Customer Reviews for

The Gin & Chowder Club

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Entertaining!

Type: {Commuter Read: format lends easily to starting/ stopping.}
Rating: {I'm Lovin' It: Very entertaining!}

Why You're Reading It:
- You love Cape Cod.
- You're looking for an original story.
- You want a page-turner that you can escape into.

What I Thought:...
Type: {Commuter Read: format lends easily to starting/ stopping.}
Rating: {I'm Lovin' It: Very entertaining!}

Why You're Reading It:
- You love Cape Cod.
- You're looking for an original story.
- You want a page-turner that you can escape into.

What I Thought:
The Gin & Chowder Club is a complex and original story that is an incredibly quick read. Nan Rossiter is a master of description and has a gift for making the reader feel as if they are in the story. I am eager to get across the country for a better look at Cape Cod now! The two families that are featured in this book are so real that you feel as if you know them (yet you would never wish their situation on anyone you actually do know). A story that doesn't give us a clear hero or villain, it lends itself to be a good book for discussions. Each of the main characters have been written with strengths and flaws alike. The Christian faith plays a bigger role in this book than I was expecting (or perhaps usually care for), but Rossiter has incorporated the realness of humanity by weighing faith against life. What happens when someone who has been raised to be a good Christian, Ivy League young man of 1961 (complete with shaking his father's hand instead of hugging, being ultra respectful of his mother, being chummy with his father's friends, and donning the required Cape Cod wardrobe of polos and khakis with his tan - think the Kennedy clan here), ends up having an affair with the wife of one of his father's best friends?

As he struggles between the new found feelings of his own manhood versus the Christian teachings his mother instilled in him in his boyhood, readers are able to get to know Asa in an intimate way. It was easy for me to connect with Asa; bookish and less social than his older brother. He chooses who he loves carefully and isn't someone who dates around, which makes his relationship with Noelle that much more intense. His struggle to do the right thing is often overshadowed by his human desire to have what he wants, a battle most of us are familiar with.

Added bonuses are sprinkled throughout the book. Dog lovers will fall in love with Martha, who will remind many of their childhood four legged friends. And book lovers will fall in love with the way Rossiter references books and poets. each time she slips in a literary reference it feels like a little secret gift to the reader. As much as I would have loved to have seen some of these characters fleshed out even more, the length was perfect and the reading was good; trying to stretch it out wouldn't have served the plot and, as much as I love knowing about characters, I enjoy a moving plot line. The first half of the book is a nice set up, and the second half flies by!

posted by Coconut_Librarian on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Would not recommend.

When I first saw this book I thought it would be a nice summer read - a light chick lit type of book. And I was right about it being a light read, however it bordered more toward the Christian lit genre than chick lit. I wasn't expecting to read a book peppered with r...
When I first saw this book I thought it would be a nice summer read - a light chick lit type of book. And I was right about it being a light read, however it bordered more toward the Christian lit genre than chick lit. I wasn't expecting to read a book peppered with religion throughout, which is pretty much what I got. Now, I'm not one to read Christian lit normally, so I'll admit that my opinion about this book may be skewed - nonetheless, here goes.


This is a book about infidelity and the ways in which it impacts lives. Asa has known Uncle Nate forever and has grown fond of his wife, Noelle (she's fifteen years younger than Nate and is his second wife - Annie, his first wife passed away years ago). Except, this fondness is starting to turn into lust and well, you can imagine where that takes the story. Noelle kisses Asa (she tells him they are just friends) + Asa can't get Noelle out of his head = an affair is born. Hearts are broken and a baby is born. Oh, and there is a death, which I'm sure is supposed to tug at your heart strings, but it just made me roll my eyes. Why did I roll my eyes? Because I knew who was going to die and what would happen afterward - it was so obvious! I hate when you already know what is going to happen before it happens - it makes for a boring read.


I admit it - I didn't really care for the book. The writing was good, but it didn't really hold my attention. I pretty much read the book in one sitting and found that I was happy when it was finally over. I just felt that the story lacked personality and the characters were cliched. In fact the plot was so unoriginal that I felt like I was re-reading a story. The only things I did like were the book cover (I love hydrangeas) and the bits and bobs that mentioned To Kill A Mockingbird and A Separate Peace - that's pretty much it. This is not a book I will remember.

posted by NadiaReadsALot on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining!

