Customer Reviews for

Giraffes Can't Dance

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Excellent Story

    This book is terrific. Our whole family loves it. The drawings are great and the story is well told. Gerald the giraffe is laughed at but listens when a cricket essentially tells him that he is special and that we all do things differently. My 4 year old daughter really likes it when all the animals watch in amazement as they see Gerald dance and he's the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2002

    A Must Have!!!

    This was given to us as a gift....and I must say it's a wonderful book. My 3 1/2 year old and I love to sit and read this book about Gerald. The story that is told is so important for children and adults alike. We all need to learn and appreciate other peoples differances. I'm buying this as a gift to give to my godson. I just can't say enough great things about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Destined to be a classic..

    I recommend buying at least three copies of this book... one to read (it will end up lovingly tattered), one to keep pristine (it is so beautiful), and more to give as gifts. It is one of the best children's books I have seen in a long time. The story is timeless and presented in lyrical prose that goes a long way toward soothing both listener and reader alike. The art is magnificent... bold, bright, and whimsical. The recommended reader age of 5-6 is misleading... this is a book that will appeal to a much broader age group and I purchased it for my expected grandchild. It was test-driven recently on a two-year old and her comment after each of the MANY reads was 'wead again!'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2002

    Wonderful!

    The illustrations are colorful and fun, the story is fabulous. Jungle animals make fun of Gerald and he loses his confidence. A wise cricket advises Gerald that sometimes when you're different, you just need a different song. Suddenly, Gerald finds his own groove and the other animals cheer. I love the way this story teaches kids about appreciating differences among people and understanding that everyone is gifted and beautiful in their own way. My 3-year old just loves it (and so do I)!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    'giraffes' is great

    i love the story as much as my 3yr old & 6yr old, the illustration is wonderful & the story is delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Beautiful book with a great lesson for all!

    Recently purchased this book for my 5 year old grandson. It is a wonderfully written and beautifully illustrated story. Presents a great lesson on accepting others and appreciating what they can do. Proves that everyone has different abilities but still wonderful in their own unique way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Great story for kids!

    I love the story of the Giraffe who finds hi own music to dance to. The CD has two tracks, one with page turn signals and one without. It is easy to follow along to and has a great "moral" at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    My little granddaughters, ages four and seven, loved this book.

    My little granddaughters, ages four and seven, loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    This book is for young children and is about finding what you go

    This book is for young children and is about finding what you good at. This also teaches kids to keep on trying even when things are hard to do.  Children can learn to ignore the laughter and discouragement of other. The illustrations in the book are wonderful and bright, they are captivating to young children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    In our family we love to dance but many people feel awkward when asked to Dance. This book shows a giraffe so days she can't dance. In a lovingly illustrated book she finds her own special gifts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I love this book...maybe even more than my four year old. :-)

    I love this book...maybe even more than my four year old. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended - you must check it out!!!

    My 2 year old daughter can't get enough of this book. It has beautiful illustrations with vibrant colors and lots of animals. The story is great and there's a little cricket hiding on almost every page that's fun to look for. My friend has a 3 year old boy who loves this book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Wonderful, engaging pictures and story

    My 2 and 5 year old grand daughters love this book. The pictures and colors are beautiful snd the 5yr old loves to find and name all the different animals featured in the book. Excellent story about how each of us have our own unique gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Story

    I highly recommend this book for kids 3-5. I bought this for my granddaughter who just turned one, but my four year old grandson just loved the story. Beautiful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Our daughter loves this story she cant get enough of it. It has

    Our daughter loves this story she cant get enough of it. It has a great message too about being yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    Vibrant colors and a great message

    My daughters ages 2 and 3 insist that we read this book daily. They love the pictures and it's a very cute story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    LOVE LOVE LOVE This book

    I began by giving this book to my "dance challenged" best friend's daughter for her birthday...I now include it in all baby shower gifts and for young children gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Book for the Kids

    Enjoyable and fun for the kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great for children and adults

    Great for educating young children about finding their own "rhythm" in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Outstanding kids book!

    I am a graduate clinician- practicing to become a speech-language pathologist and I just love this book! Not only is it adorable and beautifully illustrated, but it can be used in a variety of ways, such as to develop character descriptions, make predictions, talk about feelings, and the list goes on! A great book to have in your collection- it has stood the test of entertaining some of my toughest little audiences!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4