Customer Reviews for

The Gilder

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    A totally satisfying read! Great one for Book Clubs!

    I had not read a review or heard of this book. I was just browsing in Barnes and Noble looking for a good read. I like reading novels set in European settings...Florence caught my eye and was the hook...but got so much more from the novel. Loved it, could not put it down. Descriptions make you want to hop the next plane to Florence. As a 50-something...I found profound explainations for the vast number of emotions and trials of the characters...so believable. The character developments were meaningful and felt that each word, sentence, and description was relevant to the story and the character. Will suggest to my book club. Will generate great discussions! Hope Ms. Kay brings us more books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Five stars out of five stars!

    The Gilder begins as a wonderfully written and descriptive story of a young American woman living as a gilding apprentice in Florence, Italy and her close friendship with an artistic American couple.

    As the story matures we see the woman as a professional gilder living in upstate New York with her teenage daughter, and we experience the angst of parent-child relationships complicated by hidden truths.

    By the time the story ended I was so caught up with the lives of the characters I wanted the story to continue. But isn’t that how good books should end? I rate this book five stars out of five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    highly recommended read- beautifully written

    My favorite line, "A tourettes seizure of truth". I would read this author again, and recommend this book for visual readers. I think most readers will commiserate with and understand the heroin. The story line is evocative and paced just right, with a tail wind coming from behind giving it that extra whoosh, leaving you to resist putting it down for one minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Triumphant first novel.

    Witty and inspiring, The Gilder is a not-to-be-put-down novel of quandaries, complexities, and courage. Author Kathryn Kay kept me riveted from the first image to the last sentence with her frank look at how our choices surprisingly spiral into milestones. Florence is its own character without ever upstaging the suspense and romance of Marina, the protagonist. It’s a fresh perspective on ex-pats, artists, family, and the complexity of love. Kay keenly captures daily routines and nagging doubts. I devoured the book in three days and love how Kay’s specificity, wonder, and humor has turned my NYC routine into a more lush, spectacular adventure. I eagerly await her next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Excellent Read takes place in Florence, Italy!

    Just finished "The Gilder" by Kathryn Kay, first book I have read by her and it wont b the last. A) I couldnt put it down B) the setting for most of it was Florence Italy! Whether u have or have not been there her descriptions make you want to go and you feel like your there with the main character Marina. Takes place in the 90's when she is a young college student and they weave in the other characters so well. She knows how to tell a story, her characters r complex and you love them or hate them.You want to yell horay but also want to chastise them. She does a good job of going from the past to present as well and you dont get lost at all. Its just filled with everything. 2 thumbs up for sure, love it. and this was the book i won from my facebook bk club. This was even closer to me bc i have been to florence italy and Venice and Rome etc several times as my dad is right off the boat well in 1955

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    This book makes me want to return to Florence, great read. Left me wanting more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    A savoring read...

    Set in Florence, Italy in the 1990’s Ms. Kay takes the reader instantly to this city of Michelangelo. In this well crafted story of mistakes of youth and paybacks in adulthood. A childhood dream of living and working in this famous Italian city of artist; does help her develop her craft but also teaches her life lessons about relationships that takes years to resolve. The book was hard to put down but I decided to savor it and only read a chapter a day. A great read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Just buy it. It's excellent.

    If you love Florence Italy, like I do, the descriptions in this book will take you there as you follow Marina, the main character on her quest for redemption. Lines between friends and lovers blurr and lies and betrayal are major themes. Can the mistakes of her youth be forgiven? Read this and take the trip and you won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    A great read!

    I love a good book, and The Gilder fits the bill perfectly. Marina, the main character, is caught in the web of lies she has gradually created since she betrayed her best friend Sarah in Florence 16 years ago. The story moves between the past and the present, neatly intertwining the stories of Marina as a twenty-two-year-old, newly arrived in Florence to study the art of gilding, and Marina today, a successful art restorer and gilder ¿ and mother to a 15-year-old daughter. This story of love and betrayal, and the lies people tell and the mistakes that they make, will draw you in and not let you go until you turn the last page. May this be the first of many wonderful books to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    A Good Read

    I really enjoyed reading The Gilder. If you love Italy and have been to Florence, the author brings it all back to you. The main character was young and innocent and taken advantage of by the husband and wife. This would be a good book for book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Captivating reading! Can't wait to go back to Florence on a &quo

    Captivating reading! Can't wait to go back to Florence on a "The Gilder" book tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    This book totally transported me back to Florence and into the i

    This book totally transported me back to Florence and into the intriguing lives of the characters. I am hoping there will be a second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Love

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    I could not stop crying

    Just loved the story! While traveling on a train, i read the final chapters and a darling gentleman askef if he could help because i was crying - i told him that i was just enjoying a fabulous novel - A great read ant time any place

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    A lovely, almost poetic telling of a woman relearning herself, r

    A lovely, almost poetic telling of a woman relearning herself, remembering what was and beginning to look to what will be. The Italian locale along with what feels like "regular" life dilemmas add to this must read book of finding one's way when the path has not always been smooth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Read it, loved it. Thanks for the trip to Florence.

    Read it, loved it. Thanks for the trip to Florence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc

    The Gilder by Kathryn Kay
    craftsman who works with gold and silver to artistically cover an object as in the gold leaf process.
    This book is about such a gilder in Florence. She left the US to go study abroad and sinks herself in deep in Florence. She has studied the museums, cathedrals, etc and runs into a photographer and his wife and meets up with them often. They help her not only get an apartment but a job in the field so
    she can learn. She does a lot of different jobs also and loves where she lives and where she is learning the trade.
    Goes from season to season and all the changes that take place in her work and in her life.
    The cover captured my attention first: flower covered vines attached to the outside of a house. Shuttered windows in red, just very striking.
    Title also grabbed my attention as I've always wondered if i could ever be a gilder. I know I have the patience for it and some of my work alongside a printer is some of the same tedious work, in a way.
    Also love the setting of Florence, love that a book can describe a place so in detail I feel as if I am there also.
    The book goes from one time frame to another. First is when Marina is actually in Florence, learning the gild process.
    The other is when her daughter is growing up, age 15 and is wondering who her father is. What her mom has told her previously just isn't making it. She wants to go to Florence and see the places her mom has always talked about.
    Like physical cover of this book also as it has flaps on front (telling about the story) and back (about the author)
    sides where you can take them and use them as a book marker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    An absolutely wonderful story, beautifully told, that is not to be missed!!!

    Kathryn Kay has written a masterpiece!! What a compelling, complex, emotional page turner, set in a magnificent city filled with local color, history and intriguing personal relationships. Add the heroine, Marina's, relationship with her now 15 year old daughter, and the opportunity for life lessons--including the potential long term fallout for altering the truth, and it's nearly impossible to put The Guilder down. I hope this will be the first of many from this terrific new author. It's a PERFECT book club read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1