Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Chased the Moon: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 954 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(456)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(123)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

~Loved This Book!~

I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I foun...
I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

posted by Cerae on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance ...
Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

posted by Medford on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader

    This is a great novel. The author has an awesome imagination with great characters. I have read all of her novels and await her next one. I highly reccommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    i loved the story line the only thing is the ending is it going to be a part 2 to this story...if so can't wait.
    it's a great book for adults & teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sweet Escape...

    A mix of other worldly characters and every day reality complete with the torment of high school, social rejection, and misunderstood motives. I enjoyed each one of the characters that Sarah Addison Allen created, even the faulty ones. I don't want to give any of their unique and sometimes wonderful qualities away. The author touches on many issues within the context of a magical story she intertwines the heartache of high school preps and rejects, town misfits, and upper elite, exposing secrets and healing hearts. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy reading a wonderfully woven, heart felt story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    An expressive and descriptive look into the lives of ordinary people in an ordinary Southern town who impact each other in an extraordinary way.

    "The Girl That Chased the Moon" is a captivating account of a young girl whose appearance in a small Southern town ties up the loose ends of several lives and exposes one very old family secret.
    It welcomes you from the initial lines of the first chapter to come along on this journey of reunion of not just her family roots, but the binding of a handful of wandering souls trying to find a home within their own hearts and houses.
    The author has used her words to help the reader understand the culture that caused some of the unrest as well as that culture's ability to submit healing.
    One comes away with the feeling that they know the people described. The beauty of her writing style enourages desire for the turn pager to invest their caring, empathy, and interest. A twist between the book's cover eludes to an abnormality in this otherwise collection of Americana streets along with the offer of intrigue and wonder at some of its mysteries.
    The some expected and some surprise connections in Sarah Addison Allen's story keep the reader engaged and absorbing every word until the last.
    It made this reader wish for another fast 288 pages of the characters' interactions as well as to know more of how its newest member of the community and cliffhanger of a character was going to find, not only a particular few, but the rest of this simple but complicated town and its residents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent

    This book was by far the best of her three. You can feel the progression of her writing! It's interesting from the first page and never lags, a must read for anyone wanting to enjoy an afternoon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two stories in one book!

    This is the first book I've read by Ms. Allen and I now have a favorite author to add to my list. As it turned out, Sunday was a rainy day, so I had a good excuse to curl up with this book. No radio, no TV. What an enjoyable day--I could NOT put the book down. Ms. Allen's writing style is easy to follow even though there are several elements of the main theme going on. But what I also liked is the underlying story which is appropriate for all ages. People are different and should not be judged on their appearance. You also should never assume you know how a person will behave or what they think. Not a "preachy" theme, but one that certainly comes through if you listen closely. I would recommend this book and can't wait to go back and read her others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon tells the story of Emily. Emily is a seventeen year old orphan who arrives in Mullaby, North Carolina to live with the grandfather she has never met. She encounters several enchanting townsfolk, including her own Grandfather, but it is Win, the son of "the Family" of town who has captured Emily's attention. Only Win's family will do everything possible to stop the relationship.

    Just like her other books, The Girl Who Chased The Moon had a few of the magical qualities that I have come to expect and love from Sarah Addison Allen, the story just didn't touch my heart like the others did. And while that has me a little disappointed, it won't stop me from reading her future works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Let the magic pull you in!

    Ms. Allen has created another gem! She entices the reader by building her characters layer by layer, and the life stories from them are spun just as irresistibly. Ms. Allen's mastery in her craft is clear as she treats each character with an individuality and care that allows each one's story to shine through with their own mystery, pain, and hope. I read it in a non-stop marathon, and can't wait to read it again! You'll be left disappointed that it ended, wishing for more and more - thanks, Ms. Allen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    It is ten stars

    Wow, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    wonderful little story

    Sarah Addison Allen writes delightful stories. They are fun and enjoyable to read. Always leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    FINCHSTAR

    Res four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Magical!

    Magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    loved it!

    Its jus as good as any of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Not authors best work

    After reading lost lake, I liked the author so very much. Extremely talented. I thought this was, just ok. I didn't find myself reading for hours on this story. I loved The Sugar Queen and Garden Spells. I feel this pales in comparison. I'm now reading The Peach Keeper. I hope to likebetter than this. Still, a very talented writer and I will continue to read everything she writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Amazing

    Pealse do yourself a favor and read this amazing book, you know what just read all of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love all of her books and this one was no exception. She write

    I love all of her books and this one was no exception. She writes wonderfully magical books. Pleasure to read. Highly recommended. Just read her new one Lost Lake and it was great also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Hooked

    This book was the hook for Sarah Addison Allen reads on my nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Check it out

    Couldn't wait to see how JULIA, SAWYER, EMILY and VANCE blend their dysfunctional lives

    Smile as you read. Hold your breath in a couple of places.

    And enjoy the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Wonderful!!!!!

    I started this book after dinner and was done by bedtime! A great story line and the charecters you like right away. Look forward to reading all her books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 958 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48