Customer Reviews for

Girl, Stolen

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, Inspiring Read!

I really adored Girl, Stolen. This is the first book that I've read from April Henry and I had been looking forward to reading it for a while and it did not disappoint. The story is well thought out, smart, fast-paced, with suspense and action, and a twist towards the e...
I really adored Girl, Stolen. This is the first book that I've read from April Henry and I had been looking forward to reading it for a while and it did not disappoint. The story is well thought out, smart, fast-paced, with suspense and action, and a twist towards the end. And with the added strain of a teenage girl's blindness and pneumonia, this accidental kidnapping is unlike any other I've read, so it definitely peaked my interest. It is fresh and original. The characters are believable, with Cheyenne being my favorite. I liked how despite her handicap of being blind and sick, she is not portrayed as weak and helpless. The author focuses more on Cheyenne's strengths than her weaknesses and utilizes them to the fullest extent. Don't underestimate her. In fact, she is quite an extraordinary, remarkable, and brave young girl. The amount of strength and fight in her to try to survive this ordeal is just incredible and inspiring. Even though this is just a work of fiction, it still gives you a testament of what a blind person is capable of overcoming when faced with obstacles. Cheyenne never gives up hope. Her intelligence as well as her methodical planning and strategic ingenuity make up for her blindness. Cheyenne finds the strongest weapon in the most unlikely place - through communication - which I thought was interesting. But she also uses her handicap to her advantage, trying to evoke sympathy, in hopes of gaining some leverage in her situation. So she really leaves no stone unturned. Griffin, the teenage boy who accidentally kidnaps Cheyenne when he steals her stepmom's car, is another character who, while I shouldn't like him because he is one of the bad guys, kind of grew on me once I got to learn more about him, as his damaged layers were slowly peeled back as you read through the book. He is torn between doing what's right and doing what his father expects of him, so his vulnerability is easily visible. The book does a great job of detailing the internal conflicts and thoughts of the kidnappers. For me the story was just as much about Griffin as it was about Cheyenne. I felt that it was just as important to try to "free" Griffin as it was to free Cheyenne. There are certain parallels in their lives that allow for them to relate - or seemingly so - which you have to decide, is it a genuine connection or a strategic one? You'll have to make up your own mind about this if you read this book. I found myself caring about what happened to the characters. And I was rooting for Cheyenne the whole time. The exciting part about reading this book is that it's unpredictable - to me at least - because it could go either way, good or bad. I didn't know what was going to happen next, which made the journey more thrilling and suspenseful. Money is such a powerful incentive for some of the captors that they are willing to selfishly hold Cheyenne for ransom despite never being kidnappers before. Even though Cheyenne is literally the blind one, for me it felt like her captors were also "blind," being blinded by money. You get to see the extent to which some people will go for money and how greed can affect some people in a negative way by clouding and overpowering rational reasoning and good judgement in the weak-minded. The book has a lot of underlying depth, dealing with themes and issues of peer pressure, morality, trust, the handicapped, overcoming obstacles, courage, and hope. I highly recommend reading this book!

posted by Bookish_Delights on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I'm with O-O

Scary...

posted by 15191548 on January 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Wonderful, Inspiring Read!

    I really adored Girl, Stolen. This is the first book that I've read from April Henry and I had been looking forward to reading it for a while and it did not disappoint. The story is well thought out, smart, fast-paced, with suspense and action, and a twist towards the end. And with the added strain of a teenage girl's blindness and pneumonia, this accidental kidnapping is unlike any other I've read, so it definitely peaked my interest. It is fresh and original. The characters are believable, with Cheyenne being my favorite. I liked how despite her handicap of being blind and sick, she is not portrayed as weak and helpless. The author focuses more on Cheyenne's strengths than her weaknesses and utilizes them to the fullest extent. Don't underestimate her. In fact, she is quite an extraordinary, remarkable, and brave young girl. The amount of strength and fight in her to try to survive this ordeal is just incredible and inspiring. Even though this is just a work of fiction, it still gives you a testament of what a blind person is capable of overcoming when faced with obstacles. Cheyenne never gives up hope. Her intelligence as well as her methodical planning and strategic ingenuity make up for her blindness. Cheyenne finds the strongest weapon in the most unlikely place - through communication - which I thought was interesting. But she also uses her handicap to her advantage, trying to evoke sympathy, in hopes of gaining some leverage in her situation. So she really leaves no stone unturned. Griffin, the teenage boy who accidentally kidnaps Cheyenne when he steals her stepmom's car, is another character who, while I shouldn't like him because he is one of the bad guys, kind of grew on me once I got to learn more about him, as his damaged layers were slowly peeled back as you read through the book. He is torn between doing what's right and doing what his father expects of him, so his vulnerability is easily visible. The book does a great job of detailing the internal conflicts and thoughts of the kidnappers. For me the story was just as much about Griffin as it was about Cheyenne. I felt that it was just as important to try to "free" Griffin as it was to free Cheyenne. There are certain parallels in their lives that allow for them to relate - or seemingly so - which you have to decide, is it a genuine connection or a strategic one? You'll have to make up your own mind about this if you read this book. I found myself caring about what happened to the characters. And I was rooting for Cheyenne the whole time. The exciting part about reading this book is that it's unpredictable - to me at least - because it could go either way, good or bad. I didn't know what was going to happen next, which made the journey more thrilling and suspenseful. Money is such a powerful incentive for some of the captors that they are willing to selfishly hold Cheyenne for ransom despite never being kidnappers before. Even though Cheyenne is literally the blind one, for me it felt like her captors were also "blind," being blinded by money. You get to see the extent to which some people will go for money and how greed can affect some people in a negative way by clouding and overpowering rational reasoning and good judgement in the weak-minded. The book has a lot of underlying depth, dealing with themes and issues of peer pressure, morality, trust, the handicapped, overcoming obstacles, courage, and hope. I highly recommend reading this book!