    Type: {Commuter Read: format lends easily to starting/ stopping.}
    Rating: {I'm Lovin' It: Very entertaining!}

    Why You're Reading It:
    - You love Cape Cod.
    - You're looking for an original story.
    - You want a page-turner that you can escape into.

    What I Thought:
    The Gin & Chowder Club is a complex and original story that is an incredibly quick read. Nan Rossiter is a master of description and has a gift for making the reader feel as if they are in the story. I am eager to get across the country for a better look at Cape Cod now! The two families that are featured in this book are so real that you feel as if you know them (yet you would never wish their situation on anyone you actually do know). A story that doesn't give us a clear hero or villain, it lends itself to be a good book for discussions. Each of the main characters have been written with strengths and flaws alike. The Christian faith plays a bigger role in this book than I was expecting (or perhaps usually care for), but Rossiter has incorporated the realness of humanity by weighing faith against life. What happens when someone who has been raised to be a good Christian, Ivy League young man of 1961 (complete with shaking his father's hand instead of hugging, being ultra respectful of his mother, being chummy with his father's friends, and donning the required Cape Cod wardrobe of polos and khakis with his tan - think the Kennedy clan here), ends up having an affair with the wife of one of his father's best friends?

    As he struggles between the new found feelings of his own manhood versus the Christian teachings his mother instilled in him in his boyhood, readers are able to get to know Asa in an intimate way. It was easy for me to connect with Asa; bookish and less social than his older brother. He chooses who he loves carefully and isn't someone who dates around, which makes his relationship with Noelle that much more intense. His struggle to do the right thing is often overshadowed by his human desire to have what he wants, a battle most of us are familiar with.

    Added bonuses are sprinkled throughout the book. Dog lovers will fall in love with Martha, who will remind many of their childhood four legged friends. And book lovers will fall in love with the way Rossiter references books and poets. each time she slips in a literary reference it feels like a little secret gift to the reader. As much as I would have loved to have seen some of these characters fleshed out even more, the length was perfect and the reading was good; trying to stretch it out wouldn't have served the plot and, as much as I love knowing about characters, I enjoy a moving plot line. The first half of the book is a nice set up, and the second half flies by!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Nostalgic Beach Read

    The Gin and Chowder Club is Nan Rossiter's first book. She is the author of a number of children's books, including Rugby & Rosie and Sugar on Snow. The Gin and Chowder Club explores the complexity of relationships throughout different life stages.

    From the title and the cover, I was expecting a book similar to The Jane Austen Book Club, where people experience life events told through gatherings. I was quite surprised when, a few chapters in, a secret affair between an "older" married woman, Noelle, and a young college bound student, Asa, becomes the centerpiece of the novel.

    I found the Gin and Chowder Club to be very readable. The chapters are generally short and the story-line moves along. With deftness, the author takes on large themes such as love, infidelity, family relationships, forgiveness and spirituality.

    I believe the development of the characters could have been stronger. In particular, the reader is left guessing about the issues between Noelle and her husband, Nate-issues which led her to allow for an intimate relationship with a young man she had watched grow up. However, the author is at her best in the development of Asa and her description of the feelings of first love.

    Overall, The Gin and Chowder Club is a nostalgic read, perfect for vacation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Very Entertaining

    Well written. Good description of characters and their motives

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    The perfect beach read. But bring some tissues!

    Nan Rossiters's The Gin and Chowder Club is a tale of love and betrayal, of temptation and redemption, of loss and forgiveness. This novel explores human fallibility and the grace bestowed upon us through faith and forgiveness.

    When Asa falls in love with Noelle, the young wife of his father's closest friend, he knows that he is jeopardizing a close relationship between their families that has lasted through several generations. But despite the guilt and the promises to break off the relationship before anyone else finds out or gets hurt, he and Noelle continue to see each other whenever they get the chance.

    Rossiter did a wonderful job of fleshing out Asa's character and the intensities and anguish of a first love. I had some difficulty understanding why an older woman would be interested in someone so much younger than herself, but again, Rossiter perfectly described Noelle's guilt and the ways she compartmentalized the relationships she had with both Asa and her husband, Nate.

    Though there is a religious overtone to this novel, I didn't find it heavy handed and I didn't consider this to be "Christian fiction." I enjoyed the themes of forgiveness and redemption, and the power they have to set us free from our own guilt and despair.

