Customer Reviews for

Giraffes Can't Dance

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The brightly colored, action-filled illustrations skillfully enhance this first-rate story.

    Gerald's long neck, thin legs, and bandy knees are good for some things, like munching on trees. But they also make him a bit clumsy. When it is time for the annual jungle dance Gerald courageously steps out to dance. The other animals laugh and taunt him "Giraffes can't dance . . ." This leaves Gerald feeling sad, useless, and alone until he finds his own tune.

    When visiting my long-distance granddaughter, I found "Giraffes Can't Dance" on her bookshelf. I was originally attracted to this book because I am a nature lover. Glancing through its pages, the following passage from the book captured me:

    "Listen to the swaying grass and listen to the trees, to me the sweetest music is those branches in the breeze. So imagine that that lovely moon is playing just for you, everything makes music if you really want it to."

    But there is so much more to this book. The brightly colored, action-filled illustrations skillfully enhance this first-rate story. The story touches on being teased, feeling embarrassed, and the fall and rise of self-esteem. This book is about being different, overcoming challenge, and finding something that you love. As a life coach, I appreciate the message of finding your own tune and then dancing to it. As a writer, I like the way the story actively moves forward with rhythmic rhyme that is perfect for the dancing theme. The story evokes empathy when Gerald is feeling sad and defeated. Later, the story stirs up joy and excitement when, without even trying, Gerald begins to dance.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Even A Giraffe Can Dance

    A great book about being yourself. Everyone can dance, just in there own way - even a giraffe! Cute story and artwork.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Never give up!

    This has become a favorite of my four year old grandson. Every child has moments of being afraid to take a risk and is needing encouragement. The story demonstrates both disappointment when the other animals laugh because the giraffe cannot dance to courage when a suggestion and encouragement are made and it works! All of sudden the giraffe is the center of attention in a positive way. When I finished reading the story to my grandson, his response was Read is again, Gramma.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    Great book with a great lesson!

    This is one of my favorite children's books. My daughter is 20 months old and she loves the colorful illustrations and pointing out all the animals. For me, I love that it has a great lesson about everyone being unique.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    Great Children's Book!

    Our family loves this book. The rhyming keeps our children engaged and the message of the book is wonderful!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Cute book!

    This is a little long for our 18 mo old but he loves the pictures. This is a great addition to his enlarging library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    A Very Happy Ending

    This book has wonderful illustrations and a classroom of 5 year olds smiled at the giraffe's antics. It holds a good lesson that children can relate to.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Great Book

    I read this every night to my 11 month old and 2 year old. My two year old loves to find where the cricket is hiding on each page. Bright colors, great story. Perfect book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite for Home and School

    I am a Pre-K teacher and every year my students love this story!! I must have read it dozens of times and I still get choked up. The lessons of friendship and self image are powerful for adults and children alike. When my nephew was born, it was the first book I purchased for his library and it has become a favorite at his house as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    This is a great book. The story,illustration and everything.
    A great buy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    Giraffes Can't Dance

    Read this to a few of the special needs children I work with, and they loved it! The artwork was terrific, the animals were ANIMATED and they took the message of the book well. A great read, with lots of repeats requested.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We have purchased TWO back-ups

    My daughter has literally loved this book to pieces. It has been taped up so many times that I think the book has more tape than paper right now. She brings it to bed with her every night and I hear her "reading" to herself after she is tucked in. This is the only book she has memorized and is constantly asking for it. I have read it so many times and still love it. This book is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Fantastic Book

    We initially checked this book out of the library and my son loved it so much -- we had to buy it too. My son is very tall for his age so he is always falling down and is a little awkward-- so I think he really identified with Gerald. At any rate, it's a great book for any child-- whether they are insecure or not! It has a great message and flows beautifully when read. Hint:-- my son particularly likes it when we use a funny voice for the cricket----

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    THE BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK EVER!

    this amazing book is my faverite kid's book, and i still read it. Gerald the Giraffe has a hard time a first, not being able to dance... BUT HE IS SUPER DOOPER SPEAICEL!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Love it Love it Love it

    I don't know who loves this book more....my son or me? The story is beautifully written and the illustrations are gorgeous. I have given it to all my friends with little ones. Can't recommend this book enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A perfect message in a beautiful book

    I always have a copy of this book on hand to give as a gift. It is my favorite children's book -- for its rhythm, message, and illustrations. The first time I read it, it brought tears to my eyes. Most people I give it to claim that it quickly becomes a family favorite and they start to buy it for other people!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    My Favorite Childrens Book

    My son got this for a gift when he was just a baby he is almost 3 now and it is his favorite and mine! We bought a copy for each of his playgroup friends for their birthdays!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2005

    Fantastic!!

    I read this years ago when I nannied and just knew it was a book I had to have even though I didn't have kids at the time. I have been reading this to my almost 2 yr old daughter and she loves it as much as me. Teaches children, even adults, that it is ok to be different and to embrace the differences in others as well as ourselves. I have given many copies as gifts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    One of the BEST children's book out there!

    In the summer I work with children that have many different types of mental, emotional, physical, etc disorders and this book has been able to help them all. Certain children have even gone so far as to read the story everyday until they had it memorized! This book also was able to reach out and touch my preschoolers over the past year. It is a wonderful story with an even more amazing message. Perfect addition to any library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Great for a Special Needs Child.

    Precious story that flows with rhyme. The giraffe can't dance only because he needs a different song. I love this book. Inspiring for any child that is just not like all the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5