Customer Reviews for

Gilding Lily

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book got into my hands by one of my friends who could not s

    This book got into my hands by one of my friends who could not stop talking about it. I decided to give it a try and once I began to read it
    I could not put it down. As I read pages, I wanted to continue to know and wonder about the characters and how this book would have ended.
    I had a fun time reading this book ! Definitely understood main character and at times wanted to jump in
     and help her out!  Was well written  and can't wait to read more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    BEST BOOK I'VE READ ALL YEAR

    I ordered this book on a whim and it sat on my bedside table for a while. Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. I could relate to the main character, and was rooting for her to figure out what was really important in her life, and to quit wanting to be accepted by her mean mother-in-law and a group of horrible, catty girls. (Don't we all have women like that in our lives?) Most of all, this book was enjoyable because it was surprisingly well written and kept me on my toes until the last chapter. I'd recommend it to anyone who likes Candace Bushnell's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2008

    A Peek into NYC Society from the Inside

    I was looking forward to reading 'Gilding Lily' and am pleased to report that it certainly did not disappoint. I loved Lily, the main character, because she is as a 'real' person who is thrust into NYC society with all of its glamour and peer pressure and in the end, by staying true to herself, she comes out on top. 'Gilding Lily' is a page-turner that I was sad to see end. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed 'Bergdorf Blondes' or any Candace Bushnell book. I hope we see more from this author in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Gilding Lily

    As an advanced reviewer I was sent this book and amazed with its intelligence. Boncompagni clearly knows her historical literature inside and out and the the book is teeming with clever allusions: the title character of Lily Bartholmew is a reference to Lily Bart of Edith Wharton¿s The House of Mirth. And that's just the beginning- as the story unfolds, characters reminiscent of the heroines and villains of Henry James, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and Jane Austin comes to life. This is the first chick lit book I've reviewed that manages to be a fun read while simultaneously incorporating Veblenesque social commentary. 2 thumbs up... I'm impatiently awaiting the next book of this talented new author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Funny, quick read

    If you buy tabloids for the articles and crosswords, don't bother. This is a guilty pleasure that you won't have to throw out with next week's Gawker headlines. A fantastically fun book that reads like the fashion and gossip dos and don'ts of the Prada Diaper Bag set. You will love and loathe moments where a likeable character, Lily, navigates through snobs and society balls with the deft abilities of a girl who just can't help herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    I couldn't put it down!

    I started Gilding Lily on a Friday and finished it by Sunday. Lily is a captivating character, charming, sexy, sweet, naive, ambitious, flawed. That is what makes this book such a fun read. It is clear that Ms. Boncompagni really knows the world of high society about which she writes. The characters are spot on. She has a knack for capturing the absurdity in the privileged world of upper east side Manhattan, and she does it with brilliant comedic flair. This book is a wonderful beach book - it gives you a peek at a gilded way of life that you read about in the Style Section of the New York Times. After gobbling up Gilding Lily, I'm so glad that isn't my world. I truly had a ball reading this novel and I look forward to reading more from Tatiana Boncompagni.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Gilding Lily

    I started reading this book on the subway home from work and from the first chapter, I was hooked! That doesn¿t happen to me often, even with my favorite Chick Lit writers. But there¿s just something about the main character (Lily) that you instantly bond with. She¿s like that totally real friend you¿ve had since 3rd grade. At the very end of the book, I remember thinking to myself this is the sort of girl I would want as my best friend if I was part of that Park Avenue set (haha, in my dreams). I haven¿t heard of this author before but I¿m going to keep an eye on her because I LOVED her writing style. Her descriptions are so vivid-- I felt like I was actually in the room. And she has the best sense of humor- I almost woke my husband up as I laughed out loud in the scene with Lily and her hairstylist. P.S. Who is this Professor Katie who writes ¿the racism, crystallized in that instance, remains prevalent¿?? This book is sooo not racist- It¿s a fun chick lit book thank goodness not a boring PC one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Gilding Lily