    I was surprised to see so many people here up in arms over the fact that Christian characters were having affairs and drinking. We all have our weaknesses, and for some, faith is a way to transcend them, overcome them, and learn from them. I thought this novel perfectly exemplified this lesson and imparted the importance of faith without being didactic or preachy.

    Do I think a person can love two people at the same time? Absolutely! Does love sometimes not conform to social mores? Of course! If it feasible that Christians can find themselves in an adulterous affair and still be a Christian? I can't believe this is even an issue.

    Moving on, the description of Cape Cod left me wanting to drive across the country, drink some cold beer and have some creamy clam chowder. Visions of light houses, ocean spray, and stunning sundowns had me cursing this Texas summer/drought.

    I enjoyed the atomospheric Gin and Chowder Club, and look forward to reading future Rossiter novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful plane read!

    Oh my, I started this book on my plane flight from DC to Denver, continued it through the airport in Denver, and then didn't put it down until I finished the book on the flight from Denver to Montana. What I'm trying to say is that I couldn't put it down. You have Asa, a young man just on his way to college, falling head over heels for Noelle, a close family friend that he's pretty much grown up around. It's definitely intriguing. Asa seems a little confused. He knows he shouldn't pursue Noelle but he does. Noelle knows that she has to be the adult in this situation but she's inexplicably drawn to Asa and doesn't do anything to stop their torrid love affair. I don't know if it was just the young man/older woman scenario that made me make this connection but this book definitely has the same flavor as The Graduate. It's forbidden love and with Asa's family and Noelle and her husband being so close, both Asa and Noelle know they're playing with fire. On one hand, I found myself getting kind of angry about Asa and Noelle not realizing what the potential consequences could be if they got caught. On the other hand, them getting closer to each other seems to have somewhat of an otherworldly pull that you can see how they get so tied up in each other. Bottom line, this book will keep you reading until you figure everything out. Make sure you set aside a lot of time before sitting down to read this book. My Review: 4 out of 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Would not recommend.

    When I first saw this book I thought it would be a nice summer read - a light chick lit type of book. And I was right about it being a light read, however it bordered more toward the Christian lit genre than chick lit. I wasn't expecting to read a book peppered with religion throughout, which is pretty much what I got. Now, I'm not one to read Christian lit normally, so I'll admit that my opinion about this book may be skewed - nonetheless, here goes.


    This is a book about infidelity and the ways in which it impacts lives. Asa has known Uncle Nate forever and has grown fond of his wife, Noelle (she's fifteen years younger than Nate and is his second wife - Annie, his first wife passed away years ago). Except, this fondness is starting to turn into lust and well, you can imagine where that takes the story. Noelle kisses Asa (she tells him they are just friends) + Asa can't get Noelle out of his head = an affair is born. Hearts are broken and a baby is born. Oh, and there is a death, which I'm sure is supposed to tug at your heart strings, but it just made me roll my eyes. Why did I roll my eyes? Because I knew who was going to die and what would happen afterward - it was so obvious! I hate when you already know what is going to happen before it happens - it makes for a boring read.


    I admit it - I didn't really care for the book. The writing was good, but it didn't really hold my attention. I pretty much read the book in one sitting and found that I was happy when it was finally over. I just felt that the story lacked personality and the characters were cliched. In fact the plot was so unoriginal that I felt like I was re-reading a story. The only things I did like were the book cover (I love hydrangeas) and the bits and bobs that mentioned To Kill A Mockingbird and A Separate Peace - that's pretty much it. This is not a book I will remember.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Quite shallow and uninteresting. Drivel!

    Quite shallow and uninteresting. Drivel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    ¿A Gripping Tale Hotter Than the Chowder"

