Customer Reviews for

Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(195)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Gifted Hands: Ben Carson

Oh my goodness!!!! Where can I start? This book was truly amzing and inspirational. I absolutely loved it! Dr. Ben Carson's story is truly incredible. He grew up without much, and was teased a lot as a child, but he still managed to keep his head up, stay at the top of ...
Oh my goodness!!!! Where can I start? This book was truly amzing and inspirational. I absolutely loved it! Dr. Ben Carson's story is truly incredible. He grew up without much, and was teased a lot as a child, but he still managed to keep his head up, stay at the top of his class, and eventually, he followed his dream, and became one of the world's top neurosurgeons. I admire him so much. I would recommend this book to EVERYONE. It's for people of all ages, and this book will truly touch you and possibly change the way you see things and people. Please read this book!

posted by ZoZo on April 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Arrogant

Very self serving. For shame.

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Gifted Hands: Ben Carson

    Oh my goodness!!!! Where can I start? This book was truly amzing and inspirational. I absolutely loved it! Dr. Ben Carson's story is truly incredible. He grew up without much, and was teased a lot as a child, but he still managed to keep his head up, stay at the top of his class, and eventually, he followed his dream, and became one of the world's top neurosurgeons. I admire him so much. I would recommend this book to EVERYONE. It's for people of all ages, and this book will truly touch you and possibly change the way you see things and people. Please read this book!

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Must read

    I have been searching for this book after I heard an interview with Dr. Carson on 98rock (baltimore radio station). So many people need to hear "people are just people". I wish his mom wrote a book on parenting :)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    This is an inspiring true story of an illiterate mother's faith

    This is an inspiring true story of an illiterate mother's faith and requirement of the highest standards for her children that encouraged her son, against all odds, to become a reknowned pediatric neurosurgeon. He candidly tells his struggles, failures, and ultimate victories. Gripping story, an enjoyable must read! The movie is very good, too - but a book tells so much more of the inner person.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    making a difference

    "gifted hands" is a very moving memoir by one of this nations top surgeons in the country. as a child he was not doing very well in school and was involved in gang activity and did not want to read his father had left the family and as a child he had a bad temper. dr carson shows in this amazing book how his mother and faith books turned his life around so much so that he was able to go to college and later become a top doctor that helps children. anyone can be greatly encouraged by this doctors life as well as the life lessons that he shares in the back of the book great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Truly Remarkable

    A truly remarkable story about a remarkable man's journey to do God's will for him in this lifetime and help the entire human race in the process. We need more Ben Carson's to be sure. It reminded me of the importance of belief in oneself and humility throughout our lives. I feel fortunate to live in a country where the Ben Carson story can be the norm rather than the exception. He is an exceptional human being. Thanks Dr. Carson for keeping your focus all these years on God and his will for you. You have brightened this planet with your joy for your work and family.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    ¿ :)

    I just purchased, I can tell you this is going to be great. Im in ten pages and had to stop to give it five stars. †

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Sheer Inspiration!!!!!+

    This is the first book that I read in 'ONE' day.I simply couldn't put it down.I plan on reading it to my students here at school.Everybody should read this wonderful book!!!!!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2014

    The autobiography Gifted Hands by Ben Carson is an inspiring sto

    The autobiography Gifted Hands by Ben Carson is an inspiring story of how an inner-city Detroit kid becomes one of the best neurosurgeons in the world.  He shows how he beat racism, and how he embraces the power of God to perform miracles. He shows how he struggled through college, and how he fell in love.  He describes the hard decisions he had to make, and how he made them.  In all, it was a very good read, and I’d recommend it to anyone.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Great book. Great Man.

    I can not believe that someone thinks that Dr. Ben Carson's story is self-serving. This book tells his story, and I have had the privilege of meeting him personally. He is a true servant-leader, a genuinely humble man in that he gives all credit for his success to God and his mother. One of the most inspirational people alive today.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Gifted Hands

    I really thought this was a good book, really inspiring. It tells the story of how Ben Carson struggled beginning in elementary school being the slow one that always got everything wrong in class to being the highest achiever in his high school years. This book comes to show that anything is possible as long as you work hard on it and don¿t give up. We all go through our struggles as well as Ben he had to go through his parent¿s separation when he was only eight years old. Those were only the beginning of his problems. Only reading the book will tell you what other struggles Ben goes through. When I started reading this, I thought to myself ¿Oh this is just some lame book I was assigned to read!¿ but as I started reading it I really got into it. The characters in the book all seem to be Ben¿s inspiration to be everything he can be. It almost relates to me because a lot of people in my life are my inspiration to always do my best and not to quit. His brother and mother seem to be the pushing force behind all of Ben¿s success. Ben is a lot like me in many ways, we both went through some really hard times that were hard to overcome. But in the end, I always somehow get by it as well as Ben in this story. My overall review has to say that this book is an inspirational story that motivates anyone who reads it to try to succeed and always do their best, because in the end its always worth the try.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Disappointed

    I know this must be a very good book, and I would love to read it (I very much admire Dr Carson with his stand for American liberty); however, my HD Nook keeps giving a message that it "does not support this file type". I am very disappointed. Hopefully, someone at B&N can fix this soon.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Outstanding

    Fabulous man, doctor and fabulous mother!! What a great biography!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    Awesome Book!

    I had to read this book for summer reading, and I really thought it was going to be boring, but I was wrong. When I started reading, I couldn't stop. Like the others have said, it is a very inspirational book, inspiring you to do your best and have faith in God. This book makes me want to know more about surgery, more specifically the brain. The first part of the book about his childhood is a little boring at first, personally I enjoyed the second half (adulthood) better than the first half. This man is truly amazing in what he does, saving children(and some adults for that matter) when others have failed. A terrific book about a terrific man. I fully recommend it to teens and adults.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Worth the time

    Extremely well written and straightforward boigraphy. He could have made this a race issue but its more than that. Its a human race issue of overcoming obstacles to be the best person he could be. Love him! Loved the book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Gffsadgvgfdedcffrzss

    Sorry i just had to do that but i love the movie and im sure i would love the book too but whenever i try to purchase it it says i already have it in my library.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Gifted Hands

    I felt that this book was very inspirational, that despite many obstacles this man was able to overcome them and become a wonderful physician that is able to help many people especially children.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    great book

    Great book was able to share it with a few inmates at a correctional facility,and they were all inspired by same.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Wonderful!!!!

    It is hard to remain neutral as I work with Dr. Carson. He is a very intelligent man. It is great to see someone come from nothing to something. Very inspirational to everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    Excellent Book!!!

    I think that Gifted Hands is a very inspirational and educational book and everyone should read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2001

    Insprirational

    Mr.Ben Carson is a role model to me he had some of the same home issues I have. He always wanted to become a doctor, which he did. This lets me know as student it does not matter where you come from it is where you are going. Just keep GOD number one and you will be alright.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 280 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14