Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 10710 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5795)

4 Star

(2680)

3 Star

(1281)

2 Star

(482)

1 Star

(472)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

MUST Read!!

If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together...
If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

posted by JML5629 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free From Here goo.gl/Y6JdN

posted by 9114493 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1281 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 65
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Agree with anonymous

    I'm glad I'm not the only one having trouble following this plot and all the characters. I loved the first 2 books, but am having lots of trouble following this one. I downloaded a chart with names and characters so I could follow this one. Agree that not only is it a slow read, but I'm disappointed it's so different from the first 2.
    Anonymous 2

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read but ONLY for the Fans of Salander and Blomkvist

    The third installment of Stieg Larsson's Millenium triology is probably only desrieable for those who have read the first two books. Larsson does a decent job of making the book stand by itself if one decides to read this book first (but who would do that?). It is must read if you've read the other two but it is the worst of the three.

    Plus:
    - Berger's adventure as editor in cheif of a big newspaper. although this is a side story that has nothing to do with the main plot, I found it an intriguing mini-mystery that was just as intriguing as the main plot.
    - Blomkvist outsmarting the Swedish version of the CIA may be hard to beleive but that is why we read for entertainment. Anyway you slice the book this one is as much about the resolve of Blomkvist to get justice as the previous book was about Salander's resolve to seek justice.
    - Salander is still the most uinorthdox investigator in literature today. Although she is confined AND isolated to a hospital bed for the majority of the story. Salander can still solve a mystery, clear her name, and know what EVERYBODY is doing. You go GIRL!

    Opportunitires to Improve:
    - Too much politics in the book makes for may dry uninspiring patches. Obviously Larsson knows he has a captive audience for him to rant on about Swedish politcs. Yawner.
    - The toilet conspiracy was another yawnr that took us off track only because it was linked to the Berger newspaper plot than it was with the Salander mystery. Again I feel Larsson is losing focus.
    - The Swedish Secret Police come out looking like fools in this book. You would think that when dealing with professional spies, they can master a cover-up. When they fretted about what to do about Zal who was under arrest at the local hospital, I immediately thought they could just kill him with poison and make it look like he didn't recover from the Ax being in his head (lol). But no there is a lot of discussion about how to resolve this situation without breaking the law. It was obvious to me that there was no solution BUT to break the law. It takes us a while to get there.

    Overall I enjoyed the book but only because I was already heavily invested from reading the previous two novels. I can recommend to those who really enjoyed the first two books. However if you didn't like the first book, and gave Larsson a second chance by reading the second and still didn't enjoy (or marginal in enjoyment), then don't pick up the third. No need to waste your time reading a plot that goes down the path to an obvious ending. All the plot lines go to their obvious ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    Ug.

    I cannot believe the same author wrote this book! I am struggling thru this third novel. WAAAY to much government garbage, waaay too many characters to keep up with. So little of Lisbeth that I can't stand it. What happened to her presence? The story is boring without her CONSTANT presence instead of tiny little pieces of her in the hospital. I'm on page 300 and I hope it picks up.(maybe it's too late!!!) I'm already skipping long passages about political crap that is boring me to tears. Lisbeth is this whole series as far as I'm concerned. Where is she?????

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Not quite what I was hoping for...

    First off let me say, that reading fiction, to me, is like mental junkfood only without the fat, the cholesterol, trans fats, etc.. While I was hoping that this series would result in the mental equivalent of a box of Ho-Ho's, what I ended up with was something far less salacious. While the book isn't bad, it wasn't quite what I had heard people chatting up about the book. It's storyline was somewhat intriguing, the characters somewhat interesting, the torrid romance totally uninteresting and frivolous, and the ending entirely predictable and uninspired. It's almost as though Mr. Larsson started with the ending and wrote backwards because the culmination of the book is far too neat and convenient. Ultimately, for what I paid (even as a Nook book) I'm not sure that I feel like this series was a good value.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    A less-than-fitting end to the Millenium trilogy, "The Girl

    A less-than-fitting end to the Millenium trilogy, "The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest" is more action than mystery, and though that eliminates the slow start that occured in the first two books, it eliminates most of the intriguing mystery found in the first two novels. Picking up where the second leaves off, the main mystery is what will happen at the trial, but by time we get there we as the reader already know about all of the evidence. The trial scenes are satisfying as we see the villains lies disintegrate, but it's not compelling in that we get now big legal twists.

