Customer Reviews for

The Gingerbread Man

Average Rating 4.5
( 370 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Romantic Suspense in the Truest Sense

In a departure from the fantasy element of earlier novels, Ms. Shayne has delivered one of her best yet, a novel rich with spine-tingling mystery and an abundance of suspense.

Syracuse police detective Vince O¿Mally oversteps the bounds of his ...
In a departure from the fantasy element of earlier novels, Ms. Shayne has delivered one of her best yet, a novel rich with spine-tingling mystery and an abundance of suspense.

Syracuse police detective Vince O¿Mally oversteps the bounds of his profession and becomes too involved in his latest case. Two children are found murdered, and the only clue he discovers is an old library edition of THE GINGERBREAD MAN. That one clue leads him to Dilmun, New York, a small town on Cayuga Lake.

There, Vince encounters Holly Newman, last-known borrower of THE GINGERBREAD MAN, and secretary to the Dilmun Chief of Police. Vince and Holly¿s paths keep crossing, and he senses that she could provide a connection to his recent case. Holly, deftly portrayed as the fragile, yet strong heroine, can¿t decide whether she is attracted to or disturbed by the very forthright Vince.

Suddenly, many of Holly¿s old fears return as strange happenings grip the town of Dilmun leaving Holly and Vince in the eye of the storm. With a truly skillful manifestation of clues and possible suspects, the reader is kept guessing as much as any of the players. As Holly and Vince get closer to the truth and to each other, an eerily familiar series of events forces Holly to come to terms with her past. Can they catch the killer before it is too late?

In some novels, the suspense is over long before the book is finished. Not so in this case, as the answer to ¿who done it?¿ is made known when it should be, at the novel¿s conclusion. The nail-biting conclusion will leave readers white-knuckled for some time to come.

True romance readers won¿t be disappointed, either, as the love scenes become more memorable because they are not overplayed. With sizzling love scenes and suspense that just won¿t quit, Ms. Shayne has created a praise-worthy novel truly deserving of its classification as romantic suspense.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great book

But****** this was a very intriging book. At about page 168 there was a very graphic sex act. Totally unnecessary.. some foul language. Why do authors feel they have to include such filth. I will not read another of this author. If you can skip over a couple pages of f...
But****** this was a very intriging book. At about page 168 there was a very graphic sex act. Totally unnecessary.. some foul language. Why do authors feel they have to include such filth. I will not read another of this author. If you can skip over a couple pages of filth the balan e of the book is good. 3 stars because they feel readers want this, think again,,!!!! Without tat it could have been a 5.

posted by 9039455 on September 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2001

    Romantic Suspense in the Truest Sense

    In a departure from the fantasy element of earlier novels, Ms. Shayne has delivered one of her best yet, a novel rich with spine-tingling mystery and an abundance of suspense. <br><br> Syracuse police detective Vince O¿Mally oversteps the bounds of his profession and becomes too involved in his latest case. Two children are found murdered, and the only clue he discovers is an old library edition of THE GINGERBREAD MAN. That one clue leads him to Dilmun, New York, a small town on Cayuga Lake. <br><br> There, Vince encounters Holly Newman, last-known borrower of THE GINGERBREAD MAN, and secretary to the Dilmun Chief of Police. Vince and Holly¿s paths keep crossing, and he senses that she could provide a connection to his recent case. Holly, deftly portrayed as the fragile, yet strong heroine, can¿t decide whether she is attracted to or disturbed by the very forthright Vince. <br><br> Suddenly, many of Holly¿s old fears return as strange happenings grip the town of Dilmun leaving Holly and Vince in the eye of the storm. With a truly skillful manifestation of clues and possible suspects, the reader is kept guessing as much as any of the players. As Holly and Vince get closer to the truth and to each other, an eerily familiar series of events forces Holly to come to terms with her past. Can they catch the killer before it is too late? <br><br> In some novels, the suspense is over long before the book is finished. Not so in this case, as the answer to ¿who done it?¿ is made known when it should be, at the novel¿s conclusion. The nail-biting conclusion will leave readers white-knuckled for some time to come. <br><br> True romance readers won¿t be disappointed, either, as the love scenes become more memorable because they are not overplayed. With sizzling love scenes and suspense that just won¿t quit, Ms. Shayne has created a praise-worthy novel truly deserving of its classification as romantic suspense.

