Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Chased the Moon

Average Rating 4
( 945 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(449)

4 Star

(317)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

~Loved This Book!~

I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I foun...
I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

posted by Cerae on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Really fun to read - if you read with a certain leap-of-faith attitude

Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance ...
Who says all books have to make complete sense? It mostly does. This is the second Sarah Addison Allen I've read - which tells you that I must have found something appealing about it. And I did.

Allen seems to write romance novels that may be a step above romance novels. Having not read one that called itself a romance novel, I don't know. But the characters are diverse, the plot follows through for the most part, and who doesn't love a happy ending?

There are a few, now, wait a second... moments when a character falls off the path they've beaten - not just from the reality path to the magical path, which is really fun, but the "making sense" path. So for readers who demand that all things take a logical or at least reasonable turn, this book isn't for you. And, the end is ever so predictable.

I found this book and "Garden Spells" really fun and relaxing to read. It isn't Joyce Carol Oates where you can't have even one glass of wine or you won't be able to concentrate enough to understand what the heck's going on. It's just fun. And romantic. And now I'll stop.

posted by Medford on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 449 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ~Loved This Book!~

    I decided to read this book on a whim after seeing it on B&N.com. Having never read a Sarah Addison Allen book, I was a bit skeptical but I must say I was thoroughly impressed. It was a greatly gripping book from start to finish, and I read it in less than a day. I found it very hard to pull away from the book because you are so set on finding out what comes next. Magical fiction isn't really something I read at all, but after this book, I may have to continue reading more; especially by this wonderful author!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great summer read fairy tale

    It's hard to feel anything but happy when reading Allen's books, and The Girl Who Chased the Moon is no exception.
    With the magic and impossible interwoven with the painfully realistic plot, you can't help but wish it all were true here.
    Such an easy and delightful read for the summertime and makes me wish I lived in a magically charming Southern town like this one.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SWEET READ!

    This is a lovely tale of mystery, romance and is sprinkled with magic. It's beautifully written and the town and its quirky inhabitants are real and alive, and charmingly portrayed.

    We are taken into the town of Mullaby, North Carolina after Emily has lost her mother, Dulcie, where she is transported to be with her extremely tall, reclusive grandfather, whom she didn't know existed. She learns of her mother's childhood, which seems so different from the woman she knew all her life. Emily discovers that her mother was involved in a scandal and that a young man had committed suicide over it. No one will tell her what it was.
    She quickly makes friends with Julia, a woman with a troubled past and who bakes cakes that seem magical. Emily becomes involved with a local boy who is linked to the mystery from the past, one that centers around her mother and an event that turned the little town on its heels.

    There are many poignant moments, magic wallpaper, magic baking, and mysterious lights in the woods that all come together to provide the reader with hours of enjoyment.

    ENCHANTING READ!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a fun read!

    The author crafts a bittersweet lesson in love and forgiveness. Baking is a way Julia copes with her losses and...watch out for the dusting of believable magic! Truly a fun read!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    A beautifully written slice of yummy sweetness!

    I absolutely loved this book and could not put in down. It was sweet, charming - to put it simply, altogether lovely! I picked this up at the store because they were out of "The Peach Keeper", which was what I had really wanted and I am sooo glad I did. This is the first book I've read from this author and was pleasantly surprised (It will not be the last). Some of the events in the book could have easily come off as ridiculous and silly but this author makes them seem effortless and utterly believable. This book made me laugh, broke my heart - put it back together again and painted a smile on my face. A great read, highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Love each of her books!

    I'm such a fan!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    A pleasure to read, phenomonally written, a great story with a magical, yet very realistic touch!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I have read The Garden Spells, Sugar Queen and The Girl Who Chased The Moon and I loved them all. I love the romance and the magic in this books. It's wonderful to get away from the real world and get into a fairy tale...i can actually see it all happening as I'm reading. I can't wait for her next book... The Peach Keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Huge Fan

    This was my first Sarah Addison Allen book to read, and I loved it. I loaned it to a friend at work, and she loved it too. Since I bought it, I have read it multiple times because it's a book that makes you feel good. I love Ms. Allen's writing style and her descriptions are so vivid, I can easily imagine all of the details and characters in the book. Until I bought this book and Ms. Allen's other books, it had been a long time since I rushed home from work anticipating getting started with my reading. I am so glad I found this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Loved It!

    I loved this book as well as Sarah Addison Allen's first two books. They all have a delightful little twist and are simply fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader

    This is a great novel. The author has an awesome imagination with great characters. I have read all of her novels and await her next one. I highly reccommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great read

    i loved the story line the only thing is the ending is it going to be a part 2 to this story...if so can't wait.
    it's a great book for adults & teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Sweet Escape...

    A mix of other worldly characters and every day reality complete with the torment of high school, social rejection, and misunderstood motives. I enjoyed each one of the characters that Sarah Addison Allen created, even the faulty ones. I don't want to give any of their unique and sometimes wonderful qualities away. The author touches on many issues within the context of a magical story she intertwines the heartache of high school preps and rejects, town misfits, and upper elite, exposing secrets and healing hearts. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy reading a wonderfully woven, heart felt story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    An expressive and descriptive look into the lives of ordinary people in an ordinary Southern town who impact each other in an extraordinary way.

    "The Girl That Chased the Moon" is a captivating account of a young girl whose appearance in a small Southern town ties up the loose ends of several lives and exposes one very old family secret.
    It welcomes you from the initial lines of the first chapter to come along on this journey of reunion of not just her family roots, but the binding of a handful of wandering souls trying to find a home within their own hearts and houses.
    The author has used her words to help the reader understand the culture that caused some of the unrest as well as that culture's ability to submit healing.
    One comes away with the feeling that they know the people described. The beauty of her writing style enourages desire for the turn pager to invest their caring, empathy, and interest. A twist between the book's cover eludes to an abnormality in this otherwise collection of Americana streets along with the offer of intrigue and wonder at some of its mysteries.
    The some expected and some surprise connections in Sarah Addison Allen's story keep the reader engaged and absorbing every word until the last.
    It made this reader wish for another fast 288 pages of the characters' interactions as well as to know more of how its newest member of the community and cliffhanger of a character was going to find, not only a particular few, but the rest of this simple but complicated town and its residents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Excellent

    This book was by far the best of her three. You can feel the progression of her writing! It's interesting from the first page and never lags, a must read for anyone wanting to enjoy an afternoon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    wonderful little story

    Sarah Addison Allen writes delightful stories. They are fun and enjoyable to read. Always leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    FINCHSTAR

    Res four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Magical!

    Magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    loved it!

    Its jus as good as any of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Amazing

    Pealse do yourself a favor and read this amazing book, you know what just read all of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 449 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23