Customer Reviews for

Gifted Hunter

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Liked this one too

This story leaves off from Gifted Apprentice when Evallon heals Sallis as a child and takes him as payent for his services. He teaches Sillis the gifts he was born with and in this book Sallis travels from his homeland of Re Ann to Marka to become a bounty hunter. At th...
This story leaves off from Gifted Apprentice when Evallon heals Sallis as a child and takes him as payent for his services. He teaches Sillis the gifts he was born with and in this book Sallis travels from his homeland of Re Ann to Marka to become a bounty hunter. At the age of 15 he is interesteed in justice not the money and uses his gifts to capture the thief. 219 pages.

posted by 14911476 on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting fantasy/mystery

Somewhat underdeveloped fantasy side of the story, more mystery than anything really. Set in a fantasy world the main character is something of a savant/mystic and able to solve crimes due to his gifts. Would have been interesting to see the fantasy side of the story ...
Somewhat underdeveloped fantasy side of the story, more mystery than anything really. Set in a fantasy world the main character is something of a savant/mystic and able to solve crimes due to his gifts. Would have been interesting to see the fantasy side of the story developed further.

posted by JenCampbell on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Liked this one too

    This story leaves off from Gifted Apprentice when Evallon heals Sallis as a child and takes him as payent for his services. He teaches Sillis the gifts he was born with and in this book Sallis travels from his homeland of Re Ann to Marka to become a bounty hunter. At the age of 15 he is interesteed in justice not the money and uses his gifts to capture the thief. 219 pages.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Recommended

    A quick but satisfying read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Totally enjoyed

    I hope to read more of Sallis's adventures as a bounty hunter. Very well written and it is easy to be come absorbed in the story. Even though it is short the characters are are real and their motivations understandable. The stiry is fast paced and interests you ftom the first paragraph.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I am amazed that I have not stumbled across Mister Rose's works

    I am amazed that I have not stumbled across Mister Rose's works before
    this. His Ilvenworld is a well thought out example of "fantasy
    science fiction" in which a world that appears to be fantasy actual
    has science fiction underpinnings. (Another example of this genre would
    be the "Dragon" works by Anne McCaffrey). The
    "Gifted" novellas tell the story of Sallis Ti Ath, a minor
    character in the Markan Empire novels. The characters are well-drawn and
    memorable and the writing draws you in completely. I heartily recommend
    anything written by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a wonderful story and very w

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a wonderful story and very well written. Anxious for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Interesting fantasy/mystery

    Somewhat underdeveloped fantasy side of the story, more mystery than anything really. Set in a fantasy world the main character is something of a savant/mystic and able to solve crimes due to his gifts. Would have been interesting to see the fantasy side of the story developed further.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Decent story

    This was a pretty good story. However, I think it could have used a little more character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    It was really good!

    I was not expecting much from a free book but this story definitely surprised me. I would recommend it to my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    Absolutely fantastic!!!! Best I have read in a long time. Thrill

    Absolutely fantastic!!!! Best I have read in a long time. Thrilling, heart wrenching, funny, loaded with adventure.Sallis Ti Ath is an amazing character. Highly recommend as a must read. Read gifted apprentice first. It develops the character of Sallis. I would definitely like to know more about the life of Sallis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is the second of this series I've read and have really enjoyed. Will read the next one also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    very good!

    A good read with interesting, engaging characters. More please

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    Awesome second book. Again short. Only 219 pages. Just as enthralling as the first book. The hero is young and mesmerizing. A must read. I can not wait to read more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    Loved it!!! Could read this book for days if it was longer. Flo

    Loved it!!! Could read this book for days if it was longer. Flowed great and kept me riveted. Can't wait for the next one to come out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Sub-par Fantasy Novella

    Gifted Hunter is a sequel to Gifted Apprentice. While I didn't realize that this was a second book until it was already started, it doesn't appear that too much is overlooked by skipping over the first story other than some minor background details. This novella is about a fifteen-year-old boy named Sallis ti Ath whose predominant desire in life is to be a bounty hunter. The reader knows this because he mentions it to every single character he comes across, even multiple times when he feels the point hasn't been stressed enough. Circular and redundant dialogue hamper this average fantasy novella, detracting heavily from the story. How many times must we read about the protagonist's aspiration to become the greatest bounty hunter, his yearning for justice, the superb tracking skills he possesses, or his inclination to buy his father some sylphs (servant/slave race) to help around the farm?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    2.5 stars - very little action and about as much suspense. At l

    2.5 stars - very little action and about as much suspense. At least it was free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Stop!

    If you're browsing for a good fantasy stop here. This book is a great read. It's short but not disappointing. Check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    A Must Read!!

    This is the continuation of the Gifted Apprentice. It continues the story of Sallis Ti Ath's development into a very skilled bounty hunter. The Gifted series is a supplemental read for the Markan series which are the main attractions by Mr. Rose. This gives the back character development of Sallis Ti Ath!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Want more.

    Very enjoyable. Thanks for the free read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    good

    I liked it but its so short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Loved it

    Very enjoyable. A little over 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4