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    intriguing book that leaves you wanting more

    amazing to read, made you feel as if you were an actual part of the story, standing there watching from afar

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Wow!

    What a page turner Could not put it down

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    GREAT!

    Keeps your attention through the whole book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Wow

    Wow this book was great. It had me on the edge of my seat eager to turn to the next page!!! Loved it!!!
    HappyReading

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    a book that finally keeps my attention

    i like it so far, it is grabbing and descriptive.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Very good

    I enjoyed this suspense, murder mystery. Very well written. Vince and Holly's chemistry kept you glued. 253 Nook pages.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    This is a romantic story filled with suspense and love of family

    This is a romantic story filled with suspense and love of family.  Kept my attention and was a great  read!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Excellent!

    A quick and exciting read! Loved this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    G

    THE BEST BOOK EVER I HAD EVERY ONE AS A SUSPECT BEFORE I HAD AN 99% GUESS. AND I STILL WAS NOT RIGHT? MUST READ

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2013

    Great Romantic Suspense! Way to go Maggie

    Great Romantic Suspense! Way to go Maggie

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Great book

    But****** this was a very intriging book. At about page 168 there was a very graphic sex act. Totally unnecessary.. some foul language. Why do authors feel they have to include such filth. I will not read another of this author. If you can skip over a couple pages of filth the balan e of the book is good. 3 stars because they feel readers want this, think again,,!!!! Without tat it could have been a 5.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Great Book!

    Very well written. I couldn't put it down, great plot twists!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Just as great as the first time

    I read this years ago and the story stayed with me. The characters are strong and well developed, as is the story. It has the elements of classic suspense with modern sensibilty, creating adeliciously dark and entertaining read. This is definitely a keeper.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    excellent book

    One of the best books I have ever read. Well written, great plot, suspenseful, well developed characters. This would make a great movie. I want to read more from this excellent author.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Very good book!

    It's a free book so to be honest, my expectations weren't high. Luckily I was pleasantly surprised by this book.

    Don't get me wrong, there were some minor spelling and grammar errors most of which looked like the typos you get when you type too fast.

    The plot kept my interest although halfway through I was sure I knew who the killer was (I was right).

    The thing I enjoyed the most about this book were the characters. Personally, I love flawed characters; not train wrecks but human. These characters are perfect in that they are imperfect.

    Holly can be a hysterical mess and moody but can also be strong and a fighter.

    Detective Vince has a weakness for helping broken women even at the cost of his own mental well being.

    Overall, I enjoyed this book and recommended it to anyone who wants to spend a cold night curled up with a good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down for a second!!  Rec

    I enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down for a second!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    This was a great book, more a murder mystery then a romance, very well written....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Usually I have not found this caliber of a book for free. Maggie

    Usually I have not found this caliber of a book for free. Maggie Shayne has written a psychological thriller based on child abduction and a small towns desire to sweep it under and forget about it. This book holds your attention from page 1. The characters are believable and you actually start to bond with them and actually feel their pain. I do recommend this book anh hope there is a follow up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Excellent story--well-written! Shayne weaves a story about a sur

    Excellent story--well-written!
    Shayne weaves a story about a survivor of an attempted abduction, though she's had to live with the fact that she couldn't save her sister from the same fate.

    Twists and turns keep you guessing and anticipating what might happen next. Who might be the villain, and who ends up a hero?
    I gave it one less star because the detailed sex scene seemed unnecessarily graphic for this type of story.
    However, I very much enjoyed the tension and the story. Recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19