BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Could Fly

Average Rating 4.5
( 424 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(307)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

128 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

Didn't want to put it down!

In the book The Girl Who Could Fly, a young girl named Piper knows she has a special talent. She is able to fly. Her parents want her to be an ordinary girl and they do not want her to use her special talent. As the people of the town begin to question what kind of chil...
In the book The Girl Who Could Fly, a young girl named Piper knows she has a special talent. She is able to fly. Her parents want her to be an ordinary girl and they do not want her to use her special talent. As the people of the town begin to question what kind of child Piper is, her parents become concerned and she is sent off to live at a top-secret school for kids with special abilities. At first the school is nice. Piper is able to eat all her favorite foods. But soon things start to turn ugly. Piper will soon come to learn that her talents are not appreciated at this school either. She and her new friends will have to fight back to save themselves. You won't want to put this book down!!

posted by VAL2 on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great story!

The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book ...
The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book to people who want a good book with a good story.

posted by shelly_worm_worm on June 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't want to put it down!

    In the book The Girl Who Could Fly, a young girl named Piper knows she has a special talent. She is able to fly. Her parents want her to be an ordinary girl and they do not want her to use her special talent. As the people of the town begin to question what kind of child Piper is, her parents become concerned and she is sent off to live at a top-secret school for kids with special abilities. At first the school is nice. Piper is able to eat all her favorite foods. But soon things start to turn ugly. Piper will soon come to learn that her talents are not appreciated at this school either. She and her new friends will have to fight back to save themselves. You won't want to put this book down!!

    128 out of 133 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FABULOUS!

    I enjoyed this book from the beginning to the end. It's very warming and touching. I also very much enjoyed the characters (Piper McCloud). I learned of this book from Stephenie Meyer's website (Author or Twilight Saga), so I took a chance at reading it and she was right, it was very heartfelt and was like Little House and the Prairie meets X-Men, but with a twist. This story is a stellar and I look forward to reading more of Victoria Forrester books (The Girl Who Could Fly is her first book and well worth it); please write more.

    51 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    The Girl Who Could Fly

    Did you know that almost everybody is unique in what they do? Well, I do and I know tons of people who are very special. Even I'm special in something I do!
    Ever since Piper was just 2 years old she could fly 2 feet in the air. Piper lived in Lowland County. There, she was raised by Mr. and Mrs. McCloud. Betty (Piper's mom) could be nice, could be strict, and cared for Piper's talent. Joey (Piper's dad) was sweet to Piper and Betty, was very responsible and caring,too.
    One day, Piper was so close to flying off of a 15 foot roof! Dangerous, right? Well, after about a week, a caring lady named Dr. Hellion, who wanted to help Piper, took Piper to a school called I.N.S.A.N.E. - a school for kids that are special and have super powers!!! Piper then had some trouble getting used to the school until she met Bella.
    Bella is a deeply sweet girl who loves flowers & can do magical things to keep them safe & sound.
    Finally, Piper realizes that Dr. Hellion is trying to kill the kids by destroying them by giving them drugs from needles. Then, all the kids try to escape as fast as a lightning bolt.
    Piper & the kids at I.N.S.A.N.E. remind me of my friends who play soccer. Just like the kids at I.N.S.A.N.E. have super powers & are unique my 2 friends are unique too! They both are fantastic at soccer. Also, I am unique for my dancing. I am very unique at dancing!! My favorite dance move is popping. The Girl Who Could Fly is written by: Victoria Forester. Victoria grew up on a remote farm in Ontario, Canada. After graduating from the University of Toronto, her passion for storytelling led her to write & direct a short film was completed for the CBC. Victoria made a film called The Pony's Tale, which aired on Global Television. The famous independent film producer, Roger Corman, mentored Victoria and gave her the opportunity starring Richard Grieco and Corben Bernsen. This was soon followed by Macon County Jail with David Carradine and Ally Sheedy, and Cry of the White Wolf for the Disney Channel. The Girl Who Could Fly began as a screenplay that was optioned by Paramount Pictures. Victoria loved the story so much she decided to write it as a book as well. It is her very first book but she looks forward to the opportunity of writing many, many more. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband, newborn daughter and ridiculously orange cat, Rufus.
    I recommend you to read this book. It will change the ways you feel about things and it will warm your heart life one of grandma's toasty hugs.

