BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Girl Meets God: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2014

    Perhaps the best spiritual memoir I've read. Totally honest and

    Perhaps the best spiritual memoir I've read. Totally honest and highly intelligent. Coming from her
    double background of orthodox Judaism and liberal academia, Winner's journey into the Christian faith 
    delivers some incredible insights that she is uniquely able to see. Her personal story is moving and surprising, 
    yet it's greatest value may be in the quiet, unstated challenge she presents to the reader. This book is truly 
    special. It will require investment of both your mind and your heart. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Finally!

    Finally a Christian woman who thinks for herself. Lauren Winner is inspiring and delightful. She doesn't take herself too seriously, but she takes her faith(s) very seriously. Her unique perspective on Christianity and Jesus made me stop and think all the way through her well-written memoir.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2004

    Attention All Seekers!

    Seekers of any faith will see themselves in some part of this book. I thoroughly enjoyed this account of Lauren's spiritual quests and especially enjoyed the glimpses into Judaism (of which I know little). The very best thing about this book is that it illustrates how present God is in every aspect of our lives (if only we choose to see Him). Uplifting in every aspect, I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2004

    'girl meets God': An Inspiring Book for the Soul

    ¿girl meets God¿, a Memoir, is first the story of an extraordinary woman, Lauren Winner, who explored two faiths with devotion and courage. Lauren Winner is the daughter of a Southern Baptist mother and a Jewish father, and was raised as a Reform Jew. During college, she converted to Orthodox Judaism and then, to Christianity. Her story is filled with the challenges that such changes imply, from dealing with family and old friends, to presenting herself anew to the world. The book is a collection of personal stories, and follows a religious chronology articulated around the Christian and Jewish calendars of one year. However, even if the book appears to be the story of one year, it is in fact a lifetime story condensed in one ¿religious¿ year. One should keep this in mind in order not to be confused with the real (temporal) chronology of events. ¿Girl meets god¿ is also a book about tolerance. One will learn a lot of things about Judaism, and what Judaism and Christianity have in common. Lauren is an excellent teacher and conveys an original way of thinking in this regard. Moreover, although Lauren has finally chosen to be a Christian, her book is not about converting one to Christianity or offering support to Christians. Her story shows that Christianity is not the only right path in one¿s life. Her story is above all, a story about God. Finally, ¿girl meets God¿ is a book for EVERYONE. It does not matter that one has nothing in common with Lauren, one surprisingly relates to her story, and recognize oneself in her interrogations and aspirations. Lauren just found the words for you. This book is a great companion for everyone who wishes to undertake (or re-undertake) a spiritual journey in order to make more sense of their lives. One laughs, one cries with Lauren throughout her stories. And at the end, it is like one made a new friend. ¿girl meets God¿: A Book for the Soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2003

    Hit the Motherlode with this One

    Winner writes bare-bones and with great humility about the spiritual walk her life has become. What may be (mis)interpreted as an aimless soul just searching for some sort of a spiritual connection is revealed as a brilliant young woman who delights in her search for those most enigmatic of virtues: truth and peace, and, most importantly, communion with God. By interweaving and dovetailing two of the world's great religions, Judaism and Christianity, she leaves the reader wrapped in a rich tapestry, one laden with brilliant pearls of wisdom. Upon finishing Girl Meets God, I chose to keep it on my nightstand. Winner's book is too priceless to be relegated to the shelf of 'already read books.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2003

    Few Have the Courage to be This Honest

    The power of the unadorned truth is amazing. This woman is killer smart, funny, and immensely entertaining. She creates these wonderful constructs that conclude in statements that go straight to your heart, and you cry because you are more than you were, and you know she speaks the truth. Thank you Miss Winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    Charming

    Winner's book is wonderful not only because of her obvious talent, but because of her excruciating honesty. As a self proclaimed 'nerd' I find comfort in academia and understand the difficulty of reconciling knowlegde and faith. While this book does not give easy answers (I don't think I would like it so much if it did), it is thought provoking and encourages the reader to view things through different glasses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I relate to Lauren so much! What I like about her book is, although I don't know the author personally, I feel that I know her now and could sit down and talk to her about her life, experiences, thoughts, and feelings for hours. It's a wonderful book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Writing so beautiful there's no comparison

    All I can say is, I had read three paragraphs when I called up my friends and said, 'get this book. Listen to the way this woman writes. What a voice.' Oh, and yeah, the story is good too. This book will be a classic. One you'll want to read over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    A compelling book

    This book has already been recommended by me to 100 of my friends, and I only began reading it three days ago. And just today, finished it. It is without a doubt one of the most compelling books I've read in a long time. But, unlike other reviewers, I would not compare Girl Meets God to any work by Anne Lamott, (though I love Anne Lamott). Rather, Girl Meets God is more like an ageless classic, after the style of C.S. Lewis...but with a little more flair. Like the book Mere Christianity I predict, Girl meets God will be read over and over and be popular for generations to come. And yes, there is a charm to this book, but it's a haunting charm. A charm that stalks you and keeps your thoughts turned towards the possibility that what this woman is writing about may be something I need in my own life, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    A Modern Spiritual Classic

    This is a fascinating story of a young woman's path from Judaism to Christianity (Episcopalianism). I loved it for two reasons: first, boys howdy can she write! Second, the story was very accessible and touching, and the spiritual insights applicable, even for a reader who (like me) didn't know much about Judaism or Episcopalianism. Readers who like Annie Dillard, Jan Karon, or C S Lewis will love Girl Meets God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1