    The friendship between the Colemans and the Shepherds span many years and countless summers as neighbors on Cape Cod. Samuel Coleman and Nate Shepherd continued the businesses of their Father and Grandfather; Coleman and Son Fine Woodworking and Shepherd’s Accounting Firm. Samuel had also kept up the weekend ritual of “The Gin and Chowder Club”. Everyone looked forward to their warm hospitality, the friendly gathering and Sam’s signature Clam Chowder and Gin and Tonics! Sam and Sarah’s sons; Isaac and Asa, grew up in the summer shadows of the lighthouse and now both are college-bound. They had all watched as Nate’s beloved wife; Annie valiantly fought but lost her battle with a horrific illness, leaving Nate lost and alone. Blinded by sorrow and grief, he had not noticed Annie’s beautiful, young Nurse; Noelle, until a chance meeting some months later that led to a cup of coffee and a blossoming romance. Noelle knew, even though he was quite a bit older than she, that Nate was a good, caring and kind man, but after they married, Noelle couldn’t help but feel Nate was “:living the dream with Annie” through her. She longed for excitement and children. Although she was blessed with everything she could ever hope for, (A lovely house in Boston, the summer place on the Cape, etc.) her two dreams eluded her. When Asa was younger, he had always admired Noelle from afar, but as he matured, his feelings deepened into something undeniable. As much as Noelle tried to place her feelings for youthful Asa “on a shelf”, she finally had to admit their existence to Asa and herself. What had started as harmless and innocent but cherished joking and long talks about nothing and everything, soon turned into intimacy. But what about Nate?? Was it possible to love two men at the same time?? Noelle didn’t want to crush Nate’s world and Asa didn’t want to hurt his parents. Despite the feelings of betrayal of the friendship he and Nate had shared for, what seemed like forever, Asa cannot deny his love and longing for Noelle. He now dreaded going away to college. They couldn’t and wouldn’t be together. Perhaps her feeling for him would change in the absence? Always hanging like a dark cloud overhead was the frightening chance that Nate would find out. Asa decided he would do anything to be with Noelle, even if only for a fleeting moment or glimpse. What would his parents say?? He wasn’t raised to ignore or put his own spin on the Commandments his folks had so lovingly instilled within him. Isaac was in college also and had his moments as a hell-raiser, taking dares and chances, but never quiet, almost introverted, poetic Asa!! Ms. Rossiter has done it once again. She has pulled me into this heart-throbbing drama on Cape Cod until I can practically smell the bubbling chowder and feel a part of the gathering. Your stomach will lurch with the apprehension and inner turmoil both Asa and Noelle experience. You’ll shed tears as some heart-wrenching dramas play out. Will Asa overcome his all-encompassing love for Noelle? Or will love conquer Asa? Will Noelle leave the ever-trusting and understanding Nate? There was only one thing wrong with this book---I wanted more, more, more!!! I’m hoping there will be a sequel coming in the near future continuing the Coleman saga. In the meantime, I heartily recommend that you read another of Ms. Rossiter’s titles, “ Words Get in the Way”. Believe me when I say you won’t be disappointe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    NOT MY FAVORITE

    I read the sequel first; liked that better. This one was just so-so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review of the Gin and Chowder Club

    My review of this book is double-edged. First, what I enjoyed about it.

    The Gin and Chowder Club began with what a summer read should be. With beautiful descriptions of the Cape, the ocean, good food and strong family relationships I settled down to enjoy a relaxing, idyllic story.

    Now, I've read books with affairs in them. While I have moral objections to the subject matter I expected to be able to handle it thinking that, typical of this type of literature, a lesson would be learned.

    <b>Be careful there are some spoilers ahead.</b>

    Instead, what I got was a book that almost bordered on Christian Literature (many verse references, bible passages, a strong church background, pastors daughter (and can I just say I hate that stereotype being one myself), prayer and a Godly home portrayal), but that threw out all of that base groundwork to focus around a story that was so clearly out of character for the people involved.

    First, there's Noelle, a young woman married to a man many years her senior who has absolutely no respect for that man, nor his friendships and is willing to risk it all for a few moments in the sack - and then there's Asa, a teenager, not even old enough to drink, being given beer and other alcohol freely, being encouraged by this older woman and forsaking his "strong, moral upbringing" with lies, an affair and straying from the path.

    I was raised in a strong Christian home. I can tell you right now that it is not normal to do what Asa did and not feel strong, almost crippling guilt - especially considering that special care was made by the author to let us know that the lie he told his mother in one part of the book was the first of its kind. It simply is not that easy to forsake years of training, of examples, of strong, kind fellowship with a close-knit family to do something of this magnitude.

    At the end, I felt blase and had a bad taste in my mouth. It seemed to me as if Nan Rossiter tried to go both ways for a novel of this kind - by giving it the gentle, heartwarming ending a summer read book should have, but also the intrigue and carelessness that would keep a reader wanting to read more. It just didn't work - it seemed completely unreal and I was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Worth Reading!

