Customer Reviews for

A Gift of Grace (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Very Good Book!

    Anyone interested in the Amish lifestyle will love this book! This story follows the journey of an Amish woman who gains custody of her two English (not Amish) nieces after both her sister and her sister's husband die in a car crash. Rumors spread and a few sparks fly, and you'll quickly find yourself saying, "Just one more chapter!" There is just enough drama and romance. I recommend reading the next books in the series. Great for book clubs or just a nice pleasure read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    I always enjoy the Amish books.

    I like all the Amish books because they are good clean books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good story line, refeshing.

    Shows family love and respect for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Good!

    When Rebecca Kauffman's older sister, who left the Amish community when she was a teenager, dies in an automobile accident, Rebecca is left custody of her two modern non-Amish teenage nieces, Jessica and Lindsay. Will she be able to reconcile the two worlds in her home-or will the clash of cultures tear her world, including her marriage, apart? My Review - I use to love to read Amish books and for some reason I haven't read any in a really long time. But I'm glad that I decided to read this book. I'd bought this book back in December right after getting my Nook aka Herbie, and I'd put off reading it because it's apart of the series. When I was looking for a book I just said to myself I'm not putting it off any longer, I'm going to read it and if I like it I'll either buy the second one or I'll see if the library has it. Well, I loved it! I'm stingy with my four and five stars but this was definitely a four star. I loved Rebecca and Lindsey. Jessica on the other hand got on my nerves. And I couldn't imagine Jamie and I arguing the way the Amish do in this story. Before I even finished this book I had the second and third book on hold at my library (because they are $10 on Herbie) and I'm sure when the fourth one comes out I'll be reading it too. SO GOOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Gift of Grace

    Amy Clipston's debut novel, A Gift of Grace is the first book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series. Readers will be enthralled by Clipston's descriptions of the Old Amish Order community and it's people. This is a book about the shock of trying to blend two totally different cultures and the author does a wonderful job of showing the differences in between the Amish way of life and that of the Englisher.

    Rebecca Kauffman's dream was to be a mother and a good Amish wife. But, her dreams had to be put on hold when she was unable to have a baby. The Old Order Amish community she lives in, believes that everything that happens is God's will and for a purpose. There faith is sorely tested when Rebecca's sister is killed in a car accident and her two teenage daughters are left in her custody. Not only are they teenagers who have lost their parents, but they are English, raised outside the Amish community and totally unprepared for the Amish way of life. Lindsay adjusts well to the Amish life and is a joy to both Rebecca and Daniel, but Jessica is another story. There's no TV, no internet, nothing familiar in her life and she begins to rebel at the quiet, simple Amish life. When Daniel is held accountable for her actions it begins to cause problems in Rebecca's marriage. Rebecca struggles to help the girls adjust while trying to be a good Amish wife. Will she be able to blend the two cultures or will it change her life forever?

    A Gift of Grace is a very poignant novel. The characters are faced with a situation that would challenge anyone. Two teenage girls who have lost their parents. They not only have their whole lives changed in the blink of an eye but they must leave their home, their school and their friends behind, go to a place they have never been and start a completely different life. Talk about culture shock! They go from an English lifestyle which includes: TV, internet, ipods, cell phones and college plans to a totally different existence. I can't imagine what both Rebecca and her nieces must have felt. Clipston does wonderful job of voicing the teenage angst that Jessica feels as well as Rebecca's fears and worries. She is able to get inside the heart and mind of teen who is devastated by loss and a woman who finally has what she always wanted a family, though it isn't what she expected.

    Rebecca goes through some very big changes throughout the book. It seems like her dreams have been dropped in her lap, only to cause more problems than she ever dreamed. Problems in her marriage, her community and in her heart. She is full of doubts and worries as she tries to guide these two high-spirited young girls and still do her duty as an Amish wife. She begins to doubt herself and even her faith at one point in the book, and the author was able to show readers how Rebecca was feeling with compassion and a lot of feeling. I think readers will really identify with her character because many people face issues in their lives that either strengths their faith or defeats it. Rebecca is a very inspirational character who shows us how to reconcile two worlds.

    Jessica a young girl in turmoil. Most teens who are emotionally unsettled a lot of the time, but they don't have the added devastation of losing their parents and everything they feel that is normal in their lives. Not only is Jessica transported to a whole new way of life, she has to give up her friends and her dreams of attending college, since the Amish do not believe in girls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    sweet

    the idea behind this story is a bit too predictable but it was overall a good read. my only complaint is the ending......it ends a bit quickly....its like there is a huge build thru the whole story and then it ends and the ending doesnt have anything to do with the main characters really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Entertaining

    I enjoyed this book and found myself a bit sad to see it end. Easy reading on a dreary day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    A Surprise Ending!

    This is only the second Amish book I've read - I have to admit it is not my genre of choice. But since I've been reviewing/influencing books I've tried to keep a very open mind. I've been pleasantly surprised in doing so, as I was with this book. I couldn't tell if this was the girls story or if it was Aunt Rebecca's story. I suppose it could be both. It seemed that Rebecca's husband Daniel was being very hard on the girls as well as his wife, while they all tried to adjust to the lose of their mother and sister and their new surroundings. Rebecca got the children she had always which for - she just didn't think they would come in the form of teenagers. I felt they were being especially hard on Jessie (the oldest girl and having the hardest time adjusting to Amish ways) and I had no idea how they were going to handle the situation that had unbearable for all of them. Rebecca's mother-in-law kept telling her to "listen", but she didn't understand what that meant - not until Jessie runs away and finds herself in an accident. I must admit I never saw the ending coming and I was pleased and surprised with how Rebecca decided to handle things. It was worth reading the book just to get to that part. There is a lesson to be learned - our desires may not be what is best for others around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Amish Fiction

    A sweet, touching book set in Lancaster Pennsylvania. Characters are developed and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    A heartbreaking but sweet story

    I was only a few pages into the book before I was hooked. The main character, Rebecca, is an Amish woman whose sister and brother-in-law (who are not Amish) are killed in a car accident. Their daughters, Rebecca's nieces, are left suddenly in her care. The novel's conflicts revolve around the classic theme of culture clash as her nieces struggle to adjust to a very different kind of daily life in the Amish community.

    To me, the characters are the best part of the story. Rebecca's innocence and especially her optimism make her compelling. Daniel's hard-line leadership of the family is both necessary and frustrating. Jessica's rebellion and teenage hard-headedness are convincing. And Lindsay's sweet, accepting nature is endearing. I learned a bit about the Amish culture, too, that I didn't know before. Clipston has done her research, and it shows.

    If you really like the book, you are rewarded with continuity, too. This book is the first in a series, so characters that are interesting but minor in *The Gift of Grace* take on starring roles in future installments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Beautiful!

    I really enjoyed this book. I instantly connected with the characters and was actually in tears at the end of the first chapter. I felt like I had also suffered loss with Jessica and Lindsey. As a new Amish fiction reader, I highly, highly recommend this book! Beautifully written and wonderful ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2