    42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    IM SERIOUS WHEN I SAY "YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK"

    I cant stress to you enough that you HAVE to read this book!!!!! Even if u hate books so much that u rather die than read a book, i swear that you deffinatly can not put this book down! You will get mad when u have to stop reading this book! So please if you want to read something u have to read this!!!!!

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    As you can read from the synopsis, the protagonist Cheyenne is sick and blind. But her bad luck doesn't end there. When her stepmother, Danielle drives her to a pharmacy to get medicine supplies, she asks her to leave the key in the ignition to keep her warm. Then, when someone enters the car, she realizes from the person's micro-behaviours that he/she is definitely not Danielle. That's when reality hits - her car is stolen, and worse, she's inside it!

    This book is different from other books which I've read before. I think the best thing about this book is that the author has successfully portrayed Cheyenne's character. Having a blind protagonist is not easy, and I'm sure April has done quite a lot of researching and reading on this part. She also narrates Cheyenne's story skillfully, telling us what she feels at a particular moment, how she reacts to perilous events, and how she learns to trust one of her captors who promises to let her go.

    Griffin steals a Cadillac Escalade on a whim, without realizing that there's a girl in the backseat. When he discovers her, it is too late to let her go. So he brings her back to his dad's place, along with the car. He promises her that he will let her go once it is dark. But his dad declares that they will keep her as a captive after listening to the news broadcast reporting about the missing Cheyenne Wilder, for her father is Nike's president, and she is their one-way-ticket to wealth.

    The friendship between Cheyenne and Griffin is honest and unfeigned, although it seems out of place because of their different roles - one captive and the other the captor. But still, Cheyenne doesn't trust Griffin entirely, despite the fact that he's the only one who's kind towards her. She even tries to knock him unconscious on the day his father and his sidekicks go to get the ransom which they demanded earlier from Cheyenne's father. I don't blame her for this, because this only proves that her survival instincts are functional. I really admire Cheyenne's extraordinary spirit and strength. You would probably think that being blind, she will just give up and surrender. But this tough teenage girl will absolutely prove you wrong. She faces the problem calmly, and even tries to escape without the help of her cane. Her courage and determination to keep herself alive is indeed commendable. I couldn't imagine myself going through everything that Cheyenne has gone through - it was a really scary experience. And what's worse is that she's blind.

    Girl, Stolen is really amazing! I devoured the book in one-sitting. The story is fast-paced thrilling and heart-gripping. Even though I constantly feared for Cheyenne's safety, I remained hopeful for her survival. The climax of this novel left me in awe with the author's creativity and brilliance. The twist she inserted made my insides churn with fear for Cheyenne's fate. I went Oh, no! when her ticket to safety is suddenly ripped into pieces. I'll stop here so that I don't accidentally spill anything. If you want to know whether Cheyenne escapes efficaciously, you'll have to read this book to find out.

    Note: This book is a clean read. I highly recommend this book to everyone who enjoys a great, thrilling story.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    (:

    I did not read this book on the Nook but it was a good read. I did find it too easy for teen but im a high reader.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    I love this book

    It was amazing! Its really well writen and makes you fell like you'er there with her

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awesome book!!

    After getting stolen, blind cheynne has to find away to get away!! Totally worth it!! All my friends enjoy it too!!:)

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Best book ever

    I absolutely LOVED this book!!!! I would get in so much trouble for not putting it down but I hope ther is another book so I know what Chyanne will do next and how Griffen is and if they ever meet in person again.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed reading Girl, Stolen. This was a novel that had