    Do you think that Piper & the kids at I.N.S.A.N.E. can get out & live a successful life? Then, come read The Girl Who Could Fly and see what happens!!

    45 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Reviewed for school paper

    Piper has alway flown. Even as a small child she hovered a few

    Inches off the ground. Piper is not allowed to go to school. She

    Is not allowed in the gereral public. Why? Because she can fly.

    "Its the mark of the devil!" Is what her mom thinks, as well as

    The whole town. When a hellicopter comes claiming there is a

    Special institute for children with gifts like hers, she jumps at

    The chance. Was that the most deadly mistake? Maybe.

    At first the institute is fasinating and inviting, but little does she

    Know how many dark secrets it holds. Will she make it? Maybe

    Find out in this brilliantly written and extremely addictive

    Novel that i fell in love with. (Check out my fav book EVER pendragon, D. J. MacHale)

    31 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Amazing

    The Girl Who Could Fly is the most heart touching story I have ever read in my whole life. I can't describe how much I love this book in writing. It's a story you'll never forget.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    I love this book

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    19 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    AWESOME!

    100% AWESOME

    19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    Thought Provoking

    I thought this was an excellent read. It's very easy to read. The characters are very dynamic. You will fall for Piper McCloud. She's original and upbeat. A personality I've never seen before. The storyline is really odd, but interesting at the same time. I thought it was worth the time to read.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    Excellent story telling for the whole family!

    Two of my triplet daughters and I are avid readers, and we all enjoyed this book immensely. The main characters were worth rooting for, and the story-line was exciting; definitely a page-turner! This is a feel-good, must-share, full of wonder kind of book - the best kind!

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Read this book!

    Back when I read this a couple of years ago, it reminded me of how interesting an lively reading could be. Its a must read. Victoria should definately make a sequel and it should definately be made into a movie.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    More!

    Oh my gosh! I absolutely L-O-V-E this book! It is definetely one of my faves. Victoria Forester, if you're reading this, PLEASE make another one! I'm begging you! Anyone who hasen't read this book, PLEASE do! If you don't absolutely love it, that's fine, but I'M saying that it was AMAZING!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Great story!

    The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book to people who want a good book with a good story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Must read!

    Best book ever! You have to read this book.It's so exiting. You never know what's going to hapen next.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Awesome Read!

    I first read this book over a year ago, and truely enjoyed it. I decided to buy it here for another round. If only the author had any other books... I'll be waiting haha.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Luv It

    I got this book from my school library, because it was an Iowa Childrens Choice book and I thought it looked really good. Was I right? DEFINTLEY YES! It was one of the best books I have ever read. It is about a girl named PiperMcCloud, and she has an extraoridinary talent: she can fly. But when the public finds out, she is sent to I.N.S.A.N.E, an institute for people with talents like her own. She thinks the place is amazing, wich, it kind of is, until she realizes what it is really meant for. Well, I'm not telling you any more, so why don't you read the book?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book

    I was afraid to get because it looked childish but it is a really good book.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    This book ia so good and also like a mystery. If you read this book by chapters, then it will ESPECIALLY amaze you. One oof the best books i have ever read. Please,Victoria Forester, the author, write more!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Woah!!!!

    This book made me cry and laugh! I'm not usually into this kind of book but i LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO PIPER AND VICTORIA!!!!!!"!!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    YAAAA I love it

    I like this book. I am 46% through the book . I am in 4th grade reading this 5th grade level book. This was a battle book in the 2010 contest. I go to muller and this book is in my school library!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Really good

    This book was awesome i just wanna read it again and again! Its a must get.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22