    I got my hands on Tatiana Boncompagni's novel 'Gilding Lily' and sat down and read it all the way through. Seriously. I gave up sleep for this book. It is a great tale 'not in the way that Ivanhoe was great, but in the way that romantic stories are great' about life in moneyed society of New York. I must admit, I have always wanted to be one of the society. Not in a mean catty ways 'not Mean Girls!' but in a 'oh wouldn't it be lovely to be rich' kind of a way. It was a great story as it let me feel like one of the 'in crowd' 'as SITC made Manolo a household name' while still allowing me to be wary of the glam life's charms. This book let me wander into my realm of fantasy of what it would be like to be a rich girl while also allowing me to be wary of what life for the other half is really like. While I am unclear when this book will come out, it was a great beach book i.e. it was a little fluffy. But I like fluffy! In fact I LOVE FLUFFY! I deal with enough down n dirty during the day that I can appreciate a little fluff in my life, especially when it comes from a delicious book such as this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Absolutely Wonderful and charming

    I absolutely adored this book. When I got my first look at the cover, I was a little unsure (yes, I am one of THOSE people ¿ I have been known to occasionally base my first impression of a book by its cover). However, in this case, I am glad that I took the time to read the first few sentences of the chapter, because as soon as I did, I was hooked. Gilding Lily, by first time author, Tatiana Boncompagni has all of the elements needed to make it a compulsive read. The storyline is set in the world of the ridiculously rich ¿ and is populated by its own particular brand of characters, which you will (mostly) love to hate. There are also deliciously written scenes of over-indulgence, sweet romantic moments and lots of gossip and cattiness!!! Our main character Lily, who was not born into a world of privilege, but does aspire to it, marries the love of her life and vows to become `one of them¿ ¿ except that she never quite succeeds. Indeed, saddled with a mother in law who despises her, a husband who lives on his trust fund and has never quite understood that he needs to let go of the apron strings, a brand new baby (not to mention the baby fat and the baby vomit) as well as a bunch of socialites who laugh at her behind her back, Lily feels lost and lonely and hatches a plan to ¿re-invent¿ herself and to prove, once and for all, that she is worthy of this high-society life. Just as Lily is finally starting to feel appreciated and accepted, she will come face to face with Emily who will do absolutely anything to get into the same world Lily is now happily living in. I found the character of Emily to be a great addition to the storyline. She is the trigger that will help Lily take a good look at herself and her priorities ¿ she acts as a mirror for Lily and will be a big part of Lily¿s growing up (finally!) process and will help her discover what is truly important for her. What makes this book so interesting, to me, is that none of the characters (with the possible exception of baby Will) are not always particularly likeable and this includes Lily. The author has chosen to create Lily with a very interesting mixture of good and bad which I found absolutely riveting. You can feel Lily¿s inner-struggle, on one hand despising the world she is in, but at the same time, desperately craving to be part of it. At times, she can be almost as catty and horrible as her circle of ¿Restylane-plumped, laser-resurfaced friends¿ while simultaneously, proving herself to be a wonderful mother, friend and loving wife. Lily is definitely a dichotomy and I kept reading avidly to find out exactly where Lily would land. This character was truly well constructed and fleshed out and set the tone for the entire storyline. I also thoroughly enjoyed the relationship between Lily and her husband, Robert. At times, I was not sure which of the two I wanted to smack more ¿ and I found myself shouting at both of them to grow up, but this just added to my pleasure in reading this book. The writing style flows gracefully and there is not one word out of place. Absolutely charming, authentic and extremely difficult to put them¿.un petit péché mignon!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    This rocks

