BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gingerbread

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    I LOVED IT SO WILL YOU!!!!!!!!

    i started reading shrimp and got to the 4th or 5th chapter and they were recapping thing that i had never even read so i went to the library and asked about it and come to kind out the first book was gingerbread as i started to read it and i fell in love with it it had its high point when i needed it and the low points when it need the low points its easy to fall in love with shrimp and his no care surf boy attitude and the way they express there love is diffrent but sweet i just love it you just have to read it yourself

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    My favorite

    For years now this is still my favorite book. Cyd charisse's character is so completely herself, a little tough on the outside, but so sweet and geniune inside. This book makes you laugh and love the characters and each dynamic between them. Even as a teen novel, it holds enough about life and sweet love that any age will enjoy it. The subsequent books are just as great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Life is full of frogs, you just have to learn to jump over them

    When one thinks of Gingerbread, heady spices and molasses-like sweetness comes to mind, the book however was a literary equivalent of Angel Food Cake - fluffy, light and sweet enough to entertain but not overly filling. It's something that I can read in one sitting and then get up without a headache, possibly ready to begin the next book in the series. Young Adult fiction has come a long way, reading books about disgruntled sixteen year olds are certainly easier than being one all over again and even though I am no longer a teen I certainly remember how tough it was. Standing strong against the ripping winds of corruption and negative influences while dealing with feelings for boys, parents and especially how I saw myself was no walk in the beach and even though I had a blast growing up I am relieved to be done with it. <BR/><BR/>For Cyd, living with her step dad Sid and mother Nancy and her younger half siblings in San Francisco is more an a nuisance than paradise. Her richly decorated home, stylish mother, lenient step father and her relationship with her new awesome boyfriend Shrimp are slowly crumbling up into a black hole that she has dug up in her past, the spoiled relationship with her then boyfriend Justin who got her hooked on his dark lifestyle and got her pregnant without giving her any support. After her life changing decision to write her own future Cyd becomes even more cynical, witty, sarcastic and sometimes warm and human on her quest to fix her broken relations with her parents, Shrimp and her biological father in New York. Her last memory of him was when she was five years old and him giving her a doll that she named Gingerbread, carrying it with her to this day. The visit to the East coast opens her eyes in more ways than she has imagined and it's up to her to either find the light or slink away into the shadows with no helping hands to pull her up. The mystery of her parents split, her other half siblings and potential new boys are lined on up the horizon for the reader to grab onto and enjoy. It's all up to her whether she wants to grow up and change or act like a spoiled brat. <BR/><BR/>The writing was easy to read and made the book flow like an express train. I enjoyed the brief glimpse of Cyd before she was with Shrimp and how her current situation evolved. This isn't deep fiction but a fun romp though pages filled with growing pains and emerging roots of maturity. I'm all ready reading the sequel "Shrimp" and cannot wait to find out what happens when Cyd is back in San Francisco after her life changing summer in New York. This book is like a nice, light slice of cake; it's no dinner but still fills you up. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    couldn't put it down

    this book was awsome i couldn't put it down!!!!! it was that good. i've never realy liked reading until i read this book! and i love how rachel writes her books! i hope i can write a book as good as she does! way to go rachel keep it up!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Amazing

    At first it took me a while to get what was so speacial about the day that she was talking about in the book, but once you get there, its amazing. Gingerbread has a lot of different topics. like abortion, like what or how you feel afterwards, what could happen with the relationship with the guy who got u preggers, new boyfriend who you r in love with, meeting ur biological father..for like the second time. and other stuff. its too complicated to write it all down. lol. but seriously....READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!! u won't regret it. i promise!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I originally wanted to read Shrimp because my friend loved it, and when i read what it was about down at the bottom it said 'sequel to Gingerbread' and i got them both at the library and loved gingerbread. really, i loved Cyd & Shrimp. ':

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Jessica - 3 Gingerbread Review

    Cyd Charisse is far from your perfect child and model student. After getting kicked out of her up scale boarding school Cyd is forced to move back to San Francisco with her family. In San Francisco however Cyd¿s old behavior and wild side are not acceptable. Cyd struggles to make things work at home with her controlling mother and her step dad, but when things get tough at her house she has the comfort of her new boyfriend, and old doll gingerbread. Gingerbread has been Cyd¿s best friend since her biological father gave her the doll as a child. After a lot of adjusting Cyd was getting comfortable with her life in San Francisco but began to go on another downward spiral after her boyfriend decided they should see other people. This caused Cyd¿s rebellious and wild side to come back, and after a long discussion between Cyd¿s parents, and a plane ride across the country Cyd was sent to New York City where her father lived. Cyd¿s parents thought she might benefit from getting away and spending some time getting to know her real father and half siblings. Surprisingly Cyd Charisse was not angry at her mother and father for deciding on this for she had been dreaming for this opportunity all her life. While in New York Cyd Charisse learns many things about her family and also discovers many things about herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    gingerbread

