Customer Reviews for

A Gift to Last: Can This Be Christmas?\Shirley, Goodness and Mercy

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    A gift to Last - Debbie Macomber

    I found the book to be wonderful. I love the angels characters. They are so filled with love and try so hard to be good but just fall a little short. It makes them all the more lovable. I wished the book had another 100 pages because I just didn't want it to end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    A Good Read!

    Another couple of good, clean stories in the famous style of Debbie Macomber. Nobody does them better...too bad so few try. These stories reminded me of some of the simpler joys of Christmas. Thanks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    A combination of Debbie's books: Can This Be Christmas? Thi

    A combination of Debbie's books:




    Can This Be Christmas?
    This book is the first in a collection of two that make up A Gift to Last. It is written as a slice of life. Several strangers are stranded on Christmas Eve, prevented from arriving at their destinations. In telling this story, the author writes each person’s situation and thoughts prior to and during the time they are delayed.
    Usually, I enjoy Debbie’s writing very much. She tells a great story, dipping deeply into problems and solving them in a very strong Christian way without becoming “sappy” with improbable answers. However, I felt very much that this book was very “sappy”. Each character had adult problems and issues, but the solutions were “sappy”. I never knew anyone like these people. I just felt that their responses and behaviors were very unrealistic, but then, I live in South Florida. Maybe people do behave like this elsewhere.
    I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this book to anyone, unless they just want a lesson in how to present a “slice of life” form of writing and some character development.


    Shirley, Goodness and Mercy
    This book was written after the previous one, and the two were combined and released as A Gift to Last. This one brings three angels to earth to help some people solve some serious problems they have in relationships. It is different from Can This Be Christmas?, yet in some ways it is similar.
    The characters could easily be people we all know. They struggle with character flaws with which many of us also struggle. The events fall together so that, as is typical in Debbie’s early books, the ending is usually happy. This one leaves the reader hungry for a better solution in one case, though. The reader will have to wait for another story to find a more satisfying ending there.
    I would recommend this book for light reading. There are some serious issues covered but the angels bring a lighter touch to the story. And, of course, it is good Christian reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Weird!!!!!!!

    Well i got the sample and ut only showed me the first paragra of the first chapter. It was realy weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    highly recommended

    love the book. takes you away from everyday madness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Gift To Last by Debbie Macomber 2 stories about Christmas time

    A Gift To Last by Debbie Macomber
    2 stories about Christmas time.
    Can this be Christmas? A handful of people have been rerouted from a plane to a train to get from Maine to Boston. They made it as far as New Hampshire and the train no longer can go further.
    Rather than telling you about all the people involved I think this book is more about how the all come together and make the celebration a good one. How they can take
    just the bare essentials and make them glorious. Not only do they each step up but the community come to the rescue as well as all of them are not going to make it home
    for the holiday. The time also gives them each the hours they need to think things through to make changes in their lives, once they are back home.
    Love how this story really happened, in a different location to Debbie's parent. I know Snoqualmie area and I can see this happening. Glad she can write such a touching story.
    Love the knitting connections.
    .
    Shirley, Goodness and Mercy by Debbie Macomber
    Greg Bennett had to get a loan or he'd have to lay off his employees at the vineyard.
    Sherry Adams meets him at the bar and he buys her a drink but she doesn't want to spend more time with him.
    He ends up at church so he can think about his empty life. He had others who needed him but he had walked away. He may need to go see his brother and talk things over, apologize even, to get money he needed. He's treated his 3 wives terribly and the angels think they need to show him what christmas is all about.
    He sees one of his ex wives and finds out he has a son but her husband has adopted Eddie. He now plans to meet him.
    The angels also have to deal with a child that has leukemia. Others come to his aid trying to get others to
    donate blood to see if they are a donor match. Other relatives of Greg need help and some of them can give help to Greg.
    It's up to the angels to make it all happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Awesome!

    2 wonderful Christmas stories...great reading for any time of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    DM 2

    another one of my favorites - love these books - takes away so much stress - like a hot bubble bath of the mind to relax and refresh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Genuine Christmas Spirit

    I usually really enjoy Debbie Macomber's books. But this one was truly inspiring. It shows us that even though we are so caught up in our daily lives, we all have the ability and desire to be a good and generous person, to make a difference in someone's life. We just need to feel needed. This book sets the example in an extreme situation. This story shows us that being forced to dig deep into our inner being to find the real person and letting go of everyday issues, to help someone else, can bring out the best in each of us. You will come away from this story with a heart-felt smile, and true Christmas spirit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2