Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 10716 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5800)

4 Star

(2679)

3 Star

(1283)

2 Star

(482)

1 Star

(472)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

MUST Read!!

If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together...
If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

posted by JML5629 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free From Here goo.gl/Y6JdN

posted by 9114493 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10849 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 543
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST Read!!

    If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

    148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Hoped For

    I was anxiously awaiting the third book in this series but was disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books. This third book just didn't flow as fast as the first two. It got bogged down on a lot of explanation about government issues etc. That, to me, took out the swiftness in the movement of the first two.....I had MAJOR problems with my Nook and how the book was transferred....from page 450 to the end there were many page mixups and words that were cut in half or only shown by the dots of their letters....a huge disappointment while trying to read about the most important trial....My Nook really failed me on this one......

    50 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read them all, but save the best for last.

    I very much enjoyed the first two books and was fortunate enough to have a sister who couldn't wait for the US edition of "The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest". She was kind enough to share her copy, and I just finished the book last night. My only regret is that Stieg Larsson is no longer with us to share more of his superb verse.

    Of the much enjoyed trilogy, this book was the most difficult to put down. The complex plot development was so well put together that that the many characters involved, though many just briefly, were easily remembered.

    I don't feel that it would be fair to readers to share any of the content of the book. Rather, if you enjoyed the first two books this one will not disappoint. This book, as well as its predecessors, I will be recommending for many years.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Great ending of the trilogy!

    Perfect ending, to a perfect trilogy!
    Must read if you read the two other books!

    I have an english copy I am happy to give to the first one to ask!

    32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

    Well written thriller and page turner Remarkable since it was translated fom the Swedish. I would heartily reccomend it to any reader The author has developed a terrific plot that will keep you guessing to the very end

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Amazing read and I'm Lamenting the end of an Era

    The first comment I have to make is that I'm in mourning knowing there will never be another amazing work from Stieg Larsson. The world has truly lost one of the best writers of the century.
    The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest is the third in Steig's Millennium series following The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played With Fire. And it's the best of the three by far. His storytelling is factual and very precise and you might think because the novel is almost 600 pages that in it you'll find it unnecessarily wordy, well you'd be wrong. The novel entails an enormous amount of information crucial to the telling of the tale. And what a tale it is, he gives you espionage, murder, gang bangers, cops, newspaper reporters, secret police and some of the cruelest villains ever to grace the pages of a novel. The plot is amazing in it's intricacy and the detail is awe-inspiring and the story is uniquely his. The characters include some old friends from his first two books and some new friends and new enemies, but don't fear that you won't know them well because Stieg has a way to intimate you with each and every one. His dialogue is flowing and yes sometimes the minutiae is mind boggling, but every line is important to the telling of the story.
    If you haven't yet read this series, now is definitely the time. It's something you'll treasure and something you'll re-read. It will become a permanent part of your library and you'll find yourself talking about it with friends and lamenting the fact that his voice has been forever silenced. So get ready for the ride of your life and get ready for nail biting, edge of your seat, breathe holding excitement. Get ready to read the next to top the bestseller list. Get ready to be entertained like you never have before. Get ready to Kick the Hornet's Nest!

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Slow Read

    This is the slowest book I've read in years. The author sidetracks so often you lose track of the story. There are so many characters and locations that you need to keep a chart on the side to remember everything that is going on and where.

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    excellent!

    i just finished the third book in the Millennium trilogy and i have to say it's one of the best series ever. the characters are amazing, the story line is great, and it's a perfect ending!
    you will love it! please make sure to read the first two first

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb ending to a strong saga

    Computer hacker guru Lisbeth Salander remains under guard as she heals in an intensive care unit from the bullet she took to her heard (see The Girl Who Played with Fire) when her father Alexander Zalachenko shot her. The Stockholm police believe Lisbeth is the prime and only suspect in three recent murders.

    At the same time that Lisbeth remains incarcerated, reporter Mikael Blomkvist continues his investigation into an incredible decades old cover-up involving Lisbeth's father, a Soviet intelligence defector who works for the Swedish security police as he has since he turned. Still separated, but this time not caused by their estrangement, Blomkvist and Salander talk on-line sharing information. However, another threat has surfaced that Lisbeth knows about, but not much else; Niedermann does not exist, yet is coming to kill his sire's other creation.

    The third Millennium Trilogy thriller (see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) is a superb ending to a strong saga. Incredibly ultra fast-paced, readers expect another confrontation between father and daughter in a world in which pure evil lives but pure good is a fantasy. The late Stieg Larsson leaves behind a great legacy as all three entries are amongst the best in the last decade and as a whole the trilogy belongs on the shortlists for top miniseries.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Best of the Trilogy

    I was able to get my hands on the British edition which was published earlier this year, and I can assure you that this is a book worthy of pre-ordering. Larsson's cast of characters return (most of them) to finish the story he began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I loved the first two because of the characters and uniqueness of the plot - the third in the trilogy adds a sense of urgency that makes the book hard to put down. The only downside is that this is the last of Larsson's novels.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Great book, but don't get the BN electronic edition

    This is the final piece of a fantastic series, no doubt, but it's malformed in its Barnes & Noble eReader edition. True lovers of Larsson's prose know how he relies upon space breaks to signal changes in time and place during his action-packed work. In this terrible electronic format, you'll find none of those necessary breaks -- which is disrespectful not only to Larsson's good work, but to devoted readers.

