BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Gift of Valor: A War Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    What an Inspiring Book...

    After hearing about Cpl Dunham as he was awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor, I wanted to read the book to find out what kind of person would be so selfless. The story was well written, and although it jumps around a bit, it does an excellent job of allowing the reader remember characters, even minor ones, as they are introduced. There are stories to go with each person, making it easy to recall who Phillips is talking about. The main focus is Dunham, and in describing his life, Phillips makes the reader really feel like he knows Jason and knows the pain everyone associated with him is going through, as the last days of Jason's life were constructed with many extensive interviews. One really gains a sense of the fact that the Marine Corps are a family and take care of their own. This book tells the story of an individual soldier, but it could be the story of any American soldier killed in battle. Cpl Dunham is someone who every American should look up to as a model of patriotism not because of the war or duty to his country, but because of his duty to his fellow man that without hesitation cost him his life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Fabulous

    Fabulous book heartbreaking

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Contest judge

    Oh yeah got messed up good luck!;)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Hard to put down.

    What a way to tell the story. It was diffacult to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Heroic story of a Marine who gave his own life to save others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    Amazing book

    I had the privelage of serving with Cpl Jason Dunham and this book will have you hooked in from page one, and on the verge of tears at page 100. I was there when this happened and it is a very accurate description of the events that resulted him in winning the first medal of honor in the the war in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    This one captured my heart...

    I have read many books about our Armed Forces in the Middle East. They range from personal accounts of the war from the soldiers and marines, to memiors by reporters and other personnel. If you only read one book about this subject, this is the one! Corporal Dunham will always be a hero to me, and how fitting is it that he is going to be awarded the MEDAL OF HONOR. I can't even put into words how much his story captured my heart. God Bless you, Corporal Dunham, and your family who will always be in my prayers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A real Superman

    I have not read the whole book, but what I have read is truly heartbreaking. To think that such a brave and vital young man could be gone is truly sad, but it was nice to see that he was never alone. Like another reviewer, I got this book after hearing about his getting the MOH and from what I read it was truly deserved-he gave his life to save his friends. It was also nice to see the care that he had gotten from everyone in the medical system. All in all a wonderfully written book about a brave man. Regarding the title of my review-unlike Superman, Jason Dunham knew he could die and did it anyway, making him a real hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2006

    The Tale Of A Man Named Jason Dunham

    U.S. Marine Corporal Jason Dunham is a remarkable man. One day while making his rounds of the town of Baghdad, Iraq with his men, he stops at what he thinks is an abandoned car. He walks over carefully to check if there are any weapons inside the vehicle. When he walks up to the car the driver (who was slouched down in the front seat) jumps toward him in an attempt to kill Corporal Dunham. The Corporal now finds himself fighting for his life and to make the situation even worse the insurgent drops a grenade. In attempts to save his life and the lives of his men, he takes his helmet and forces it on top of the grenade. Through Michael M. Phillips this story is brought alive. It is an exciting and moving story of Corporal Dunham and how he becomes a U.S. Marine. This small town native comes from a torn family and a battered past. But his future looks much better. This book is about how our U.S. Marines are trained. Unlike news reports and other media that covers the Iraq war, this book puts you into the war and really tells you the truth about the war. It shows you the way the Marines live and fight through hard times. It also makes you appreciate the Marines a lot more because when you read this book you get attached to the story and the lives of many extravagant men. Each man has his own stories but the main man is Jason Dunham. As you read his story, you will feel as if you are right there in the war with him. It leaves you feeling inspired and knowledgeable about what really happens at wartime.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    A Real War Story...

    When you watch the TV news, you get 'sanitized' versions of the events in Iraq. When you read 'A Gift Of Valor,' you get the truth about what's going on over there. Marines and soldiers are putting their lives on the line for one purpose - to allow the Iraqi people a chance to breathe free from oppression. I feel that this book deserves as many as ten stars for telling it like it is. War is hell and our people are literally taking it on the chin. We face a fanatical enemy who doesn't respect anything or anyone and the story of Jason Dunham tells us that. He is a hero just as Army Sergeant Paul Smith is and should be honored for his actions. He was also a good human being in his own right and this book does a fantastic job of communicating that to the reader. I highly recommend this story of courage and sacrifice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    A note from a Marine

    Cpl Dunham is a real hero that is the way Marines are trained to protect your brothers because they are all you have in the bush. He was protecting his fire-team and it really is a tradgy that we are getting our service men and women killed.Our Commander and Chief would not go and fight when our county called on him that is a big double standard if you ask me. SEMPER FI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Jason Dunham

    I believe he is a martyr for his bravery action and also an unselfish act to give his life away to protect his comrades. When I read his story 05/30/05 in the Parade in an instant I felt that he was a real true american hero. Never forget he may not be here physically but will always remain here spirtually in our hearts. I am definately going to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1