Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Could Fly

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(302)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

116 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Didn't want to put it down!

In the book The Girl Who Could Fly, a young girl named Piper knows she has a special talent. She is able to fly. Her parents want her to be an ordinary girl and they do not want her to use her special talent. As the people of the town begin to question what kind of chil...
In the book The Girl Who Could Fly, a young girl named Piper knows she has a special talent. She is able to fly. Her parents want her to be an ordinary girl and they do not want her to use her special talent. As the people of the town begin to question what kind of child Piper is, her parents become concerned and she is sent off to live at a top-secret school for kids with special abilities. At first the school is nice. Piper is able to eat all her favorite foods. But soon things start to turn ugly. Piper will soon come to learn that her talents are not appreciated at this school either. She and her new friends will have to fight back to save themselves. You won't want to put this book down!!

posted by VAL2 on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great story!

The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book ...
The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book to people who want a good book with a good story.

posted by shelly_worm_worm on June 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    Great story!

    The Girl Who Could Fly was a great book. I read the book in two days because it was so hard to put down. I wouldn't call the book a life-changing book, but it was a fun, quick-read. I loved the characters, and found them very relatable. I would reccommend this book to people who want a good book with a good story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Is it good?

    I wanna read this sooo bad! It looks so interesting and i hear its good. The only problem is that i need money on a gift card to buy it. xC

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    By anuhea bnorden

    It was an amazing dook i could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    V.L.

    I haven't read the whole book yet, but from what I've heard and read, it's pretty good. Still waiting for the suspense. ;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Soaring

    This is the story of Piper, a girl who can fly. It is also the story of both the people who would take this gift away from her and those who struggle to protect and justify her uniqueness. Who among us has not dreamt at some point in our lives of being able to glide through the air like a cloud. Would we be willing to give up this gift? The book takes a while to get up to speed, but then it takes off and soars. It seems to suffer a bit from being a trifle verbose in the opening chapters. I did like the use of dialect for developing Piper's character. Younger readers may find the story slow going at first, but it pays to stay the course. They will be rewarded with the action and the lessons learned in the later chapters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't quite meet expectations

    Really good story idea, but suffered from lack of character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad but not the best either

    Overall the book wasn't bad. I didn't enjoy the way the author wrote and specifically how she named the officer Agent Agent. I thought that was a lack of creativity and quite annoying when reading it throughout the book. The main character was likable and I enjoyed finding out where the story was going. It was somewhat predictable but overall not bad.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Seqeul!!!!!??????

    This the only book she created. It was published in 2008 . As much as I hate to admit i dont think theere is going to be a seqeul.......
    This book is charming and adventurous though!!!! In the end i could only image what will happen to piper....
    I would suggest you buy this book. Its sorta like xmen exept with out dangerous missions and in this book there young kids being held in a prison like place.... so not that much like xmen then :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Give me a summary.

    Whats it about?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Piper

    Go piper

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    It's ... Okay...

    The first few chapters are real boring. You have to pry past that dry, dull, crust. Once you get to the juicy parts it is easier to chew.
    The book is about a girl who can fly and lives in a small country town. She is taken to a "special" institute where there are other kids like her. This place, is of course, bad and all. They want to take her and the othet kid's powers away. So there a villian, a problem, and a bit of mystery.
    I am not going to spoil anything, but I am going to tell you this is an okay book and probally reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Hmmmm...

    Started reading yesterday i hope the book will be good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Just read it.

    This book was fine. A nice sunday afternoon read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2