BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

Average Rating 3.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Short but insightful.

Rachel is a biracial girl with light skin and blue eyes. She is also the only member of her family that survived a fall from a Chicago Housing Authority building. Did the mother and children jump, or were they pushed? Each chapter is a different character's voice reve...
Rachel is a biracial girl with light skin and blue eyes. She is also the only member of her family that survived a fall from a Chicago Housing Authority building. Did the mother and children jump, or were they pushed? Each chapter is a different character's voice revealing a little more of the mystery. As the truth is slowly revealed we gain insight into the lives of each character. Rachel is an especially poignant character. The characters were well drawn and I liked the format. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it.

posted by novelone on April 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Girl Who Fell From The Sky

Here is a biracial girl that survives a tremendous fall that kills her mother and two brothers. All her life she was taught to perceive herself as white, but after moving halfway across the country to live with her grandmother, she now is told to be black. As Rachel ask...
Here is a biracial girl that survives a tremendous fall that kills her mother and two brothers. All her life she was taught to perceive herself as white, but after moving halfway across the country to live with her grandmother, she now is told to be black. As Rachel asks in the book and what I thought to myself; what does color have to do with it. Why can't she be herself? Each chapter of The Girl Who Fell From the Sky is told by a different person's point of view and at times had me confused. Although a tough subject, this was a light read, but I didn't feel connected to the characters.

posted by grumpydan on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Interesting

    Would have liked to know more

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    This is a page turner - excellent!

    Some of the action takes place in Portland, Oregon. A family's disintegration and healing is narrated by a young girl. I liked the way you got bits and pieces of "the event" from everyone's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    I'd read this again

    This is an inspiring story about a young girl who survives a horrible tragedy and goes on to become a young woman. There are all types of social issues in this book including racial and biracial, abuse, drugs, divorce, and teen-age angst. The growth of the girl and the sources of her support while still dealing with all these issues is most up-lifting, and just a very good read in not so many pages. I highly recommend it; I think some teens might enjoy it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great Book

    See my review on my Shelfari page: /jazmynmarie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Very Emotional

    Not light reading but deep reading. You wish you could step inside the pages and do something to help. I do recommend the book as it does typify the actions of one who cannot see beyond the now ......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Sad!

    This book was so sad! As a mother who fiercly loves her son, I can't comprehend the actions of the mother in the story. As a biracial woman I can relate to what Rachel felt trying to understand how to be "black". I agree with other comments about character development, it was missing something. But maybe that is the point. Nella was missing something, Roger missed something, leaving Rachel missing it too... Dont read if u feel melancholy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Needed More Depth

    I found this book to be completely sophomoric. The premise of the story was good and deserved more depth. More character development would've made this a very good book. I felt that the author was way too vague and skimmed over the characters; I really didn't appreciate the writing style at all. I will give this book to my seventh grader for independent reading and see what he thinks of it, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Left wanting more

    A sad and heartwrenching story. I enjoyed the story but I had so many unanswered questions by the end of the book. With more character/story development I would have loved this book even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Icredible! Best read in a long time!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 1, 2011

    okay! could have ended better

    its a strange read, intriguing nonetheless. i wish it would have ended better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Fell from the Sky

    The book was okay, not great. I know this is a subject matter that is rarely dealt with. The author does a fair job with the subject matter. For me, the story moved rather slowly. Definetely not one for the beach. The story is melancholy in nature to me. It is a sad woe of a bi-racial child who survives a fall from a building in which her mom and siblings end up dying. She goes to live with her grandmother and her life is chronicled as she grows and matures in her new environment. I think the character development is weak and the plot moves rather slow. The dialogue does not pop either. It is not a horrible book but there is so much out there that I want to be captivated and engaged for most of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Wonderful deubt

    I read this book in one sitting. The words on those pages kept me wanting to know WHY. After reading this book.. I know now to what extent a mother will go to keep her children "safe". Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    nobody knows the trouble we've seen

    This book was unevenly written. The style is unique and reveals itself in the process of the story. The characters aren't well developed, and the plot is fairly convienient.
    It was easy to read. Kind of depressing. Not really sure what the point was.
    Basically, a child falls from a building and lives. She sees things differently because of that experience. But other people's lives have been touched by her fall as well. The story ties people together through this tragedy.
    Kind of hard to follow in places.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Title too literal

    Durrow's premise is wonderful. The execution in short chapters told in different voices holds promise.

    Although the book went quickly, it is not a page-turner.

    The story line of Jaimie AKA Brick is the most fascinating and will have the reader hoping for more.

    The characters are all well-defined in a short space but not developed enough. For example, Drew promises to be front and center in the story but suddenly pulls back and disappears.

    In spite of this, I hope that Burrow writes something in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6