Customer Reviews for

Ginger Pye

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

homey and chatty story

The Pye family lives in Cranbury, CT, which is based upon the author's hometown of West Haven, CT. Mr. Pye is a famous birdman who handles all the nation's bird problems. Mrs. Pye is the youngest mother in town. Ten-year-old Jared (Jerry) wants to be a rock man. Nin...
The Pye family lives in Cranbury, CT, which is based upon the author's hometown of West Haven, CT. Mr. Pye is a famous birdman who handles all the nation's bird problems. Mrs. Pye is the youngest mother in town. Ten-year-old Jared (Jerry) wants to be a rock man. Nine-year-old Rachel wants to be a birdman like her father. And there is Gracie-the-cat. Also living in town are Grandpa and Gramma and their son Bennie, who is Jerry and Rachel's uncle even though he is only three. Jerry wants a puppy, and Mr. and Mrs. Speedy have a new puppy that they will sell for a dollar, but Jerry doesn't have a dollar, and someone else wants to buy the pup so he has to have the dollar by Saturday evening.
That very day his tall friend, Sam Doody, offers Jerry a dollar to dust the pews in the church building for him since Sam has to go to town to buy a new suit. With this dollar, Jerry is able to buy the puppy, which the Pyes name Ginger. Ginger is a very smart dog. One day he escapes from the Pyes' yard, tracks Jerry to school, and even climbs the fire escape to find Jerry's classroom. However, for several days, Jerry and Rachel see a mysterious yellow hat following them, around their yard, and in various places where they happen to be. Then on Thanksgiving Day, when Ginger is let out into the fenced in back yard, he disappears. Someone had to steal him. The Pyes and all their friends search for their dog through Christmas, New Year's, Lincoln's Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Easter, and even to Jerry's birthday which is May 29. Will they ever find Ginger Pye?
When I finished the first chapter of this book, I knew that I was going to like it, and it did not disappoint me. Ginger Pye won the John Newbery Medal in 1952 and is the kind of book for which the award was made, as opposed to the pathetic drivel which passes for "award-winning" young people's literature today. It is a pleasant story that any youngster who has ever loved a pet will appreciate. Some people may not care for the way the author sometimes chases "rabbit trails," but to me this just makes the account seem homey and chatty. There is a sequel, Pinky Pie. Additionally, Eleanor Estes has written four books about the Moffats, who also live in Cranbury and are friends of the Pyes. These are The Moffats, The Middle Moffat, Rufus M., the latter two of which won Newbery honors, and The Moffat Museum, as well as a short novel entitled The Hundred Dresses which was also a Newbery Honor book. The Horn Book called Ginger Pye "An outstanding book," and I heartily agree.

posted by HomeSchoolBookReview on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The poisoned 'Pye'

This book, newbery label or not,was aweful. It caried on and NEVER stoped. If you took out the important parts and blended them together, you could make this over 300 page book about 50 pages. Unless you must read this book,don't. Newbeyies are all good right? Wrong. Mo...
This book, newbery label or not,was aweful. It caried on and NEVER stoped. If you took out the important parts and blended them together, you could make this over 300 page book about 50 pages. Unless you must read this book,don't. Newbeyies are all good right? Wrong. Most are, but definately not this one. Save yourself pain by not reading this story.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    homey and chatty story

