Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Chased the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 941 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(445)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(121)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

~Loved This Book!~

I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I foun...
I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

posted by Cerae on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance ...
Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

posted by Medford on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ~Loved This Book!~

    I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A fast-paced, entertaining book centered around good food and a touch of magical realism!

    Sarah Addison Allen returns to the South with The Girl Who Chased the Moon a magical novel about a young girl discovering her roots. Emily Benedict comes to Mullaby, North Carolina hoping to learn more about her reserved, strict mother. Instead she finds a town full of secret, unexplainable things. Lights flit around her yard at night, wallpaper in her room changes to suit her room, and her giant of a grandfather won't reveal anything. Emily doesn't believe in magic but she can't shake the feeling that something mysterious is going on.

    Allen has, once again, written a fast-paced, entertaining book centered around good food and a touch of magical realism. Her characters are strong and interesting and their magical quirks are creative. She cuts the lighthearted story with just a pinch of darkness, keeping it from becoming too sweet. If you liked Sugar Queen and Garden Spells you will enjoy The Girl Who Chased the Moon as well.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SWEET READ!

    This is a lovely tale of mystery, romance and is sprinkled with magic. It's beautifully written and the town and its quirky inhabitants are real and alive, and charmingly portrayed.

    We are taken into the town of Mullaby, North Carolina after Emily has lost her mother, Dulcie, where she is transported to be with her extremely tall, reclusive grandfather, whom she didn't know existed. She learns of her mother's childhood, which seems so different from the woman she knew all her life. Emily discovers that her mother was involved in a scandal and that a young man had committed suicide over it. No one will tell her what it was.
    She quickly makes friends with Julia, a woman with a troubled past and who bakes cakes that seem magical. Emily becomes involved with a local boy who is linked to the mystery from the past, one that centers around her mother and an event that turned the little town on its heels.

    There are many poignant moments, magic wallpaper, magic baking, and mysterious lights in the woods that all come together to provide the reader with hours of enjoyment.

    ENCHANTING READ!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great summer read fairy tale

    It's hard to feel anything but happy when reading Allen's books, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon is no exception.
    With the magic and impossible interwoven with the painfully realistic plot, you can't help but wish it all were true here.
    Such an easy and delightful read for the summertime and makes me wish I lived in a magically charming Southern town like this one.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a fun read!

    The author crafts a bittersweet lesson in love and forgiveness. Baking is a way Julia copes with her losses and...watch out for the dusting of believable magic! Truly a fun read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magical, enchanting read

    Two Christmases ago, my co-worker gave me a book. No surprise there, but the particular book she presented me with was unlike anything I had ever come across before. The book was Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen and the genre was magical realism. As soon as I started in, I was lost. I was in love. Upon sinking into the story, I found myself awash in mouth-watering food, complicated yet beautiful relationships, and surrounded by intriguing people with a little touch of magic. Did I mention that the book was set in the south? Yes. Perfection. So it should come as no surprise when I say I was somewhat eagerly anticipating Allen's newest release The Girl Who Chased the Moon. I didn't know much about it, expect that it would be centered on BBQ and set in a small North Carolina town. But knowing who the author was, I knew it was gonna be good. I really didn't need much more incentive than that.

    Following the death of her beloved, activist mother Dulcie, Emily Benedict is sent to live with the grandfather she never knew she had in the small town of Mullaby, NC. It's hard enough to find your place as a teen in a new town without discovering that your grandfather is actually a shy, reclusive giant, and that your seemingly perfect mother was really quite cruel and openly disliked as a teenager. Needless to say Emily is feeling a little lost and sorely overwhelmed when she meets the strange and decidedly attractive Win Coffey whose cryptic references to their 'history' leave Emily rather curious about the past and determined to uncover the secrets surrounding her mother.

    Living next door to Emily is Julia Winterson - baker extraordinaire and a woman who is counting the days until she can escape Mullaby. Having experienced a fairly troubled and turbulent youth in Mullaby herself, Julia is quick to welcome Emily and is one of the few who don't hold her mother's actions against her. Emily is sure there is something special about Julia - hoping she will be able to lend some understanding to her mother's history - and their first meeting only confirms it.

    Once again Sarah Addison Allen has ensnared me with her airy and enchanting storytelling. Emily was sweet and endearing in her curious, youthful confusion but I absolutely adored Julia. Adored. Admired. Aime. I want to spend the day baking with her or just follow her around in the hope that some of her loveliness would magically rub off on me. Her story alone is too beautiful for words and had me constantly gasping with delight. What's more, the town of Mullaby itself was also practically fit to bursting with quirky and distinct characters - all southern and all steeped in tradition and BBQ. How could you not love a place where people can see trails of butter and sugar in the air, ghost lights dancing in the trees, and wallpaper that changes according to your mood? Not to mention the constant references to Julia's delectable cakes that just might have sent me racing to the kitchen. I just knew it was gonna be good. And it was.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Loved it !!!

    I don't think any of her books will change your life, but they're all great reads. I read this one first, loved it, and bought the other three. I still can't tell if Garden Spells or Moon is my favorite, because i loved both so much

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

    Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

    Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

    There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

    I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A beautifully written slice of yummy sweetness!

    I absolutely loved this book and could not put in down. It was sweet, charming - to put it simply, altogether lovely! I picked this up at the store because they were out of "The Peach Keeper", which was what I had really wanted and I am sooo glad I did. This is the first book I've read from this author and was pleasantly surprised (It will not be the last). Some of the events in the book could have easily come off as ridiculous and silly but this author makes them seem effortless and utterly believable. This book made me laugh, broke my heart - put it back together again and painted a smile on my face. A great read, highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Love each of her books!

    I'm such a fan!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    A pleasure to read, phenomonally written, a great story with a magical, yet very realistic touch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    loved it

    its a lovely story that pulls you in from the first page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    So-so

    I found this book neither intellectually nor emotionally engaging. It was bland and preditable and just plain strange at times. I will not read more by this author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magical, Romantic and Fun

    What I really liked about this book was that it had an element of believable magic to it. The story is one that many teen girls will relate to and one that older women will appreciate. It's a pretty quick read with dynamic characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Charming

    As always Allen delivers a unique story line and wonderful characters. I always walk away from her books with a warm fuzzy feeling

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I have read The Garden Spells, Sugar Queen and The Girl Who Chased The Moon and I loved them all. I love the romance and the magic in this books. It's wonderful to get away from the real world and get into a fairy tale...i can actually see it all happening as I'm reading. I can't wait for her next book... The Peach Keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge Fan

    This was my first Sarah Addison Allen book to read, and I loved it. I loaned it to a friend at work, and she loved it too. Since I bought it, I have read it multiple times because it's a book that makes you feel good. I love Ms. Allen's writing style and her descriptions are so vivid, I can easily imagine all of the details and characters in the book. Until I bought this book and Ms. Allen's other books, it had been a long time since I rushed home from work anticipating getting started with my reading. I am so glad I found this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting!

    Another hit by Allen! An alluring, creative story about two families who live in the past, only to start living in the future with the help of two young teenagers. Brilliantly sets up the plot for a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Loved It!

    I loved this book as well as Sarah Addison Allen's first two books. They all have a delightful little twist and are simply fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader

    This is a great novel. The author has an awesome imagination with great characters. I have read all of her novels and await her next one. I highly reccommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48