    Buyer, beware. (And if you do buy the book, please don't expect BN to respond to any problems you have with it. I'm still waiting).

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    The perfect end to a great series

    What a ride!

    This book ... boiled down to felony simplistic terms ... turns on a secret plot to shut Lisbeth Salander up by duping a misguided, pretentious, pompous prosecutor into asking the courts to lock her up in an asylum.

    Bastid! (smile)

    It's seriously good, addictive, clever, satisfying and moral. It's what I hoped for -- a great finish to a great series.

    If you're like me, you'll turn the last page in this trilogy with mixed feelings.

    1) With a monumental sense of accomplishment (three books, 1,800-plus pages ... whew!)

    2) With the feeling that you've just finished reading one of the quintessential works in contemporary crime fiction, written by a great, talented writer

    3) With lots of sadness that Larsson died before he could enjoy his celebrity and that as readers we've seen all we're going to see of the girl with the dragon tattoo

    There are so many reasons this trilogy shouldn't have worked ... it's too long, it's unnecessarily complex at times, and the "title character" isn't around for too much of the first book and is inconsequential for too much of the final book.

    And yet it works ... bigtime ... largely because of Salander, the diminutive, dragon-tattooed, computer-hacking, nerves-of-steel victim of a colossal miscarriage of justice. Even when she's not on the page, she is ... the ripple-creating rock plunked into the middle of an otherwise calm lake.

    She's fearless and uncompromising. She rocks, she resonates. She's real, if not being able too get her out of your head is what gives great fictional characters life.

    In fact, this series-ending book is riddled with great characters ... starting with Mikael and Erica, of course, and including the Millennium crew, Mikael's amazing lawyer sister and his new likeable love interest cop, the police, the Sapo agents, Lisbeth's father and brother ... even her doctor.

    I remember reading a line from a reviewer who described Larsson's trilogy as "grown-up books for grownup readers."

    Exactly.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    sad its over

    I had my brother purchase this for me from London a few mos ago. I took my time reading it because I didn't want the trilogy to end. So sad that the author died before he enjoyed his success from these books
    The book was great-thankfully lengthy so it lasted awhile. Definitely recommend.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the previous two...if possible....

    Lisbeth and Mikael haven't changed, they're just as imperfect as all the rest of us and, most of the characters from the previous books are back. There are allot of new characters as well but don't let that intimidate you because it works! And finally...Lisbeth doesn't have to deal with her problems alone. When Mr. Larsson passed away the world lost one of the best writers of crime thrillers I have seen in a long, long time. I like the European writers such as, Henning Mankell, Tana French and Mr. Larsson because they seem more....gritty and the characters are more "real", warts and all. I read it front to back in 1 day and I cried when it was over. Partly, because I knew I would never visit these characters again and partly because I would never have the pleasure of reading anything by Mr. Larsson again.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Excellent finale to Millenium Trilogy

    I picked up book 3 (UK version - already released) because I couldn't wait to see what happened to Lisbeth after the cliffhanger ending of Girl Who Played With Fire. This book doesn't disappoint one bit - a true page-turner and intriguing social commentary.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Amazing series

    These 3 books are mesmerizing in their broad scope of activities and in-depth character development. Stieg Larsson intrigued us with the twists and turns of the relationship between the two main characters as well as a cast of minor (but no less important) players. He also provided the historical background and the contemporary scenes of Sweden. On top of that, the non-stop action and at times humorous dialogs made these books hard to put down. I would wake up at 4 AM to start reading before going to work and continue to read till midnight after returning home. This series is truly addicting.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    Ended with Style!

    One of the reviews stated all the loose ends were neatly wrapped up. I agree - but I don't feel like the author was reaching for ways and means to wrap up those ends. The whole series was stylish and original. I only wish Mr. Larsson was still here to entertain us further in the future.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    Had to have it!

    Purchased the English version in Stockholm airport in November 2009 since I could wait no longer to read the final saga of Lizbeth and company. Great thriller, even from the hospital room. Excellent writing, a page-turner like the first two books, and sorry there will be no more. Now if we could just an English translation of the Swedish movies, I'd love to try those too.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    Bought this book from the UK. This series is wonderful. It is such a shame that larrson died before his time. He could have produced many more great novels. The Mellinium series is one I just haven't been able to put down. It's a must read.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great trilogy

    This was the best thriller trilogy series I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Loved the style of writing and the suspense level through all three books. Such a shame we won't have any more from this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10849 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 543