes upset in the community, and Rebecca's husband, Daniel, is held accountable for Jessica's actions. This leads to troubles within the marriage as Rebecca is pulled between her husband and the duty she feels to be a good mother-figure to her nieces.

    The Old Order Amish believe that everything that happens is God's will. But what happens when our own wants and needs block out the voice of God and what is truly His will? Clipston does a great job of posing this question to the reader through Rebecca's thoughts and actions. Rebecca is so determined to be a good mother to these children and to have the happy family she's always wanted, sometimes she doesn't see the bigger picture. My heart ached for both Rebecca and Jessica as they each struggled with the changes within their lives. The ending both surprised and pleased me. It was real and stayed true to the characters.

    This is Clipston's debut novel, and she did an excellent job of capturing the ways of the Old Order Amish. Fans of Amish fiction will enjoy this book, and even if you haven't read stories set within an Amish setting, give this one a try. I look forward to more of Amy Clipston's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Delightful Read!

    A Gift of Grace is a charming, well-written novel which focuses on the emotional and spiritual conflicts which arise between family members from two completely different backgrounds. Ms. Clipston's writing style is both lovely and riveting as she describes the everyday life of a childless Amish couple struggling to adapt to the presence of their Englisher nieces in their home. This is a fantastic story and I could not put A Gift of Grace down until I had finished the very last page! I have already recommended it to my friends, my family members, and my Ladies' Bible study group. This is definitely a MUST READ for anyone who enjoys a wholesome, well-written inspirational romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    I always enjoy the Amish books.

    I like all the Amish books because they are good clean books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Great reading!

    Very much enjoyed the whole series! If you enjoy reading about the Amish people and way of life, be sure to read Kauffman Amish Bakery Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Very Good Book!

    Anyone interested in the Amish lifestyle will love this book! This story follows the journey of an Amish woman who gains custody of her two English (not Amish) nieces after both her sister and her sister's husband die in a car crash. Rumors spread and a few sparks fly, and you'll quickly find yourself saying, "Just one more chapter!" There is just enough drama and romance. I recommend reading the next books in the series. Great for book clubs or just a nice pleasure read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Highly recommended-if you love Amish love stories

    Very well written. You need to get the 2nd book of the series too. Hope there will be a #3 bk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good story line, refeshing.

    Shows family love and respect for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Five stars!

    Another great Amish story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good Book

    It's been awhile since I've read any Amish Series. This is my first time with this author. Really enjoyed this book and the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Awesome book!!! Highly recommend!!!

    Rebecca Kauffmanis guardian of her deased sister's ( Grace & her husband Philip died in an automobile accident)teen-age children. Jessica & Lindsay are moved from their English world to Amish. Daniel Rebecca's husband doesn't think the girls will want to stay & become Amish, but he is wrong. At end of the story Lindsay does stay but Jessica does go & live with Trisha & Frank McCabe. During the story Daniel & Rebecca's marriage is tested, she must do what is right for Jessica & Lindsay & also with her husband. Her descion was hard but was for the best. She did let Jessica live in Virginia with Trisha & Frank, she could visit her sister ( Lindsay & relatives)when ever she wanted. Also at begining of story Rebecca & Daniel tried for many years to have kinner, but it didn't happen. I was happy at the end of the story she was with child. Her & Daniel were very happy of this news.I had a hard time putting this book down. I had to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Must read!

    Couldn't put the book down! Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    A Very good read!

    The stability and faith of the Amish draws you through the pages. It was hard to put the book down. I felt I knew the charaters and finished this book wanting to read the next in the series. KD-BR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Love it!

    This was the first book I read of any Amy Clipston books. The story kept me reading from chapter to chapter until I was finished and wanted to read more! I ended up buying the whole series to read on my eBook. I am on book #4 now and still excited about reading them. I picked a great series and highly recommend it. I will be checking out more books from Amy Clipston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    True to Life

    Although this is considered an Amish Romance, the author has sucessfully combined the very real feelings of a contemporary troubled teenager with the love story of two married folk who suddenly find themselves guardians. You are able to see both sides of the story in a plot that never feels phony. Terrific read, especially for those of us who appreciate the notion that God is with us even when he works in myterious ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Great read

    I couldn't put the book down! It reminds us that our will is not always God's will and that besides praying, we also have to listen for the answer. I can't wait to start the next one in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book-- I loved the character development a

    I really enjoyed this book-- I loved the character development and the great realism of the characters' reactions to the situations they found themselves in. Amy Clipston has a real talent for writing the voices of teenage girls as well as the adults in the Amish community. I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Loved it!

    So glad to find another author that pulls me into her story and won't let go. Heartwarming story of faith and family-just what I love. Can't wait to get into the next ones in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Old School VS New School - We Can Learn From Both

    Amy Clipston's first book will certainly not be her last. She has a flair for telling a story that includes in depth meaning. From the beginning of the story until the end Amy has you wanting to turn to the next page to find out more.A few of the values that jumped from the pages into my life were: (A) "Jessica shook her head. 'I don't get you people. You claim to be such wonderful Christians, yet you're the most two-faced people I've ever met.'" This was a soul searching thought to ask myself are there different standards that one sets and do we live what we preach. (B) When Rebecca's mother-in-law said to her: "Have you listened to what God has been telling you? Have you really listened _ with your heart?" What a great question to each of us and one that I want to remember. Decisions in life are made after listening to what God is telling us. How easy it is for us to forget and do it backwards.Readers will love how the older Amish life is spun into the current life of English sisters who lost their parents in an automobile crash, yet the love of God comes shinning through even in the most difficult of times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Extremely touching storytelling

    I really enjoyed this book. I instantly connected with the characters and was actually in tears at the end of the first chapter. I felt like I had also suffered loss with Jessica and Lindsay. As a new Amish fiction reader, I highly, highly recommend this book! Beautifully written and wonderful ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8