Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A unique look into someone else's world

Ms. Durrow gives the reader a unique look into the world of a biracial child. The questions they ask themselves and the questions that are asked of them by others are exposed. She keeps the reader on the edge so that they want to find out what is going to happen next....
Ms. Durrow gives the reader a unique look into the world of a biracial child. The questions they ask themselves and the questions that are asked of them by others are exposed. She keeps the reader on the edge so that they want to find out what is going to happen next. This book is great for adults and pre teens.

posted by portland75 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Girl Who Fell From The Sky

Here is a biracial girl that survives a tremendous fall that kills her mother and two brothers. All her life she was taught to perceive herself as white, but after moving halfway across the country to live with her grandmother, she now is told to be black. As Rachel ask...
Here is a biracial girl that survives a tremendous fall that kills her mother and two brothers. All her life she was taught to perceive herself as white, but after moving halfway across the country to live with her grandmother, she now is told to be black. As Rachel asks in the book and what I thought to myself; what does color have to do with it. Why can't she be herself? Each chapter of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky is told by a different person's point of view and at times had me confused. Although a tough subject, this was a light read, but I didn't feel connected to the characters.

posted by grumpydan on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    A unique look into someone else's world

    Ms. Durrow gives the reader a unique look into the world of a biracial child. The questions they ask themselves and the questions that are asked of them by others are exposed. She keeps the reader on the edge so that they want to find out what is going to happen next. This book is great for adults and pre teens.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    Short but insightful.

    Rachel is a biracial girl with light skin and blue eyes. She is also the only member of her family that survived a fall from a Chicago Housing Authority building. Did the mother and children jump, or were they pushed? Each chapter is a different character's voice revealing a little more of the mystery. As the truth is slowly revealed we gain insight into the lives of each character. Rachel is an especially poignant character. The characters were well drawn and I liked the format. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Putting Broken Lives Back Together

    Durow's book is thoughtfully written, by a young woman who has had to deal with many of the same questions as the main character, in regard to her own identity as a biracial person who straddles the lines of ethnicity. The book deals well with the issue by placing the main character in somewhat of a "fish out of water" situation, and she finds herself suddenly living in the black community for the first time.

    The moral of the book applies to all, not just those in the black community. Who we are transcends our environment, with the artificially created boundaries that have been constructed for us.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    The Girl Who Fell from the Sky: A page turner luminous and deep.

    The dream-like beauty and the poetic voices of the narrators drew me in from the first page. It was difficult to put down. I found myself reading The Girl Who Fell from the Sky while walking in the rain-and not noticing the rain. It's part mystery, part coming of age story. Within this context, Durrow explores the complexities of identity, writing with striking honesty and bravery. She truly captures the inner workings of a thoughtful, intelligent child trying to figure out who she is and her place within the world. The protagonist, Rachel, often faces conflicting information, especially when it comes to identity, and how being biracial fits within the narrow categories of race. One of the passages that struck me deeply is when Rachel says to herself: "I learn that black people don't have blue eyes. I learn that I am black. I have blue eyes. I put all these new facts into the new girl."

    I found The Girl Who Fell from the Sky to be an answer to Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye. Whereas in The Bluest Eye, Pecola, a neglected and abused black girl wishes for blue eyes to make her beautiful so people will love her, in The Girl Who Fell from the Sky, Rachel survives a terrible family tragedy, and because of her blue eyes and light skin, is ostracized and distrusted, and singled out for unwanted attention.

    Durrow gives each character a voice filled with grace and depth from their very different perspectives. Each of them contributes their stories to the puzzle of Rachel's tragic past, as well as her confusing present, creating a rich mosaic of haunting beauty that will stay with you long after you finish her story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    This book grabbed my attention from the first pages. I found mys

    This book grabbed my attention from the first pages. I found myself thinking about the characters and wondering what would happen next. It sustained my attention for the first 200 pages and then it became a bit less interesting. I was hoping to learn more about Brick, the grandmother, and ultimately Rachel, but it ended without any resolution. I do recommend the book, but felt that the ending was somewhat disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Would not recommend

    The story was sad. But I could see how one event led to the next. It was interesting how the two main children came back together as young adults. However, I did not like how the story just stopped...no real ending. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    As a biracial person, I really enjoyed this book. It explores th

    As a biracial person, I really enjoyed this book. It explores the questions and feelings a child/teen would have while growing up. Sometimes you may not feel you are part of your race because you are mixed and you try to find a place you belong. I enjoyed how everyone's story connected in some way. I would suggest this book to my friends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    just finished

    this is a good book. it is a touching story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Fell From The Sky

    Here is a biracial girl that survives a tremendous fall that kills her mother and two brothers. All her life she was taught to perceive herself as white, but after moving halfway across the country to live with her grandmother, she now is told to be black. As Rachel asks in the book and what I thought to myself; what does color have to do with it. Why can't she be herself? Each chapter of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky is told by a different person's point of view and at times had me confused. Although a tough subject, this was a light read, but I didn't feel connected to the characters.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good, quick read. I found the story & characters

    This was a good, quick read. I found the story & characters interesting, and really liked how the two main characters' paths crossed in the end. I enjoyed the author's writing style and would be interested in reading more from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Jade

    My thoughts exactly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Well written.

    Interesting story, well drawn out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Friendship Makes You Complete ~ Chapter 5

    Sorry. Won't come out for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Very moving but a bit difficult

    I read this novel for my book club group. We're no strangers to difficult books and this was no exception. Though the language of the text is simple the context is anything but. It's often a struggle to read this book and not feel somehow bogged down by its content. But it's worth it. The novel is moving and makes you think, if you can get through how emotionally painful it can sometimes be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    A story of what happens when the paths of people searching for their idenity and place in this world intersect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Read me

    Anyone who starts or joins a book club is very stupid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I loved the way the book was written - One character at a time f

    I loved the way the book was written - One character at a time for each chapter - because little by little you see how they connect to each other. I would recommend for that very reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Chose it for my book club

    The characters are well described - I felt like I was "in" the book. The dilemma of children of mixed race is well delineated here, and makes me wish that we were all blind to the outer appreaance of the people we deal with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Uniquely and wonderfully written

    The story is unique and questions but does not answer how we define ourselves and who we are. However, it keeps the question alive throughout and in a small way deals with these issues for all of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6