    Lily Grace moves from Nashville to New York with plans of taking Manhattan by storm. She becomes very popular amidst the elite social class and meets educated wealthy charmer Robert Bartholomew. They marry.----------- When Lily becomes pregnant, Robert loses interest in her as she gains weight and is no longer the it ¿Girl of the moment¿. He quits his job as a lawyer and begins spending time with his socialite mother who never wanted the southern belle as her daughter-in-law. Lily begins writing lifestyle articles that allows her reentrance into the high society world her pregnancy kicked her from, but she is treated with distain led by Robert¿s mother.----------- Using hyperbole as an amusing saber, Tatiana Boncompagni provides a fascinating look at what people will accept in order to belong to a group that treats ¿outsiders¿ as pet rocks. Lily holds the tale together with her need to be part of the upper crust elitist crowd whose motto ought to be ¿Let them eat cake off our Persian rugs¿. Humorous yet somewhat sad as the human need to belong supersedes self actualization even when the members disdain you as inferior. This is a well written insightful contemporary tale in which readers will like the desperate Lily and root for her to find the grace of telling her spouse, her in-laws and the wealthy in crowd to pound rocks although at the same time the audience knows her inclination is in the opposite direction.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Couldn't Put it Down...

    This was one of those books I picked up one lazy Sunday afternoon and finished a few days later...quite literally could not put it down. As a full time working mother of two and devoted wife, it is rare that I allow myself such guilty pleasures. I had instant chemistry with Lily, and very easily escaped into her world each time I thumbed through the pages and found my bookmark. Her insecurities that led to overanalyzing most situations I found extremely relatable. Sometimes we have to save ourselves from ourselves. Lily did just that...she is a heroine. She inspired me to choose carrots over potato chips (at least once or twice), buy a new pair of shoes, and snuggle up a little closer to my sexy husband (at least once or twice). I was actually sad when the book ended, like saying goodbye to a friend...and eagerly await the next read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Real gold

    Gilding Lily indulged my interest in juicy gossip and inside information about the life of the socialite. The book painted the familiar dreamy picture of that world's wealthy elegance, excess and privelege, and exposes the pain, insecurity and emptiness that can lie beneath. In the end, our good girl wins. I've read this story in lots of books lately. It's a fun one. What I didn't expect was that this familiar story would sit toward the background. What GL isn't about how an outsider gets the key to a glossy, succesful life as a socialite. Gilding Lily is about the growth, strength and grace of a real woman. As Lily's life unfolds, her life as and among the socials is pushed to the background. What she wins in the end is belief in the confidence capability, loveliness and strength with which she intially set out to NYC. She neither resents nor shuts the door on high society. Its shine simply dims behind the light of a full, real life. I'm used to finishing a book about a young woman in society wistful and wanting--idealizing if not society itself, the wealth and comfort that appears to a accompany it. I finished GL inspired. In a world where we spend many times the amount we save, and possessions have become an ultimate goal, a story about working to have a real life among wealth is especially poignant. What better way to end the summer than with the inspiration to live my own life fully? Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    A real page-turner

    What a fantastic debut from Tatiana Boncompagni! With two toddlers to run after, I have little time to waste, particularly on books that fail to peak my interest right off the bat. But 'Gilding Lily' was such a treat from the start! I couldn't put it down as I was eager to see our fish-out-of-water protagonist try to nagivate this world into which she has married. Tatiana chronicles ny society in an expert, engaging fashion, and I'm looking forward to her next effort, 'Hedge Fund Wives.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Gilding Lily

    Using hyperbole as an amusing saber, Tatiana Boncompagni provides a fascinating look at what people will accept in order to belong to a group that treats ¿outsiders¿ as pet rocks. Lily holds the tale together with her need to be part of the upper crust elitist crowd whose motto ought to be ¿Let them eat cake off our Persian rugs¿. Humorous yet somewhat sad as the human need to belong supersedes self actualization even when the members disdain you as inferior. This is a well written insightful contemporary tale in which readers will like the desperate Lily and root for her to find the grace of telling her spouse, her in-laws and the wealthy in crowd to pound rocks although at the same time the audience knows her inclination is in the opposite direction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Loved this book

    I loved this book. The character is a woman who a lot of us can relate to. If you have ever felt like an outsider, you will love this humorous account of a woman trying to steer her way through being a new mom, dealing with a horrible mother in law, writing as a publicist and the New York society elite. This book is funny and well worth the read. I personally liked how creative Lily had to be to get some of the stories she wrote about for her column. This book is one I couldn't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1