Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 10710 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5795)

4 Star

(2680)

3 Star

(1281)

2 Star

(482)

1 Star

(472)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

148 out of 155 people found this review helpful.

MUST Read!!

If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together...
If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

posted by JML5629 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free From Here goo.gl/Y6JdN

posted by 9114493 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1281 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 65
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Decent finish

    Just needed to finish series... but the two books that rounded this series out pale in comparison to the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I

    Dg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Too detailed but addicting

    The plot itself was great but the author provides too much detail. I really don't care how every individual character spends every minute of their day...but the story was great, regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Boring

    Had to force myself to keep reading. The book starts off exciting, but then goes into a boring drone for the middle half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Good

    This book was good cause of course cause its the last and everything always either makes sense or comes together or is solved. A little too detailed for me in the middle but i guess we needed to know how everyone comes to play. Second book was still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    Not the great series conclusion I had expected

    This book is a seamless continuation of The Girl Who Played with Fire. This one is a good story, but the author spends HUGE amounts of the book going into the deep political backgrounds of secondary characters. So the book drags for a couple hundred pages as secondary characters' backgrounds are discussed and not much else happens. Would have preferred the author shorten the book and stick to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    3.5 stars

    While reading the last installment of the Millineum Trilogy, I could not help bit think that Larsson was trying to do too much. He introduced too many new characters. The book as a whole did not have the same feel as the previous two. All that said, he did do a good job bringing the conflict to a pleasing conclusion and capping off Lisbeth and Bloomkvist's saga. Overall-- not bad. It is not nearly as good as the first two but necessary to finish the adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Work to stick with it

    But lisbeth is a badass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Good

    Not the best if the series,but still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the trilogy

    Great story. The author has a weird quirk of including random details that add nothing to the story and introducing 150 people by full name. I couldn't put it down. The story is worth the silly quirks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Confusing and WAY TOO LONG

    I just finished all three books. The first book took 100 pages before I was able to figure out who all the characters were and what was going on. But I enjoyed the first two books, once I got used to all the characters. I was looking forward to the third book but found it way too long, with several side stories that had nothing to do with the story (like Erika leaving Millenium and all that went with it). I didn't understand why Larsson put that in there, unless he had to fill a number of pages, as per the publisher's request. The actual story was great, and it kept my interest. But what is the obsession with the coffee?! Way too much detail (I started laughing at every COFFEE reference!) and it took away from the story. But I do recommend the series PROVIDED you read them one after the other - or you'll lose track of all the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Ties It Up

    The last book of this series is good, OVERALL. It brings all the answers to te question you have been asking. It is essential to read it if you want to finish the book, if you ae just reading it, then don't...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    glad to finish

    after the first two books, i was eager to complete the series. first 200 pages where slow to get through, but after that it was ended with some satisfaction. have to say, i enjoyed the first two books more, but still worth the read if you want to finish up the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    great series!

    this series is great. for book number 3, its a bit of a struggle to get thru the early pages, but it is absolutely worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    The weakest of the three.

    I liked this book the least of the three because this was, in my opinion, rather unnecessary. The horrific events of The Girl Who Played With Fire were complete in almost all regards. I did not feel, for example, that a prosecution of the cases would be any sort of difficult problem. Again, in my mind, I did not think there was a single chance in million that the abuse which our heroin had endure could be defended or kept under wraps. The public in any country would have easily believed her. The cat was out of the bag and could never have been put back into any bag, especially in Sweden.

    Additionally, this book brings the particular passions and points of view of the author more out into the open. His life's work of fighting against capitalism and for the rights of battered women really shows up, more and more. This book really starts to come close to saying that most men despise women; and most private companies do more harm than good.

    I know others will enjoy just what I enjoyed less. Such is the way with books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Ehh...not my fave of the three

    As a series, I'm in love. This book can't stand by its own without the other 2 obviously. A bit drawn out, but a fitting ending to the Salander saga. I wish larsson was around to complete the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Far from "stunning"

    The first two books of the trilogy I found enjoyable. The storyline of the trilogy attempts to be shocking, but ends up being a parody of sorts. The last installment is repeitive, it introduces a number of new characters, while beating you over the head with how they must retify the "conspiracy" or "injustice" against Salander. I had committed myself to the trilogy and in doing so, had to finish it. Some people think this trilogy is "stunning" or "great", I think it is a good book for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1281 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 65