    Instead our mysteries are shorter from a stalker to a plot to make Mikael Blomkvist look like a cocaine user, these shorter entries don't pack the same punch as what happened to Harriet Vanger or who killed Dag and Mia. They are interesting storylines but have little, if any, value in the final resolution. It's almost as if Larsson needed it to fill pages, but ultimately the novel goes on for far too long. In this case, less would have been more, unless, like a good episode of "Seinfeld", all of the mini-stories would have led to the conclusion.

    All in all this is the most exciting novel in the series in terms of action (the scene at the factory towards the end is quite exciting), but misses the intriguing mystery that helped fuel the first two in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 Stars -- Generally Entertaining But Often Tedious And Predictable!

    Given the multitude of reviews that aptly summarize what this book is about, I'll just say that The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest is an admirable conclusion to Stieg Larsson's highly successful trilogy. On the plus side, the book provides a credible, mostly satisfying wrap-up of the various plots and sub-plots carried forward from the first two books in the series. Further, the concluding 150-200 pages provide a fast-paced, satisfying read. However, the reading experience leading up to the concluding pages was often tedious and, at times, boring. The primary reason for this is that Larsson filled the book with a lot of minutiae, too much detail and so many minor characters that I felt I needed a scorecard to keep track of who's who. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest would have, in my opinion, greatly benefited from some serious editing that resulted in the book being at least 100 pages shorter. For me, this book is a good example of where "less would have been more." In addition, while the book is generally satisfying, it basically lacks suspense and is predictable. There's no way that most readers of the first two books in this series aren't going to want to read The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet's Nest and will likely be satisfied with the experience overall. But, before doing so, be forewarned that this book is very unevenly paced and, for the most part, slow-paced (especially during the first third). Comments (11) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Dec 28, 2010 9:07 AM PST

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Highly Recommend Millenium Trilogy

    This was my least favorite of the trilogy. Not as thrilling, but still a good read. I have a very difficult time with the premise that every woman Blomkist meets wants to be with him. I found it interesting how the court proceedings were very different from American court proceedings, if that was in fact a true portrayal. Overall, I highly recommend the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Editor please...

    The book, and series as a whole, was good, but this one could and should have been about 150 pages shorter. There were so many unnecessary storylines that the novel gets lost in its own wordiness. The 2 second books are so detatched from the first that it feels like they were written by 2 different people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wraps it all up in a very long bow.

    If you have made it through books 1 and 2, it's worth it to get to this one and see everything come to a head. The author is still way too wordy and includes a lot of details no one probably cares about or needs to know. However, I love his strong female characters and his passionate stance on violence against women. No character is perfect and sometimes even the main characters had my blood boiling, but overall you still want them to succeed and be vindicated and this book manages to do that. It's a ridiculous, unbelievable story, but all in all I was happy I finished the series and mostly pleased with how it turned out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Least Favorite of the Three

    It was nice to see Lisabeth's story wrap up, but I felt the plot was rather tedious. This series started off great and then fizzled out for me. If there truly is a mysterious fourth book out there, I'm not sure I would read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Surprisingly boring!

    This book unfortunately fails because it does not focus on what made the other 2 so interesting: the character of Lisbeth Salander! Hornet's Nest has way to much same ole same ole about Blomkvist and Berger and very little about Lisbeth!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Overly wordy

    Found myself skimming parts of the middle just too many unecessary details and too many characters to keep straight i forced myself to keep going because i paid for it and because the first two made me love Salander and care about how it worked out for her in the end if you loved the first two it is still worth reading though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Weakest of the trilogy

    I breezed through the first two books, but this third installment was rather bloated in the middle. It picks up in the last 100 pages though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Not the best of the series

    A sufficient finish to a great series. From the start I was hooked to this read, but the suspsense felt lackluster overall and I missed the surprises that came with the first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    If You Read the First Two, Then Read This and be Done With It

    Not as much of the Salander/Blomkvist dynamic as in the first two but a fitting end to this adult 'comic' series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ...not my favorite. I thought the first two in the trilogy were

    ...not my favorite. I thought the first two in the trilogy were much better. In this one the author spends hundreds of pages diparaging the Swedish government, their security forces, almost their way of life. The book had very little action, although the bad guys ultimately got it in the end. I'll miss Lisbeth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Good

    Liked the series. Long read so be prepared!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Help agian

    Whitch versun should i get

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Ok

    Not as good as the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    It was okay

    Compared to the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1281 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 65