    it is a good book about true things it is a great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    OMG this book saved my life...litterally. I was jumping of the Empire State Building and this book broke my landing, thus saving me. No but really this book is truley amazing, you can get through it really fast and you are still left wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gingerbread is an ¿unforgettable¿ book. It¿s an enormously exceptional novel with numerous ups and downs leaving the audience with countless up coming ideas. Rachel Cohn did a marvelous job creating the perfect image of a sassy metallic spoiled combat boots- wearing 16-year-old that will be ¿as wild as she wants to be!¿ Gingerbread is not just your average teen book. It¿s filled with life-related situations, and drama that you personally encounter with in your life. The protagonist¿s voice in the book is what keeps you hooked on and wanting to keep the pages turning. Her character as a 'recovering hellion' changes dramatically throughout the whole hardback. Cyd Charisse is just like one of your friends. The unveiling of Cyd begins as an obstinate adolescent rebel. After being kicked out of a fancy boarding school, she moves back to San Francisco with her parents. There Cyd meets the only two people she can count on: her new surfer boyfriend, Shrimp, and an elderly woman she met while doing community service, Sugar Pie. Let¿s not forget her long time best friend Gingerbread. A rag doll her biological father bought her the first time he saw Cyd at an airport. Now she realizes that she faces a lot of problems Cyd Charisse tries to escalate a good relationship with her mother, but they just end up arguing ferociously with each other. All she longs for is to be reunited with her real father, Frank, even though she hasn¿t seen him in years. Her parents finally send her off to get reacquainted with her biological father, when they had enough of her roguish antics. When she arrived at New York City, she found out that her perfect step family was very different from what she expected, especially her step siblings. Danny has a gay partner and they own a cafe. Rhonda is rude, and initially hostile. The whole experience was astounding. Cyd fooled around with her dad¿s driver. In addition, she even ran into her ex boyfriend who was the one responsible for the abortion she concealed from her family. Recurring back to San Francisco again, sophisticated Cyd finally discovers the reality about her father, family, love and herself. It¿s an engaging fiction about a teenager coming to stipulations with her family and relationships. There are various memorable and affectionately drawn character's emotions which were engraved in a vibrant and pragmatic fashion. Rachel Cohn did a superior task establishing the characters in her best novel yet. Gingerbread will appeal more to complex young adults with a taste for romance, drama, sex, and drugs. I absolutely loved it! It was one of the most fascinating novels I ever read with amazing descriptions. You feel like you are one of the characters in the book every step of the way. Cohn did a mind-blowing job getting the one most important thing she wanted us to know across: The hardships of a rebel teen can be over come with effort and the surrounding of the people who love you the most.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2007

    Luvvvv it!

    really fresh and a fun read. well written, hilarious. i want more!!!!!!! Cyd Charisse and her bf shrimp make a great couple while it lasts.... Sugar Pie is def. my fave character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    when i read this i was like wow this is the best thing ever. i could definely relate to this because i am basic the same what and it was cool to get it from a different persective than how it normally goes. I also like this book because it shows a side of teenagers that is labeled as not cool or to rebellious for people to read. Its cool that it was different

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Reccomended

    This book was slow at first, but as I kept reading it got better and better. A great story for girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Read this and read it now!

    This book was responsible for catapulting me into getting more serious about becomming a writer. Its a beautiful book, with a variety of flawed characters all trying to survive in their flawed world. I cheered for Cyd even when she mentioned her not so good past, and continued towards a not so good future. The author did a magnificent job writing this story, making you like the characters you were supposed to like, making you hate the ones you were supposed to hate, and making you yearn for your very own Shrimp.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    Gotta read it!

    ¿Girl, you look like trouble.¿ That girl is Cyd Charisse, the protagonist of Rachel Cohn¿s book Gingerbread, the first novel of a two-book series. Sid is also the name of her stepfather. Cyd¿s biological father, or as she calls him ¿Frank-real-dad,¿ lives in New York with his two children. Cyd hardly remembers him now: she¿s only met him once when she was five, at the Dallas Fort-Worth airport. Frank bought her a dolly at the airport and Cyd named her Gingerbread. Now she is faced with many problems and her boyfriend, her friend Sugar Pie, and Gingerbread are all she¿s got. When Cyd¿s mom finally has enough of her mischievous antics, she sends Cyd to New York to spend three weeks with Frank-real-dad. While there, she finally discovers the truth about her father, her family, and love. The question is, does she like it? Rachel Cohn did an outstanding job creating the characters in this book. I felt that I was experiencing every scene as though I was right there with them. The characters were very realistic because the transitions that they made throughout the book were believable. I loved Gingerbread because while I was reading it, I felt like I knew Cyd and her family not as a reader, but as a friend. The characters emotions were written in an animated and realistic style. The result is a kinetic energy that keeps the pages turning. While I was reading Gingerbread I felt happy, sad, outraged, humbled, and even overjoyed at times. Any book that can make you feel all those things qualifies as a classic. Gingerbread is a great read for any teen girl looking for a unique teen read. I am very much looking forward to reading the second book of the series: Shrimp. Like a gingerbread man, I will run as fast as I can to buy the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining Read!

    This book is classified as a teen book but I think that readers of all ages will enjoy it. I am a man well past his teen years and I thought it was a great book. Just because it is about a girl in high school it should not stop anyone from reading this book. Many times I have read books that were from a genre in which I don't match the targeted profile but have enjoyed them immensely. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK TONS XD

    Its so wonderfull TT TT
    O
    But i got confused on how she loves her dad so much when she never met him If i were in thatv situation id tell all of the dads side of the family "get away wierdo i dont know u stop trying to hug me how do u know my name stalker MOMMY A CREEPY GUY KEEP TRYING TO TELL ME HE IS MY DAD!!!!!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Great book

    Awesome!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Cute

    Simple and quirky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8