    I really enjoyed reading Girl, Stolen. This was a novel that had quite an interesting plot compared to other stories similar to it due to the fact that Cheyenne is blind and sick with pneumonia. The pace of the book is fairly fast, although I must say, some parts of the story when Cheyenne is in captivity can get a little bit slow, and where I got stuck. Once you get past those couple of chapters, the ending is AWESOME! It has a lot of twists and turns that keep you right on the edge of your seat, not sure if Cheyenne will ever be safe again. The story also adds in another dynamic in that it switches off from Griffin, the accidental kidnapper, and Cheyenne's point of view. It is also really cool seeing how Griffin and Cheyenne's relationship develops which is quite unique. The ending will also keep you wondering what happens to the characters, still on the edge of your seat. Girl, Stolen is a great book that I would reccomend to readers who enjoy thrillers or realistic fiction.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    While Cheyenne is resting in the back of her step mom’s es

    While Cheyenne is resting in the back of her step mom’s escalade; Griffin (thief) steals the car without knowing that Cheyenne is resting there. As Griffin continues stealing the car with a screaming Cheyenne in the back seat, he comes to find out that she’s blind and has pneumonia. Griffin decides that he could use her as ransom for is dad. But what they come to find out, is that Cheyenne’s dad is the president of Nike. As Cheyenne manipulates Griffin into sympathizing with her, she hopes that he’ll eventually let her go. Cheyenne and Griffin have a very strange, cool relationship as the story unfolds.
    Cheyenne is still blind, and despite her handicap, she still kicks butt. Her senses are ten times stronger than normal people. As she realizes it’s her time to escape after ransom is discussed, she goes for it. I cannot tell you what happens, you’ll just have to read for yourself.
    The characters in this book are very vivid, and I can imagine myself being right there with Cheyenne. Hoping that I can jump in and help her, but sadly, I cannot.
    There are many twists and turns in this book, but if you’re not one for creepy things, I wouldn’t read this book. If you love action, suspense, or not being able to keep your nose out of a book; this book is for you.
    April Henry opened a new world for me in not only books, but life. The book titled Girl, stolen is one of my top five favorite books of all time. I’ve gained a new perspective on life, and trust. I love this book, and I will read it over and over again.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Amazing

    I read it not on the book and it is the best book i have ever read

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Girl stolen

    I really want to read this book!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    A good book

    This is a good book, i loved reading it! I wish the ending was different

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Theclifhanger never to be answered

    The book waa vry tjriller like and action packed on evry page. At the end i was ahppy things tured out well...in a way. But when i read the last sentece i felt like asking "is tere another chapter? Did someone rip out the pages if my book?" I was so sad to reliZe that this isnt a srres. I trully love this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for Teens Read Too

    Cheyenne feels awful. She and her step-mother have just left the doctor's office where x-rays revealed that Cheyenne has pneumonia. Her step-mother leaves her resting in the running car while she heads into the store to pick up a prescription. It all seems simple, until a stranger slips into the front seat and steals the car. As the car thief speeds out of the parking lot, a glance in the rear view mirror reveals he has a passenger, but by now it's too late. When Cheyenne realizes what is happening, she begs her captor to release her, promising not to tell anyone. When her promises are ignored, Cheyenne reveals the real truth - she is blind. Griffin, the young car thief, is in a panic. His actual target in the shopping center parking lot was to steal packages from unlocked vehicles. Stealing a car was not part of the plan, but when he saw the classy SUV was just sitting there with its engine running, he reacted. Now he will be delivering a really cool car to his father, but the added surprise of a kidnapped girl is definitely going to complicate matters. Cheyenne tries to use her remaining senses to follow the route Griffin takes into the country. She knows she isn't far from home, but she has no idea how to figure out exactly where she is. When her kidnappers find out she is the daughter of the company president of Nike, they are determined to demand a sizeable reward. As they plot and plan their next step, Cheyenne listens carefully for clues revealing their names and the location of the house where she is being held. Author April Henry has created quite a thriller guaranteed to keep readers on the edge of their seats. GIRL, STOLEN is filled with plenty of excitement and suspense. There is the obvious complication of Cheyenne's blindness and the added difficulty of her physical illness and her immediate need for antibiotics. Those problems alone would be enough for most authors, but Henry adds other creative plot twists that will keep readers on their toes. GIRL, STOLEN is a must-read for action and adventure fans.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was ABSOLUTLY AMAZING!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!! It is for a little bit older kids or teens, because of some inaproproite parts. It was a real page turner and i read it in two days!!! I can't even put in to words how I feal about this book!!!!! A MUST read book, i recommend it to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great BOOK

    The ending is really good, i wished it had a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The ending though...

    I loved the book. The characters were very well thought out. The relationship between her and Griffen was cute, although it could have been much stronger. All the events leading up to the ending were good and engaging, but the ending sucked, to be honest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book

    This is a very great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Thrilling and Heart Capturing. I LOVED IT!

    Thrilling and Heart Capturing. I LOVED IT!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Wish it twas in my nc

    I just bought this book at a book fair last wednsday and i wish i wouldve bought it on my nc!!!!!ive read the first few pages witch were already action packed and wonderous!!i cant wait for me to notbe able to put it down, but i dont want to get in truble (mom) byreading late (hunger games) lol cant wait till i gave nothing else to so but read!!!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12