Customer Reviews for

A Girl Like Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ!

    A Girl Like Me by Ni-Ni Simone had me not wanting to stop reading it. I contunied to read it without stopping but to sleep. I read A Girl Like Me in 2 days. I just loved it && Elite character was real i could look to her as someone in my "hood". Her mom being a crack head felt emotional and thrilling. This book was real to me , it told stories of people like my age , my ethnic group. its a must read book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book

    As soon as i got this book, i couldnt put it down;) i think i read it in a couple of hours after i got it lol . It was really good. This book applies to teeagers like myself in reality . Maybe our prince woundnt be comin anytym soon, but its a good thing to jus lay baq n dream, after all it is the hood cinderalla:) i look up to Ni-Ni Simone, she a great writter and i hope she comes out with more books similar to this one, sumthing that teens can applie to in this planet called earth. LOVE HA BOOKS;P

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    WOW This book is HOT

    I Love this book, it is basic on a teens life and everyday her life is being to change. when u first start reading this book u will not be able to put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the book

    this book is so ggggggggoooooooooooooooooddddddddd!!!
    i swear if you read this..... you won't put it down.......I didn't...... i got doine in a day........i was so in to it........i mean, how can you not?...it a very good read and i liked it mostly for the fact that the book is in a modern time is good and the story line has that,'the boy is tryn' to get the girl typestoryline and that's good. Ni-Ni Simone is a great author and god bless girl!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    U have 2 read this book

    This book is sooo gud it relates well 2 teens who r in this situation theres a lot of real life drama in it and its hard to put down. I just got the book yesterday march 5th and i finished it today march 6th you'll love it no matter what and i cant wait 2 see what else Ni-Ni Simone writes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    This book is the best!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is the best!!! It its so realistic and thrilling. It is a realistic love story that is way down to earth. After you finish reading it the only thing that crosses your mind is wow.I recommend this book to everyone who loves a thrilling love story with a good ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Haneef

    When haneef says lil ma i melt because its he sexiest goddamn lil ma ever!!!!!! Love ya boo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Great book 2

    Also if you like this one you'll like shawty like mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great book!

    This book was great! From the first page to the last i was interested. Ni-ni simone is an amazing author. I have read a few of her books but i definitely know im am going to read more. Well done Ni-ni simone! Keep these books coming!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    My favorite ni ni simone book!!!!!!

    When I read its like I see everything play out like a movie in my head, with that being said (once again) ni ni simone wrote a book that had me on the edge the whole time and I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Singer status

    Loved it was the best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Get this book and read it

    This book is amazing you'll fall in love with it :) it just makes you want to reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    READ READ READ

    You need to read this book. This story is abot a ghetto Cinderella that will just change your view on how you look a some people and the lifestyes they live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended- you must check it out!!!!!!!!!

    For those who enjoys books that deal with the serious issues, like living with a drug addicted family memmber or dealing with the pressures of high school than this book is for you. I found it hard to put down until I got to the end and even when I finish the book I still wanted to know what would happen next. NI-NI- Simone is an amazing author. Get the book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    SPeCtACuLAR B00k WIsH she WRiTE M00re bOOKS

    Wonderful book . Love all her books period. Wonderful writer. Read all of her books. Also looking forward to the new ones in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    He lox

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    best book

    this book will pull you in and keep you on the edge of your seat and teaches a lesson i luv it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love this book, my friends talk and act just like this right now today, but not they family or grandma. I love it. Not only has it got me into reading more and more, but I can really enjoy it without the bore. I would recommend this only for teens because it would give them life lessons, or it's good for parents too so they can have a look in our world or know how to put they child on a more tight lock-down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    This book was wonderful

    The same day i qot this book I finished readinq it the same day.I love this book so much. When i qot the other 2, i read those in a day to. This book was very interesting and it can relate to many younq qirls as well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4