BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Chased the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 953 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(455)

4 Star

(318)

3 Star

(123)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

~Loved This Book!~

I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I foun...
I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

posted by Cerae on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance ...
Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

posted by Medford on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

    Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

    Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

    There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

    I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon tells the story of Emily. Emily is a seventeen year old orphan who arrives in Mullaby, North Carolina to live with the grandfather she has never met. She encounters several enchanting townsfolk, including her own Grandfather, but it is Win, the son of "the Family" of town who has captured Emily's attention. Only Win's family will do everything possible to stop the relationship.

    Just like her other books, The Girl Who Chased The Moon had a few of the magical qualities that I have come to expect and love from Sarah Addison Allen, the story just didn't touch my heart like the others did. And while that has me a little disappointed, it won't stop me from reading her future works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Not authors best work

    After reading lost lake, I liked the author so very much. Extremely talented. I thought this was, just ok. I didn't find myself reading for hours on this story. I loved The Sugar Queen and Garden Spells. I feel this pales in comparison. I'm now reading The Peach Keeper. I hope to likebetter than this. Still, a very talented writer and I will continue to read everything she writes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A good story, but a very short read for the price.

    At only about 189 pages this book seemed more like a short story to me. The redeeming factor was that the story was sweet and romantic without being sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    September 6, 2012

    It was ok, i didn't like the whole "glowing" thing, but it was still pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book starts off really well, fiction laced with mystery; a

    This book starts off really well, fiction laced with mystery; a girl who's searching for her roots, but is haunted by her mom's mysterious past. However, the root of the mystery is anti-climactic. I won't spoil it, but I was disappointed with how it turned out. Otherwise, was a very good story, but I'm glad I found it in the bargain books for five bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So-So Read

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon
    by Sarah Addison Allen

    Genre: Contemporary Fantasy | Young Adult

    Emily Benedict is about to find out if wallpaper can change pattern on its own, if a cake can bring back a lost love, and if there really is a ghost dancing in her back yard.

    When her mother passes away, Emily is sent to live with her grandfather in an run-down house which contains a room with enchanted wallpaper. Adjusting to a new life is tricky, but even harder when the whole town expects Emily to act just like her mother did in high school - vindictive, evil-spirited, and spooled - someone who she never knew or expected her mother to be. Emily's memories were of a quiet & serious mother who founded a strict school for girls based on volunteerism. While in her new home, Emily meets the next door neighbor Julia who also shares a past with the town, her mother, and Sawyer- an old crush from Mullaby High School. While one lady is making her entrance into the town, the other is planning her exit and both learn to except their past, embrace their-selves, and to positively look forward to their future.

    Since I highly enjoyed Garden Spells, I jumped right into another of SAA's books and while this was a fun read, it was somewhat less satisfying. The book balances both Emily and Julia's story and focuses on their connections to everyone in the town while dipping into their past lifestyles. Lots of emotionally turmoil and endearing characters are what I remember most about the story. Yet, the relationship growth with Julia and Sawyer was entertaining as well. Overall, good quick read but somewhat unsatisfactory compared to Garden Spells.

    Likes: The grandfather was so loveable!!

    Dislikes: I'm finding this to be a trend in SAA's book, but the epilogue added such a big turning point in the story which was then quickly concluded...SO...I really wanted more and that feeling left me unsettled since I know there will not be any sort of continuation/sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Quick read.

    Cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very enjoyable!!!

    I thought it was a great read. Very entertaining. I really enjoed it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Story

    I was instantly drawn into this book and the characters. I just wanted more! Everything was tied up so quickly at the end, I wish the book was a little longer. But a very nice story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Third book is ok, but rather shallow.

    This was a nice, pleasant enough book, but if I had read this before her other books, I doubt I would have eagerly sought them out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    If you'd like to smell cake while reading...

    Like many Southern tales, motherless Emily Benedict arrives in Mullaby, North Carolina to live with a grandfather she knows nothing about. Mullaby is where her mother grew up, raised a ruckus and never looked back. The novel's other heroine, Julia Winterson, has returned after her father's death, baking sweet smelling cakes while trying to revive his heavily mortgaged BBQ place. This wouldn't be an Allen novel without well-dressed, quirky townspeople, ghostly lights and even a Mullaby giant. I really enjoyed this return to a mystical place, where food (mostly dessert) reigns supreme and both characters learn how to grow within this tight knit community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Chased The Moon

    This Book is written with 2 main female characters whose lives happen to intertwine with each other.

    While one character is about 25 years old and the other is 17, both characters have their own issues and pasts to deal with while living in the same town. The Girl Who Chased the Moon contains 2 stories with one ending. I was really pleased with the way that the book intertwined the two different lives of the main characters and also allowed you to see a division between them.

    Although I thought this book to be an overall good read I would say this book would be for teens and a little much for the young adult crowd. I am in my 20's I thought the book to be a little under my reading preferences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Only OK

    You know... it just wasn't her best. I LOVED Garden Spells, and liked Sugar Queen, but when it comes to Miss Allen's most recent magical quest, the story felt somewhat underdeveloped. The plot was quick and had no real direction and the characters weren't as likable nor thoroughly examined as in past novels. I liked it alright, because, what can I say? it's Sarah Addison Allen and I love the whimsy that she infuses her novels with. Apart from that, however, I felt she could have done much more... and much better... with her newest novel. I hope for better next time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mediocre

    "The Girl Who Chased the Moon" is not Sarah Addison Allen's best work. Her writing style is still beautiful, but the story line did not deliver. The plot was weak and the details in the story didn't provide a strong enough foundation for the scheme. I still enjoyed it, but I was extremely dissappointed. I have read her other two; "Garden Spells" and "Sugar Queen" and they are unforgettable. There are some delightful enchantments within the story,as in Ms. Allen's other books, but that is not enough groundwork for the entire narrative. I am reluctant to recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7