Customer Reviews for

Gingerbread

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Life is full of frogs, you just have to learn to jump over them

    When one thinks of Gingerbread, heady spices and molasses-like sweetness comes to mind, the book however was a literary equivalent of Angel Food Cake - fluffy, light and sweet enough to entertain but not overly filling. It's something that I can read in one sitting and then get up without a headache, possibly ready to begin the next book in the series. Young Adult fiction has come a long way, reading books about disgruntled sixteen year olds are certainly easier than being one all over again and even though I am no longer a teen I certainly remember how tough it was. Standing strong against the ripping winds of corruption and negative influences while dealing with feelings for boys, parents and especially how I saw myself was no walk in the beach and even though I had a blast growing up I am relieved to be done with it. <BR/><BR/>For Cyd, living with her step dad Sid and mother Nancy and her younger half siblings in San Francisco is more an a nuisance than paradise. Her richly decorated home, stylish mother, lenient step father and her relationship with her new awesome boyfriend Shrimp are slowly crumbling up into a black hole that she has dug up in her past, the spoiled relationship with her then boyfriend Justin who got her hooked on his dark lifestyle and got her pregnant without giving her any support. After her life changing decision to write her own future Cyd becomes even more cynical, witty, sarcastic and sometimes warm and human on her quest to fix her broken relations with her parents, Shrimp and her biological father in New York. Her last memory of him was when she was five years old and him giving her a doll that she named Gingerbread, carrying it with her to this day. The visit to the East coast opens her eyes in more ways than she has imagined and it's up to her to either find the light or slink away into the shadows with no helping hands to pull her up. The mystery of her parents split, her other half siblings and potential new boys are lined on up the horizon for the reader to grab onto and enjoy. It's all up to her whether she wants to grow up and change or act like a spoiled brat. <BR/><BR/>The writing was easy to read and made the book flow like an express train. I enjoyed the brief glimpse of Cyd before she was with Shrimp and how her current situation evolved. This isn't deep fiction but a fun romp though pages filled with growing pains and emerging roots of maturity. I'm all ready reading the sequel "Shrimp" and cannot wait to find out what happens when Cyd is back in San Francisco after her life changing summer in New York. This book is like a nice, light slice of cake; it's no dinner but still fills you up. <BR/><BR/>- Kasia S.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Amazing

    At first it took me a while to get what was so speacial about the day that she was talking about in the book, but once you get there, its amazing. Gingerbread has a lot of different topics. like abortion, like what or how you feel afterwards, what could happen with the relationship with the guy who got u preggers, new boyfriend who you r in love with, meeting ur biological father..for like the second time. and other stuff. its too complicated to write it all down. lol. but seriously....READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!! u won't regret it. i promise!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2007

    Reccomended

    This book was slow at first, but as I kept reading it got better and better. A great story for girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Cute

    Simple and quirky

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    Good Book i guess

    really intereasting. vocab is kind of difficult

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Wow.

    This book was a great book. I seriously couldn't stop reading it. I've read this book at least more than 5 times! It seems so real, the situations Cyd goes through. She seems like she can be your best friend. Cool, fun, and sassy Cyd Charisse is thrown out of boarding school and back to her mom and step-father. Then, she visits her 'Frank real-dad' in New York and encounters some new experiences, both love, sadness, and surprises. I definetly recommend this book to anyone who loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    It was such a good one!

    The book was great and very interesting,but also sad that her and Shrimp didn't make it til' after the book.. I recommend you read this book. I just wish there was more added to the end... i didn't wanna stop reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2004

    Something to think about

    An excellenct book bought it the day I finished it. A real brain teaser it really got me thinking. This book was based on real stuff that teens go through I loved it, me being a teen and all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Gingerbread

    I gave this book four stars because it was really the kind of book where it's an easy enjoyable read, nothing spectacular, but yet original. Right when I opened this book, and read the first couple of lines, I knew it would be a book I would enjoy. The story is good but with some continuations or add on's it could be even better.Between each characters distinctive personalities, like the spontanious 'little hellion' herself (Cyd Charisse) to the emotional confessions made to her beloved doll, Gingerbread, who was given to her by her biological father. With each chapter of the book, you seemed to know more and more about Cyd Charisse's life and personality, every page was a piece of her waiting to be read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    Gingerbread

    gave this book four stars because it was really the kind of book where it's an easy enjoyable read, nothing spectacular, but yet original. Right when I opened this book, and read the first couple of lines, I knew it would be a book I would enjoy. Between each characters distinctive personalities, like the spontanious 'little hellion' herself (Cyd Charisse) to the emotional confessions made to her beloved doll, Gingerbread, who was given to her by her biological father. With each chapter of the book, you seemed to know more and more about Cyd Charisse's life and personality, every page was a piece of her waiting to be read. Through Cyd's journeys and accomplishments, wether it's in her utopian dream or reality, her emotions shine through and grab you into the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    really real

    a real book for real teens it is a book that explains why teens take some of the choices they do..even when they arent the right ones..well since i am a teenager i know not all the choices i make are the right ones either..im not bringing teens down though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Double Readable

    It's an awesome read, especially for anyone who thinks they have a dysfunctional family. I know it made me feel better knowing that a lot of my thoughts were in someone else's head, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    Its good

    This is one of the best books Ive read. I can totally relate to what shes thinking and how she feels. Gives me hope that there may be better days in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Gingerbread offers new life for young teens!

    I literally laughed out loud several times while reading Cohn's funny yet all too-well- known difficult family life. Motivation is crucial for my students and I know that if they are going to STICK with any book, they have to have an interest. The cover alone is something so many of my kids can relate to (the gothic-going-on look). Cyd (her name alone made me laugh since I know all to well of the original Cyd). While the language and subject matter at times may seem too mature for my students, a great many of them identify completely with the entire scene. They may not have gone to boarding school, but they know what it's like to be shipped off to the 'other' parent. I try to read the books before suggesting them to my students. That way I can prepare for any 'damage control' that might be needed. I am now encouraging my classes to write and post their own reviews on this site and use it as a computer day for searching and reading what they have said and others have said about the same book! I loved it! I'm betting that the majority of my girls will too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Spunky, Punky, and Totally Me.

    A totally real life book I can relate to. Cyd was totally like me, and it was nice to have someone to relate to. Not exactaly the most descriptive book, but an unforgetable-scream-your-head-off-read-over-and-over-teen-novel kind of book. I absolutly loved it, and threw a fit when I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    more like 7 out of 10

    This book would be better described as 7 out of 10(10 being tha best). I did enjoy it and overall it was pretty good.It was sort of flat though but i would definitely recommed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    Good for certain people

    This book was pleasantly suprising. I ususally read books like by authors like Grisham, so this book was a definite departure for me. However, I really enjoyed it. It's funny, suprising, and very witty. I suggest it to teenage girls as a great read that definitly draws you win.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    Food for your eyes

    This book is so true to life. Cyd Charrisse is so real you can almost believe that you'll find her on the street someday. Rachel Cohn tells the story of a(not so typical) 16 yr old girl who is trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    loved it

    gingerbread is a great book. cyd charisse is such a strong character and shes quite eay to relate to. she may be a problem child, but shes a great lead character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Gingerbread Tastes Mmmm Mmmm Good

    The teen book, Gingerbread, is rated four stars. If you ask me, it was a very well written novel that kept the reader on the edge of their seat. I enjoyed this novel because the main character was a teenage girl and I could relate to her. On the other hand, she was a little bit extreme, which made the book interesting. I would recommend, Gingerbread, to young adults and mature teenager because of profane language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2