Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 10705 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5792)

4 Star

(2678)

3 Star

(1281)

2 Star

(482)

1 Star

(472)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

MUST Read!!

If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together...
If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

posted by JML5629 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free From Here goo.gl/Y6JdN

posted by 9114493 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 10838 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 542
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Why has the price for this NOOK book gone up?

    In January, I purchased the first two Stieg Larsson eBooks in this series for $5 each. At that time, the third book (Hornet's Nest) was $7.99 - - I figured I'd just read the first two books and by the time I'm ready to read the third book, it too should drop to $5.

    Not So!! By March, it went up in price to $9.99 and it is now $11.99 - - what happened to make an eBook go up in price. Can't be the cost of printing, can't be the brick and mortar store, can't be the shipping and handling, AND in this case it can't be the author because he is deceased.

    That leaves the PUBLISHER and BnN. Are they in bed together? What gives!!! It's about time that NOOK users send angry letters to BnN telling them to get tough with publishers and start providing Nook Books at reasonable prices, or we will all go back to reading new books from our public libraries.

    And, YES, I think it is okay to give low ratings to eBooks that you cannot afford to read due to the publishers or BnN gouging us. Increasingly, reviewers are reviewing their distaste for the high prices of Nook Books. Hopefully the less than stellar reviews will draw the attention of the publishers and BnN to take some action to correct their customer abuse.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    VERY UNHAPPY WITH PRICE OF THE BOOK

    I planned on purchasing this book this morning. It was listed at 9.99 since the beginning of December and still was this morning, until I went to the checkout section which listed the total to be 15.37. I tried to call to ask why this was a different price than quoted and was put on hold for 40 minutes before I gave up. I emailed customer service and have still not received a reply. Now the current price of the book is listed at 15.37.
    I feel that this is a little excessive of an increase for the price of a book.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Girle Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest aka a lost weekend

    I The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest was the first book I acquired intending to read it when I went into the hospital a week later. Instead, I made the mistake of opening it up. I could not stop and was hooked. I read that puppy over 2 days. I loved the two protagonists, Salander and Blumkvist as well as the other characters around them. The book rolls along quite nicely with a number of twists and turns in the plot activity which entertains the reader and enhances the readability of the book.

    There were several sideplots evolving along with the main which prevented it from becoming a typical whodunnit book.

    This writer in this book seemed somewhat similar to Cobin interms of his plot quality and his tying them altogether at the conclusion.

    I thoroughly enjoyed it and would like to say an interested reader can read this book and get a good story in and of itself, It does however make it more entertaining if you'read the other two in the trilogy. Which my son gave me for father's day.

    Whether or not you you this book as a stand along read, you'll find your money and reading time well spent.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I'm Trying to Wait Patiently

    I just finished the first two books...wow! I cannot over reccommend this series to lovers of mystery, romance and strong, unforgettable characters.
    I have fallen in love with Lisbeth Salander.
    If this isn't a series for a motion picture I can't imagine what would be...
    READ IT!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Kindle is publishing the ebook immediately - why not Nook?

    I am seriously thinking of switching to a Kindle. Why would the Kindle have this book when it comes out but the Nook not have it? Is it because Barnes & Noble hopes that we'll buy the paper copy? No, we'll buy the Kindle version and it won't work well on our Nooks.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    The girl who kicked the hornets nest

    Disappointed with nook version as it is abbridged (526 pages) and actual book is 818 pages. I did not see any indication that I was purchasing a pared down version in nook description.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Confused

    I too am confused why this book is more expensive as a Nook book? This defeats the purpose of having one?

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    must read with 1 and 2

    liked this as much as I liked 1 and 2. These books, however, you have to read in order, or they will not make sense. Think of it as one long story, only in 3 separate books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Thrilling & dramatic

    I have read the entire trilogy. Our book club suggested this trilogy for dicussion. It was interesting to see how the author included the
    swedish government corruption into his story.
    The book was will written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    wow

    all three combined were like one big "i dont want this book to end" book...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Agree with anonymous

    I'm glad I'm not the only one having trouble following this plot and all the characters. I loved the first 2 books, but am having lots of trouble following this one. I downloaded a chart with names and characters so I could follow this one. Agree that not only is it a slow read, but I'm disappointed it's so different from the first 2.
    Anonymous 2

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Fantastic ending

    Fantastic ending to the trilogy. Started a little slow but picked up quickly and then I couldn't put it down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Huge Disappointment -

    Would suggest skimming at bookstore with a cup of coffee. I felt this was terribly written and lack of detail in everyone's favorite character Lisbeth - Guess my expectations were high as the first 2 books I couldn't put down....