    This book is a great beach read, but I also enjoyed it while curled up on the couch with the air conditioner blasting and a gin and tonic beside me. I was, however, having a hard time trying to decide whether I liked this book or not. The author does a great job of placing us within the families. I loved the closeness and happiness there, but then there was the inevitableness of the pending affair. I didn't want it to happen and kept putting the book down to keep it from happening! I loved the connectedness of the generations and the history of the "Gin & Chowder Club", however, something was missing. And then I realized it had to do with Noelle's character. I could understand why Asa was drawn to her - she was beautiful, interested and he was lonely, but why was she drawn to him. We just weren't given enough to see that happening. I know she fell in love with him, but what ever caused her to look at him that way in the first place? Kudos to Ms. Rossiter for helping us to feel Asa's broken heart when he returns to school after learning of Noelle's pregnancy. Anyone who has suffered a severely broken heart could feel his intense agony coming through the pages. I know some have criticized the Bible verses and Christian values portrayed in this book, but as someone hailing from the rural south I can tell you there are still those healthy, stable Christian families out there, you have to look for them and they aren't perfect, but they are there. I did enjoy this book for the simple reason that sometimes it is just nice to know that love can conquer all and that even a terrible tragedy can have a happy ending. And as a side note: I enjoyed the dog character, Martha. As a lover of old dogs, I loved to see the family's simple inclusion and accommodations for their old friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Recommended with caveats

    The Gin and Chowder Club is an easy, quick, and light summer read. I live in NYC and I read the whole book while on the train and it definitely made my commute fly by. For the most part, the book held my attention throughout and I was genuinely intrigued about what would happen at the end.

    I enjoyed the Cape Cod setting immensely and the detailed descriptions definitely made me want to visit. I also liked the book/reading motif that was threaded throughout the story. As a passionate reader, I am always eager to hear about (even fictional) people's opinions on books! I had less positive feelings about the characters though. I think the premise was extremely interesting: a straight-laced, religious college student has an affair with an upstanding family friend's wife. However the characters often came across as unrealistic or a little too wholesome to me. There was a disconnect between Asa and Noelle's personalities and their actions for me. The author is careful to paint them in a very positive light and yet they do this irredeemable thing. While I think it's definitely possible for 'good' people to do 'bad' things, I wanted more of an explanation about their attraction to each other. Part of this might be explained by the fact that the book is set in 1961 and the author was trying to capture a particular time and place (which I think, overall, she is successful in doing,) but at times I thought the tone of the book was mismatched with the plot. I also didn't love the ending, I felt like it veered into melodrama and that the last few chapters of the book moved much too quickly in comparison to the careful plotting of the first 3/4 or so.

    All that said, I am happy that I had a chance to read the book and I would recommend it to someone looking for an enjoyable summer read that has more substance than pure chick lit. I also think readers who enjoy stories set in New England should definitely check it out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    I loved the cover, but

    I would call this Christian fiction. Way too many Bible passages, prayer and the story focusing on a family that was very religious. AND they are quite the lushes, with drinking a strong thread throughout the entire story. And on top of that a high school senior having a summer affair with a married woman. The cover of the book drew me in and the location was also a summer draw. I am not religious and I don't drink. I just thought everything around this story was too contradictive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Fabulous Beach Read

    I absolutely loved this novel. Nan's writing makes you feel as if you are sitting on the Cape with a Gin in your hand and sand in between your toes. I had a hard time putting the book down as I wanted to know what was going to happen next. It is a book that reminds you how affected we are by love. How intense your first love is and how torturous love can be if it is forbidden. As I was reading through the book I felt like I could relate to every character in one way or another.even Martha the dog. If you are looking for a "happily ever after" book this is probably not the best pick for you but let's face it when does life really end up happily ever after?!! A definite beach read or a good commuting read if you want to pretend you are at the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended -- grab the tissues

    I have never read anything by Rossiter, but this novel truly blew me away! It is a heart breaking story of a young boy, turned man, falling in love. You see Asa entangled with a woman older than him and married to his parent's best friend. The settings were well written, as were the feelings the young man had. It made me just want to hug him and tell him it would be alright! It did not take me long to become enthralled in the reading, not wanting to put the book down to see what Asa was to do next! There were several times when I reached up to swipe a tear away. I loved the story line and couldn't want to see what exactly would happen. The ending left me wanting just a little more, but overall the book was well written and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Pretty cover

    The cover got me. I'm a pushover for hydrangeas. The story itself was told in a super dry voice, without much going for it. It could've been a rich plot, but instead it was pretty empty. The setting was well-presented, and I really wanted to be there. Great beach location. It's the first real book I bought for my new Nook so I felt compelled to finish it. If it'd been paper, it would've been in the garage sale pile. It wasn't HORRIBLE. Just not good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Looking at this gorgeous cover you might dismiss it as pure chick-lit, but let me tell you. this one is different. With a male protagonist, a Cape Cod setting, and the tight bond between two families, this one is a winner.