    The Pye family lives in Cranbury, CT, which is based upon the author's hometown of West Haven, CT. Mr. Pye is a famous birdman who handles all the nation's bird problems. Mrs. Pye is the youngest mother in town. Ten-year-old Jared (Jerry) wants to be a rock man. Nine-year-old Rachel wants to be a birdman like her father. And there is Gracie-the-cat. Also living in town are Grandpa and Gramma and their son Bennie, who is Jerry and Rachel's uncle even though he is only three. Jerry wants a puppy, and Mr. and Mrs. Speedy have a new puppy that they will sell for a dollar, but Jerry doesn't have a dollar, and someone else wants to buy the pup so he has to have the dollar by Saturday evening.
    That very day his tall friend, Sam Doody, offers Jerry a dollar to dust the pews in the church building for him since Sam has to go to town to buy a new suit. With this dollar, Jerry is able to buy the puppy, which the Pyes name Ginger. Ginger is a very smart dog. One day he escapes from the Pyes' yard, tracks Jerry to school, and even climbs the fire escape to find Jerry's classroom. However, for several days, Jerry and Rachel see a mysterious yellow hat following them, around their yard, and in various places where they happen to be. Then on Thanksgiving Day, when Ginger is let out into the fenced in back yard, he disappears. Someone had to steal him. The Pyes and all their friends search for their dog through Christmas, New Year's, Lincoln's Birthday, Washington's Birthday, Easter, and even to Jerry's birthday which is May 29. Will they ever find Ginger Pye?
    When I finished the first chapter of this book, I knew that I was going to like it, and it did not disappoint me. Ginger Pye won the John Newbery Medal in 1952 and is the kind of book for which the award was made, as opposed to the pathetic drivel which passes for "award-winning" young people's literature today. It is a pleasant story that any youngster who has ever loved a pet will appreciate. Some people may not care for the way the author sometimes chases "rabbit trails," but to me this just makes the account seem homey and chatty. There is a sequel, Pinky Pie. Additionally, Eleanor Estes has written four books about the Moffats, who also live in Cranbury and are friends of the Pyes. These are The Moffats, The Middle Moffat, Rufus M., the latter two of which won Newbery honors, and The Moffat Museum, as well as a short novel entitled The Hundred Dresses which was also a Newbery Honor book. The Horn Book called Ginger Pye "An outstanding book," and I heartily agree.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ginger Pye is the Best Book Ever!

    If you love dogs and a story you can really get into you'll love Ginger Pye. This book is about a brother and sister named Jerry and Rachel that get a very smart puppy. They name it Ginger. On Thanksgiving Day they think someone stole her. They search the whole town but there's no sign of her. This is my favorite book because I love dogs and I love a story that keeps me wondering! Will Jerry and Rachel ever find Ginger? Read this book to find out.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Love it.

    My mom used to read this book to my siblings & I every year, right after school let out for the summer. Fond memories. That aside, this is a wonderful book for kids. The characters are well established & the storyline flows well with a spooky, mystery twist. I would recommend everything by this author to any child (or adult). I cannot wait to read it to my daughter.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    AWESOME

    Love it

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    The Mystey at the Effiel Tower

    I enjoyed the book (full version) but the sample wasn't very good because you could read very little of a big book. Otherwise it was great, and I recomend it to anyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Love It

    The author must be from a small and close community. She gives the wonderful image of a close family

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Good book

    Lots of good vocabulary-enhancing words in this. Very interesting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Gingerkit

    Yes. And you better take heed... two more kits have passed on since me...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Hannah

    Tell me how this book is. Thx!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    My BFF looooves this...

    My BFF loved this so she recommended it to me and I looooved it too.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I hope there is anothe book just like it! I was so amazed when I read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    I LOVE GINGER PYE.Ginger is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    I LOVE GINGER PYE.Ginger is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute.Read GINGER PYE.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Amazing amazing amazing

    Just started amd already AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Ginger Pye

    It is a good book so far... but, it can get boring. That is my reason for only **** instead of *****.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Great so far

    I am reading this book for my summer homework assignment and so far it is great. I can't wait to find out how Jerry will earn a dollar! (I am on chapter 2) I didn't read the summary review because I didn't want any spoilers. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    good book! just finished it today!

    great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    awesome book

    it is very exiting and funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    An amazing book

    It keeps you guessing till the end.I couldnt put it down,its kind of like a mystery book i would suggest it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    good book

    well i have read half of it but in 3rd a boy told us about it and i love it it is a good book you see want it buy it it is so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    This magnificent book makes people open their eyes and not be blinded by greed.

    Reading this book makes you feel lucky about what we have. Ginger Pye is hilarious, romantic and very sad in some parts. It is an award winner of the Newbery Medal. It all starts when Mrs. Speedy's puppies were born. Jerry Pye, a young boy at age ten, has his eye on a certain young pup, but so does someone else and he will do anything to get it, even steal it! Ginger Pye deserved the Newbery Medal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8