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Note

    NOTE; Dont kick a hornets' nest. DUH!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    I am sure the book is good BUT..

    In short, I ordered the ebook version. The Epub format did not work. I call the custmoer help line, but the phone would keep on ringing and ringing. I send an email to customer service. After about 3-4 days, they respond by saying that I need an BaN app called "Nook" for my IPAD2 in order to view it. That I should be able to get it off iTunes. I couldnt find it on iTunes. I call the customer help line again. No answer again. Constant ringing but no connection. I email again. Explaining that the App is not on iTunes. After another 3-4 days, they replied and said that they cant fix my problem and that I have to call the customer help line and hit "2" for the Nook support. Of course, I call the number and constant ringing. I got fed up and demanded a refund which I got. My wife never did get a chance to read that book. As I said in my subject line, I am sure the book was good... but..

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    It's okay

    part 3 was trying to keep the "complicated intrigue" going by introducing a bunch of new character who are neither interesting nor move the story forward in an interesting way. too much of a slug to wade through with little benefit because characters are poorly or not developed at all. I didn't get tired of the central characters so why not continue following their story. Ending dull

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed --

    Once again Stieg Larsson did not disappoint. As a previous reviewer stated "Stieg Larsson leaves behind a great triolgy." I would definitely recommend these 3 books. If I were to say anything negative about this particular 3rd book was that in the beginning I had wished they had refreshed my memory better on previous characters or incidents because it had been several months before I was able to pick up this 3rd book -- I found myself trying to remember who, what, and where from the previous 2 books. It is very dissappointing that we will probably not be able to read another book from the late Stieg Larsson. However, I did find an interesting article -- go to his website and click on "The Afterlife of Stieg Larsson" (scrolls across the bottom of the page) after reading this article from the New York Times dated 5-20-2010 there might be 4th book to come, or maybe even more -- hopefully the family can settle their differences and the book/outline that is currently on the laptop will be finished/published. Hats off to Stieg Larsoon on his writing - Great trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    favorite series!!

    before reading these novels i was aware of stieg larsson's passing. i am about 100 pages into "tgwkthn" and now i am upset that this is the, end. there will be no more millenium series.. and no new larsson material. these books are by far my favorite books i have read. as much as i want to finish this one,i equally wish he's work wouldnt end. I recommend this series to anyone (mature enough).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Not as good as those which came before

    This was a poor ending to an otherwise stellar series. Seems as if it was written by someone else, or someone who had lost interest in the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    The Best In The Trilogy!!

    Even though Lisbeth Salander was in a hospital room through almost all of this last book, her presence is undeniable. She worked from her hand held computer, albeit in secret, just as diligentally as if she had been right out there working next to Mikael. Her transition from a beind the scenes victim for so many years to a "come out of the corner" fighting back victim for herself as well as for someone like Berger (whom she had detested, because of her relationship with Mikael). When Lisbeth found out what a man was doing to Berger, Lisbeth took it upon herself to track down the culprit and found a way (in perfect timing) to let Berger, Mikael and the police know who it was. As hard as it was for her to do, and how little she did, she still did manage to work with Mikael's sister, Giannini, and compromise somewhat with her. These are all things she NEVER would have done in her "pre Mikael days" (and all of "their" adventures). Yes, the Transition was slow, but it did happen. Too bad, even though we are led to believe that Mikael and Figuerola wind up together, anything could have been possible once Lisbeth and Mikael were actually together again. Once they were back in eah others lives, I dont think that too much could have come between them permanently (it hadnt up to this point). They knew each other too well, and got along quite well (in their own way), they worked together extremely well (just the way they anticipated each others needs without words ), and the physical attraction could not be disregarded to say the least. Who knows what more they could have gotten themselves into in book #4, and what it could have led to. So sorry for Stieg Larrson's young passing away. Too young and so talented a writer!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 10838 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 542