    The Coleman and Shepherd families have known each other for quite some time. Each year, they head to Cape Cod where they are neighbors for the summer. Samuel and Sarah Coleman have been busy raising their two sons, Asa and Issac, whereas Nate Shepherd has weathered some heartache with the loss of his first wife. However, his second marriage to a much younger woman has brought him happiness and the entire Coleman family is happy for them both. Their time together is spent enjoying gin and tonics and clam chowder and they all look forward to this special time together.

    The story is set in th early 60's and this particular summer happens to be the last summer before Asa goes off to college. The Colemans worry whether their son is ready to embark on such an adventure, and admittedly, Asa has some doubts of his own, but he has no idea how complicated life really is until he finds himself drawn to Noelle, Nate's younger wife.

    At its heart, this is most certainly a love story, but it's also a story of about trust, betrayal, friendship and the ability to forgive. Rossiter does an amazing job of describing the angst.the yearning and the horrible guilt that results from Asa and Noelle's relationship. There is a taunting, teasing quality to it, but also a good dose of remorse. These are good people being tested. That's how I felt while reading it.

    There are other things that won me over. The decision to set the story in the early 60's, was an excellent choice. It had a completely different feel because of it and gave the story the tenderness it required. Think about it, a story like this set in the present day would be filled with gadgets and cell phone conversations and texts between the two of them. The magic would have been lost.

    Additionally, there are references to two of my favorite books of all-time. To Kill a Mockingbird is often mentioned in books, so although I was pleased to see it here, I wasn't surprised by it. However, I gasped out loud at the mention of A Separate Peace because it's one of my faves and has been since I read it in college. I love it when an author can reference another book within her own story, and have it mean something.

    I knew this book would be a pleasant read but I didn't expect it to raise so many questions. This would be a wonderful book club book because there is just so much to consider. The reading guide that is included in my copy, asks some really tough questions and the message from the author, which includes a story about a cardinal (poor bird!), will prove to you that authors can find ideas just about anywhere.

    You might buy the book for the cover but read it for the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Absolutely Beautiful Family Drama!

    A lovely and very readable book focusing on the gentle longings of old friends who have summered on Cape Cod for many years. These longings cover the excitement of first love; the aches of disappointment; and, the solid affection of families that help all of us to continue living our lives the best way we can.

    The Coleman family (Sarah, Samuel, and their sons, Asa and Isaac), and the Shepherds (Nate and Noelle), have been friends for a long time. Nate lost his first wife, Annie, and after about two years he fell in love and married Noelle who had been Annie's nurse. These two families had always been fast friends. They spend summers in their comfortable Cape Cod houses by the water where, in the evenings, they sit on their respective porches and have their gin and tonics, good conversation, and eat homemade clam chowder. Toasting each other in their Cambridge accents:

    " ' Tis the chowdah that waams a man's belly...
    But aye, 'tis the gin that waams his soul!"

    Here, on the Cape surrounded by the ocean, the Coleman's have raised their children to adulthood and Nate Shepherd watched them grow up, too. But, yonder lies the pain underneath these ideal conditions. There is an attraction between Asa and Noelle which spells danger to all their good times. Regardless of the pain this pair could cause among their families, Asa and Noelle are pulled into an affair resulting in many problems down the line. During one very difficult summer they will cause many difficult decisions to be made by members of both families.

    This was a wonderful read, full of good humor and also many heart-wrenching decisions that had to be made by all parties involved. It will make the reader laugh one minute and cry the next. But, above all, readers will enjoy it immensely and never, ever forget each and every glorious word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Great Summer Read!

    This is one of those stories that you get so involved in you think you are there...it is perfect for reading at the beach or poolside. The characters are wonderful...I laughed and cried along with them. This is Nan Rossiter's first novel and I can't wait for the next one. If you have a book club, there is also a guide in the back for discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2